We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J'adore La Baie Doree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Baie Doree

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antibes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Baie Doree
579 bd de la Garoupe, 06160 Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 93 hotels in Antibes
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“J'adore La Baie Doree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When we arrived, the woman who I think was the owner was dealing with an unpleasant guest who was complaining about the size of their room. She was trying her hardest to help resolve his issue but he was inconsolable. When it came to our turn to check in, she was visibly frustrated and looked at us as though we were just going to be another annoying American couple for her to deal with. She rolled her eyes and asked if she could help us. We replied in French and said that we were there to check in. Her demeanor changed and she became warm and welcoming and willing to do anything in her power to make us at home. She spoke English and apologized for the previous guest then took us to our room which was upgraded at no additional charge. It was still small but big enough for us to be comfortable in. We had a queen bed and a balcony with a small table and 2 chairs to gaze out at the water. Just beautiful.

The food at the restaurant was spectacular. Everything was amazing. The chef even gave us his friend's name in Antibes where we could go and buy foie gras to take home with us. We visited his store and he spoke no English but when we told him Chef Christophe sent us, he jumped out from behind the counter and helped us spend quite a lot of money in his store. To say thank you for our purchase, he even threw in a few freebies which we took back to the hotel and gave to the chef and our amazing waitress to share between them. Oh I wish I could remember her name. She was so so good to us. Everyone was.

Lazy Americans Everywhere - You don't have to be fluent but you do have to try. When travelling to a foreign country, it pays to try to learn and appreciate the culture you are visiting. We studied French for several months before taking our 3 week long trip around France and it paid off everywhere we went. French people are extremely friendly and accommodating if you don't give them a reason not to be (double negative but it's perfectly true).

Room Tip: Learn a little bit of French and be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay here every year when I attend a business conference.I have stayed here for five years straight. It is right on the water with fabulous views of the Mediterranean and the very lovely bay on Cap D'Antibes known as La Garoupe. The staff are the nicest people I have ever encountered in a hotel. They are genuinely warm and friendly (not put-on friendly). We always stay in the same room, which has a beautiful terrace right on the water. A truly exceptional little place.

Room Tip: I am not sharing my room preference because I want it to be available to me (or at least give me goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We treated ourselves to one night here and we weren't disappointed. We were made very welcome by the desk and had a beautiful room with 2 sides overlooking the ocean. The private deck chair area is very comfortable and the lunch menu on the deck is great. This place is all about location and it's un beatable. We ate in the restuarant in the evening and had a lovely meal again with great service. There is a family run feeling to the place that made us feel very comfortable where as sometimes in 5 star we feel out of place, we just wished that we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a surprisingly lovely more casual hotel. It may not compare to major five stars in the area, however - it is a treat and delight. The staff are lovely and accommodating. The location is one of the best in the area, straight onto La Garoupe beach. The rooms are perhaps dated, but serve their purpose and are roomy and most have a lovely uninterrupted view of the beach. Who could ask for more. Having stayed at places like Du Cap, Ballieu, Royal Riveria, there was something relaxing and comforting about this hotel and you don't have to worry about how you look or who's who. We thoroughly enjoyed a day at La Baie Doree and would recommend this hotel. At least they can cope with peak season, other major hotels in the area were struggling and unable to deliver. Sometimes it's all about the service.

Room Tip: Easy going relaxed hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently returned from a week at La Baie Doree and wanted to say that we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel on Plage Garoupe. We made our plans to come down to Antibes relatively late considering our stay was in the middle of July, and we ended up at Baie Doree a bit by accident as many other hotels were completely booked by the time we set our plans. The reviews here seemed thin as well, so we crossed our fingers. We booked their nicest suite for our stay and completely agree that the rate itself was astronomical compared to the overall luxury of the property, however, given our priorities (we wanted to be on the water someplace our 6.5 year old son could swim and play, we wanted a beach club, we wanted a restaurant, we wanted this location) we bit the bullet and booked. Also, keep in mind - everything is expensive on Cap d'Antibes if you want to stay on the water in something nice. Let me say that we really really loved our stay and would totally come back to this hotel in the future.

