We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa
5 Boulevard du Marechal Leclerc, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although this hotel is very expensive for a special occasion it is worth it. We stayed for our 25th wedding aniversary and really enjoyed it. The views are wonderful from the tower room and they put rose petals on the bed every evening. The food was beautiful and it is very central for touring. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    16
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
102
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I don't give 5/5 unless I have too. This high end opulent hotel is simply divine. From the first class service, to the impeccably kept rooms, this hotel is simply the best you can get in this part of the world and perhaps anywhere in the world. Forget Monaco and Monte Carlo, this is 20 mins away in a Taxi and an absolute peaceful haven away from the madness of Monaco et al.
My room was superb, a deluxe with balcony view of garden and sea. Bathroom also superb with double basin, bidet, excellent toiletries and plentiful towels. The room is made up twice a day, the early evening turn down is not exactly turn down, but more slippers and mat placed at bed side and the attention to detail in respect of tidying your room is astonishing. The Head of room keeping is to be congratulated. The bed was highly comfortable although a smaller pillows option would be good.The bar is a little staid, but this place has a lot of history and should be as such. Poolside is excellent, with yet again 1st class service. Massage at spa was excellent too. The concierge (Frederick)...excellent again and even the guy who parks your car was brilliant. And they make an effort to remember your name. Breakfast was simply 1st class with very good coffee too, and taken on the terrace with a peerless view of the bay. The gardens are kept perfectly well all public areas again spotless. There are many people working very hard here to keep this hotel in the upper echelons of perfection. Chapeau s tout.

Room Tip: one with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have spent four nights at this property on the occasion of our special-number wedding anniversary. Despite this has been mentioned while making our reservation, there was not even a bootle of wine, and/or even fruits neither at our arrival nor during our stay. I believe this is something important at this price level and hotel category. Noone needs or expects fireworks and probably many guests are staying for special occasions. But, this is a boutique hotel in the French Riviera.The staff was reasonably professional. Especially the concierge tries to recommend according to specific demands of guests. Rest of the team and particularly the reception staff, however, could not care less whether you are there or not. They make you feel as if you do not exist or else you have wrongfully checked-in in a highway starless hotel despite paying for a five star.
The rooms are classical, nice and clean. But I don't believe this is a plus, it needs to be considered as a must for this category.
We also had a dinner at the night of our anniversary at the restaurant of the hotel. Again no mentioning in anyway of our special occasion. The sommelier is truly wonderful though!
After our departure from this hotel, we have also stayed in La Pinede, St. Tropez, which belongs to the same group of hotels. That was a totally different experience; a true boutique five star to be recommended by all means. Considering they are the part of same group, the secret and difference must be the micromanagement and respect for clients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was advertised at a good price. In hindsight may have been better off elsewhere. The rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable, but I never felt truly at home in this establishment. It may be the French manner, or just how I felt here but, despite staying in many 5 star hotels around the world, this one felt different. It just felt wrong. I felt from the beginning. They charge 30 euro for a plain breakfast a la carte, and don't get me started on room service. Was looking for a good deal on accommodation to see the Côte d'Azur and I suppose this is ok, but by no means is the place as fantastic as they would have you believe. There is NO beach, just a pool. Access to villefranche sur mer is about a 20 min walk, but once again felt like a second class citizen when I tried to find my way on foot!

All in all an ok place but highly overrated with what feels like arrogant service. If looking for a resort with a good beach look elsewhere. If looking to getaway, depends what you are after. I would probably still look elsewhere.

As a woman who booked the place, I am definitely made to feel inferior to my husband, whom all the communication seems to go through.

All in all, relatively ok, but look elsewhere and book here only if you have to.

Room Tip: I booked this hotel as it was advertised at a good price. In hindsight may have been better off else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having recently stayed at this wonderful hotel we have no hesitation in saying put this on your
"Must visit list "
It's understated quality and outstanding staff make this one of the best hotels in Europe if not further afield that we have experienced.
We simply have no negative comments to make and enjoying breakfast or lunch on the terrace in September is a definate pinch yourself moment
We can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in July and it was a mixed experience. Property is in a terrific location and is well maintained.

Pros:

Our room had a terrace with direct views of the sea and the courtyard, which we LOVED!! We enjoyed our vista everyday - different yachts floating in and out, people paddle boarding/kayaking, sun setting. Every evening we would sit on our terrace listening to the lovely live music (hotel employs a violinist and keyboardist) - we had a private live concert every night.

The pool has many chairs and the attendant we had, Michael, was attentive, friendly and booked our jet-ski excursion where we toured Eze and Monaco. One of the most memorable moments of our stay.

The concierges were the most helpful of all the staff we came in contact with. They were genuinely friendly and had good dinner suggestions.

Hotel was in a great walking location. We walked daily around town to buy exquisite French delicacies. There is also an 8-mile walking path around Cap Ferrat which we did and it was a terrific experience. We walked to Villefranche-Sur-Mer and enjoyed the different shops, restaurants and particularly liked walking through the historic fort.

Cons:

Our room was poorly designed - we had a lot of square footage but were constantly bumping the doors into each other.

We had free wi-fi throughout the hotel but it never worked! We had to sign in everyday and many days, multiple times a day. The wi-fi would stop often working mid-download or just not work - disappointing.

Hotel air conditioning was non-existent, except for our room which we always had blasting. Lobby/gym/bar/restaurant did not have any air conditioning or it was barely working. We were thankful that our room air conditioning was strong and quiet.

Gym was tiny - 4 cardio machines and almost no weights. It didn't open until 9AM.

We informed the hotel it was our wedding anniversary and usually we get a bottle of prosecco and/or a dessert - especially at this price point. But not here, we got "special" embroidered sheets that spelled out love - truly disappointing.

We never ate at the hotel because we found the surrounding restaurants (either in Beaulieu or Cap Ferrat) had great food and people watching with better prices.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have visited La Reserve for 25 years and in all the many places we stay AT THIS PRICE LEVEL it is simply the best. The location is perfect right on the sea with views to die for. We had a little problem with our booking this time as a room I had booked to help with the dogs was not allocated to us, but very quickly and politely we were upgraded to one of the finest rooms in the hotel with a lovely terrace. The staff are very good indeed and the restaurant deserves to have 2 stars without doubt!! The food we had was the better than Le Bristol Epicure in Paris!! and a big Well done to Jean-Louis who has moved on from a sommelier role to being a wonderful Maître D' as well. The highlight of our trip to France !! Well done to you all

Room Tip: Take the most expensive you can afford room 4 being amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle W, Directrice at La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Madaù, Dear Sir

We were very pleased for your compliments and thank you for appreciating our daily undertakings to satisfy our guests.

Our new Chef Romain Corbiere and our new Maître D Guillaume Anglade and entire staff members make every possible effort to regain the lost star and hope that our daily efforts will be rewarded.

Looking forward of welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa

Address: 5 Boulevard du Marechal Leclerc, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking and Hotels.com so you can book your La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve De Beaulieu And Spa
La Reserve De Beaulieu Hotel Beaulieu
La Reserve De Hotel Beaulieu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;