We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the good location/price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais du postillon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antibes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Relais du postillon
8 rue Championnet, 06600 Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 92 hotels in Antibes
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the good location/price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The good points: great location, modern bathrooms, very friendly staff, clean.
The bad points: Postage stamp size room, there was basically only room for the uncomfortable double bed - way too small for 2 tall people. The shower stall was covered with a curtain and opened directly into the room. There were absolutely no amenities in the room like shampoo or soap or coffee making utensils or a hair dryer - non of these things would have had a place to be, the room was that small. We took a "superior" room with an outside deck. Although there was an attempt to make it charming, it was surrounded by 12 foot moldy walls which desperately needed a coat of paint. There was also a poorly disguised large ventilator on the deck which did not add to its charm. On the other side of the wall was a school yard which got very noisy during break time - no naps here!
Overall, it is not worth the great location and the good price to stay here! I would never stay here again! We have travelled extensively in Europe and have always stayed in similarly priced hotels- this has been one of the worst!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
64
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I really can not understand how this hotel is ranked so high! The rooms were dated, very shabby.The air conditioning was terrible.
The bathroom was tiny, no ventilation or window. Tiles were painted black. Dismal! One good point about the hotel is that its perfectly located. Maybe that's why its ranked so high? An abundance of good restaurants yards away. Bus and train stations a short walk away. Loved Antibes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Thanks to our daughter who booked us in. Lovely 'boutique' style hotel with friendly staff with an excellent bar and restaurant. Sat outside drinking coffee and watching the world go by. Rooms are wonderfully air conditioned, even with 'quiet' mode. Good size room and adequate bathroom with shower. Although we looked out on the street it was very quiet. Reasonable price for an expensive area.

Room Tip: If its high summer make sure you have a street facing room and the air con is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

During our honeymoon in Provence, we stayed at eight hotels during our trip and this was easily the worst! We were offered a 1-person room for 63 euro the first night (an unbeatable deal, we thought, until we saw the room) and a 2-person room for 123 euros for the second night (really high for a budget hotel and easy to find a competitive three-star for that price or slightly lower).

The hotel clearly made an effort to appear quaint and charming--they operate a bar next door which is quite pretty and the on-duty clerk kept trying to make conversation with guests. Also the hotel is in a fairly central (though overly residential) area. However, walking up the winding staircase to our fourth floor room (there was a claustrophobia-inducing elevator but it was too small for luggage or more than one person) reminded us of low-income housing in the U.S.: everything smelled vaguely of urine, and you could hear what was going on (yelling, etc). behind every door.

The room itself (tiny, cramped, only a curtain separating toilet and shower from bedroom) had a dirty towel lying on the floor when we arrived, a flithy floor and walls, and visible dirt on the mirror. When we complained to the smiling hotel clerk, he immediately suggested we leave and find a different hotel, then picked up the dirty towel and told us he couldn't account for it (after trying to imply we put it there) and said he would replace it--he never did.

We decided with his permission, to stay the first night and decide about the second During the night, we could hear people in the other rooms, slept uncomfortably on a terrible bed and were awakened by loud noises early in the morning,. We decided to find a new hotel. In the morning, the smiling clerk was quite brusque and unpleasant (but still smiling) when we politely told him we were leaving. When, at 10:40am, we asked the checkout time, the hotel said, "for you, 10:30," which we found to be yet another instance of their rudeness and unprofessionalism. We easily found a better hotel for the following night.

Room Tip: Avoid the singles under all circumstances. Better yet, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed here for a 3 nights in June, what a great stay! welcomed by lovely staff and immediately realised this was a good find. Prices are very reasonable , breakfast is extra at under 10 euros and worth it!

Certain rooms seem to have been renovated, (we were a group) but even the ones that are still to be scheduled are very acceptable. The location in Antibes old town is perfect, close to everything. Hoping to return this August as it was so relaxing.

Special mention to the lovely girl who cleaned the rooms, she was really friendly and full of chat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A very convinient spot in Antibes, close to free overnight parking and everything is explained well. People were great and I would use this again in future. The rooms are not modern and box fresh, but the decor is good and absolutely perfect for the money you spend. Probably one of the cheapest work trips I have ever had here. parked for free, 1 room for €79 and 2 pizzas and drinks in town for €31 so I only spent €110 all in!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just spent 7 days at this lovely hotel. Super friendly owners and staff, helpful and gracious.
The location is perfect, a few minutes to train, beach, museums and restaurants. We stayed in "Monaco" and "Malte" rooms and both faced the street. A little noise during the day, but so fun to sit in the balcony and watch the mountains in the far, and the people in the park across the street. Rooms have air conditioning so noise is not an issue at night. We were very happy and would definetly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms, it's worth it. The balconies and bathrooms are bigger. Facing the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Relais du postillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du postillon

Address: 8 rue Championnet, 06600 Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antibes
#4 Family Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Postillon Hotel Antibes
Le Relais Du Postillon Antibes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais du postillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Relais du postillon to your Saves list