We found La Baie Doree to be a lovely, family owned property that occupies a PRIME position on the fabulous Plage Garoupe beach/bay. The property is clearly a well known and popular beach club (if you are familiar with beach clubs in the Med, Baie Doree is very typical offering beach chairs, towels, umbrellas for a daily fee to sun worshippers to enjoy and often lunch). The beach club was pretty fully booked almost the entire week we were there. The attendants treated everyone very well and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously with our comfortable beach chairs on the main deck area directly over the water. Now we personally happen to really like Euro-style beach clubs and have our favorites in Capri and other places, but for others who may prefer sand beneath you, this is not what you are getting FYI. And like most beach clubs, if they know you are joining them for multiple days, they will make sure to reserve you the same chair locations every morning so you don't have to worry. You just show up whenever. Happily, unlike many beach clubs, Baie Doree does not pack chairs in like sardines and offers several different areas throughout the seafront of their property to choose from. You can order drinks and food to your chairs or you can do like most people and reserve a table for lunch at their lovely restaurant outside. We did this every day and were very impressed with the kitchen - excellent salads, fish, pizzas, pastas, and fries - and we enjoyed lovely bottles of local Rose every day. We had dinner one night which was very nice as well - they set a table for us seaside with white linen, candles, and china. The dinner menu was very well done and service was excellent - especially considering this property does not have a huge number of overnight guests/dinner guests compared to the level of business generated by the beach club during the day. In terms of swimming, there is no nicer bay for swimming in the area in our opinion - especially for children. The water is clear as a bell, the bottom is sandy, and practically the entire bay is shallow enough to stand for quite a ways out. Also, they prohibit boats from entering into the swimming area/most of the bay. There are several beach club establishments (including the famous Plage Keller) at which to have lunch. We thought Baie Doree had the best situation of all of them. Very picturesque settings. There is a boat/ski outfitter next door if you feel like being dragged out and about behind a fast boat on something inflatable or a water ski. The hotel also has a lovely outdoor pool that overlooks the bay that we spent quite a lot of time in with our son. They also have an amazing indoor pool and spa area. We did not have a car for the week and never suffered - we played in the water all day and between the hotel, Plage Keller for excellent waterside dinners, and the famous Restaurant de Bacon down the Cap for bouillabaisse, we were set!

Our room was the suite on the top of the hotel with a rotunda like exterior with windows facing the sea on three sides plus a deck. It was honestly breathtaking when you opened all the windows up. Decor was admittedly a little simpler than you might expect from a "luxury" property, but still quite lovely - not at all motel-like in this particular room anyway as another reviewer had mentioned about their experience. There were two beautifully tiled bathrooms, and 2 bedrooms - a huge king bed in the rotunda and a smaller bedroom with 2 single beds appropriate for children. It is true that the hotel has no formal lobby per se, but the entry and grounds are still charming and well done. Housekeeping was flawless actually and our room was always made up properly and well whenever we left.

Sorry to write such a long review, but we felt that this property was thinly represented on this board and our experience was very very good. I certainly understand the "value" gripe and agree we paid a handsome amount for the room, but all in all, we did not regret it one bit and would return again. We have paid the same amount in other properties and not had as much overall fun to be honest. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on what the other rooms were like. Hope this review helps anyone considering this property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattlelite in Europe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this hotel has great service, and nice clean rooms (ours had a view). The location is great if you want to lounge on the "beach" (concrete deck) all day. We were more interested in visiting Monaco, hill towns, etc and it took awhile to drive out of the area. The one thing I would emphasize about this hotel is skip the dinner at this hotel! Out of our entire 2 week trip going to nice restaurants throughout France and Italy, this was by far our most obscenely expensive and worst meal of the whole trip. (its one thing to splurge on dinner when its excellent food- but this was like wedding banquet food- just awful!) We should have known when we were the only ones eating at the restaurant that night! After that first night, we opted to drive into Antibes (about 15 minute drive) and found some great restaurants in town. When we weren't sightseeing, we did take advantage of the lounge chairs and pool. The concrete "beach" or plage is actually open to paying public during the day but the hotel guarantees chairs for their guests. Again, the room was extremely spacious and newly remodeled (not sure if all of the rooms are like this), the staff was extremely helpful with questions, directions, etc. We were surprised to find so much traffic and congestion in Cannes, Nice, etc. I'm glad we visited the French Riviera once, but can think of a lot of better places in France we liked better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

What a beautiful setting in quasi secluded La Garoupe plage. The beach (concrete ) is very convenient if you want to go for a swim.
The staff is extremely nice especially if you speak English or German or Thai or Flemish. A couple also speak French, so does the owner. The rooms are nothing to write home about except a good quiet AC system and a cute terrace/balcony. Otherwise no shower curtain, no bars in the bath/shower. No curtain on the transparent bathroom window, a broken rubbish bin. No cable TV, just the free French system. All this would be fine if the room rate were normal. They are not. Over 420 Euros for this small room in June is way over priced.Too bad I would have loved to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Baie Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baie Doree

Address: 579 bd de la Garoupe, 06160 Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antibes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL ON THE WATER ALL THE ROOMS FACING THE SEA 2 SWIMMING POOL (OUTSIDE and INSIDE) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Baie Doree Hotel Antibes
La Baie Dore Antibes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baie Doree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Baie Doree to your Saves list