We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH A VISIT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The African Queen

The African Queen
Port de plaisance, Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
04 93 01 10 85
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“WORTH A VISIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

At least this a restaurant that has some atmosphere and beats the dreary synthetic restaurants in Monaco. The staff were very commercial, but polite, yes there are some very expensive dishes on the menu, however if you tip toe around it you can select some dishes that are reasonable ! I'm afraid the South of France is now ludicrous when it comes to prices unlike some years ago when you could find the odd sensibly priced restaurant, so don't expect to eat anywhere without the bill coming to E60 minimum per head.
I'm sure this restaurant has its good days and bad ones, the hours its open probably determines this, staff are only human and on a busy day they must leave irritable and exhausted !
Its worth a visit for the ambience alone !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    74
    63
    38
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“READ THE OTHER REVIEWS....WE IGNORED UNFORTUNATELY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We unfortunately ignored the reviews as the concierge in our 5* star hotel made a recommendation. The food was the worst I have ever had in my life. Firstly it arrived within 5 minutes (prior to wine arriving) ....this was supposed to be freshly grilled prawns, lasagne, pizza and a chicken ceaser salad. The prawns tasted of ammonia, the lasagne was stone cold in the middle, the pizza swimming in fat and the salad ok. We sent the lasagne back and watched the "chef" reheat it in the microwave. I didn't complain as I am not the complaining type but when the waiter asked why I had left my prawns I explained they tasted "off". He explained its because they were cooked in a wood oven. This annoyed me as I have travelled the world and eaten in lots of restaurants both good and bad. I said he should perhaps try them himself....he knew better. The lasagne returned swimming in fat, my other daughter left the pizza and the salad remained half eaten. I have stayed in many top quality hotels around the world ....good, bad and indifferent and never felt compelled to write a review but this restaurant has forced me to warn others. The head waiter kind of expected it and we watched the other complaints around the restaurant. Please take heed of mine and the other bad reviews on tripadvisor and don't ruin your evening. We returned to the hotel for a club sandwich and did point out to the concierge I was disappointed they recommended this restaurant as there was too much evidence to the contrary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a TERRIBLE combination of bad food, bad service and high prices!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went for dinner because the place was busy and it looked presentable - that's were the postives end !
Following our order we had to remind the waiter several times to bring our drinks. Finally 2, out of 5, drinks arrived. After another couple of reminders drinks number 3 and 4 arrived. More reminders; drink 5 arrived. Then the food. According to my 14 year old daughter "the worst lasagne ever". Some tasteless "meat mash" with one layer of pasta and greasy melted cheese on top. Child number 2 was not much happier. A sad looking pizza swimming in fat. Most take-away pizza places do much better (for much less!). The advertised 'meat cut of the day for 2' (allegedly finest Irish beef) turned out to be tough like a shoe sole and had lots of fat. This was accompanied by undercooked creamed potatoes and some unidentifiable greenish mousse that must have been prepared sometime earlier because it had developed a skin. In response to our complaint the waiter said he was sorry and called the head waiter who also stated he was sorry and delivered the bill. € 202 !
Conclusion: DON'T GO THERE !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Service without afternoon break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the brasseries located in the port. It serves without the afternoon break from 12 PM till 12 AM . We visited it three times because we always want to eat during the time when other places were closed for lunch break. Located in the port there is nothing special you can wait for. The dish of the day is all the same: beaf or fish. We were nicely surprrised with the dessert that we were offerred. We chose coffee gourmet - variaty of desserts to taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fun place to go... see and be seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Like this crazy high flying place, lots of go, lots of phzazz... a place to see and be seen. Not bad food either.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The African Queen also viewed

Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to The African Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The African Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.