We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baie des Anges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baie des Anges to your Saves list
Hotel Baie des Anges
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   770 Chemin des Moyennes Breguieres, 06600 Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Antibes
Abbeville, LA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful views from the deck outside the restaurant. The reception area is well attended by staff who seem to know what they are doing. When we arrived our room was not ready so we sat out on the deck. When the room was ready we went directly to our room to unpack and relax. The room was a good size and had a partial kitchen and a small seating area outside the sliding glass doors. Our room was on the first floor so the view was not great. I immediately realized the floor was not clean. I went to the front desk and told them about it. No one came to see about it till the next evening. The lady who came seemed to be a supervisor. I told her not only was the floor dirty, but the refrigerator was freezing everything we put in it and no one had come all day to clean. It was much too late for them to start cleaning, but she insisted on making the bed and gave us clean towels. She was very apologetic but you don't expect this at a four star hotel and spa. The underground garage had an entrance that made it hard to get out. You had to get to the top of the drive to make the barrier across the entrance raise to let you out. This is hard with a manual transmission. I suggest you park outside if you think this would be a problem. The hotel is situated far from most restaurants and other attractions. There is a shuttle that will take you to the centreville . You just need to let them know ahead of time when you will want to go and when you will want a ride back. When we checked out we were compensated for the problems we had experienced.

Room Tip: I would think that rooms above the first floor and on the side of the hotel where the restaurant is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
56
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

After reading a raft of good reviews on another review and booking site, I was very disappointed by my experience. My initial impression was good - a very slick reception area, very professional staff, and a wonderful floral scent emanating from the spa. That wonderful scent was not however to be replicated in my room; the toilet smelt revolting and the floor in the bedroom was dirty - I had to ask for both to be cleaned properly. This was done promptly, but I was unimpressed at what I thought would be a 4-star experience. The shower mechanism was very difficult to operate and stopped working completely towards the end of my stay - further evidence that housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. The bed was very comfortable but the nasty synthetic (polyester) pillows and duvet meant that sleeping was not easy. I will not be returning and would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This property suffers from a wooly identity. It has three influences - a fairly expensive but well equipped spa which attracts busy executive types and stressed out housewives; secondly a fairly normal 4-5 star hotel (4 star by UK standards), and thirdly the legacy of the traditional French family self-catering flats.

If you are independently minded, with a car or very well organised (Allo Taxis!), and can speak adequate French, you can pick up a spacious 2-3 person room with acceptable kitchen facilities to eat breakfast and one main meal in your room, then treating yourself either to the excellent fixed price hotel menu overlooking bay and maritime alps

It is important to note that the self-catering option has access to pool, restaurant and bar, and that you can pay for further things as you go (such as all the spa treatments though in high season you may find them booked out before you arrive)

We paid around £ 80 a room for a 7 night stay mid september, and it was a bargain for the area. The views aren't great from the rooms but they are from the public areas.

The fixed menu we tried 3 times and was pretty good for around £ 30 a head. A couple of the offerings were absolutely fantastic so expect 2 good items and one superb in an average order.

The place seems to love purple, and it can seem a bit like a cross between a late Jacques Tati film, and Champneys, with lots of elegant but partially non-functional ideas of style and behaviour

The staff range from the helpful to the haughty and hot-headed, speaking French will definitely help.

A final amusement is the layout being so symmetrical and branded that every floor seems identical and finding the lift or room might take several hours. I saw once French woman appear 4 times in different lifts during my own struggle on the first night. Also an earthquake turned out to be nothing more than 45 Japanese trundling cases in and out of the various lifts - the effect being a bit like an abacus, randomly counting lost bodies in lifts.

So, erm a triumph of design over common sense as far as directions to rooms, lifts and floors is concerned, but untimately this is a professional and satisfying hotel, best experienced at a budget price

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea are very premium, on a budget the hill view is good. Some rooms have extra daybeds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Visited Antibes last week and chose this hotel as it had a reasonable price. The room was very spacious and nice, Only downside to this was it was at the front so I got a nice view of the car park! The restaurant had a lovely view and the food was amazing! It's also miles away from the town.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The size of the family suit was nice for 2 adults and 2 ados, comfortable and not too expensive (~150€/night), although the bathroom was small. The breakfast was expensive (18€) but children up to 16 years didn't pay, which was good. Food in the restaurant was good but overpriced, although I think there is a cheaper menu in the bar area. Access to the indoor spa pool, hammam, sauna etc. was really nice. One outdoor pool is fresh, and one is heated (~27-30 C), in addition there is a small pool for children. The pools are filled with seawater, probably with added salt, which is nice for the body but hurts the eyes. A few minutes by bus to go to Marineland or the old Antibes, was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed in the main building which is refurbished. the hotel staff were really accommodating and even got our room ready before the official check in time. The hotel is not near the beach but we knew that and planned our holiday that way. We had a car which I think is needed. The pool area is really great and was never full. The family suite was very spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable.
It may be annoying to buy a bathing cap for the indoor spa pool but you could bring your own swim cap or just use the external pool.
The A/C worked really well.
In simple words we really enjoyed and would look to come back again as we found it really good value for money and a good all round experience.

Room Tip: The main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute when our other booking had been double booked. On arrival first impressions were very good. The reception area was plush and looked very smart. Reception staff were helpful and we were allocated a room in block 2.
The room was okay. It quickly became apparent that this complex was in fact apartments as well as hotel rooms. We were allocated a 1 bedroom apartment which was clean and tidy and quite spacious. The first thing you do notice is that the kitchenette area is locked away behind cupboard doors. This can only be accessed if you pay a nightly charge of around 8 euros. This wasn't explained when we checked in. Anyway we decided not to use it as we are only staying a couple of days. Wifi was quite good.
The hotel has an onsite restaurant which was quite expensive and had a breakfast option which was way overpriced.
Antibes old town is about a 10 or so minute drive away and is definitely worth a visit.
Would I stay here again, probably not as it is a little secluded for restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baie des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baie des Anges

Address: 770 Chemin des Moyennes Breguieres, 06600 Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Antibes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Antibes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baie des Anges 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baie des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baie Des Anges Spa
Baie Des Anges Antibes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baie des Anges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.