We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food lovers haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial Garoupe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial Garoupe to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   770 chemin de la Garoupe, 06600 Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Antibes
saas-fee, schweiz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“food lovers haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

we stayed in the imperial garoupe for three days on our way home from the south of spain. we would like to recommend this place to food lovers! the two dinners we had in the hotel were a true experience. with two feet on the ground the cuisine was spectaculary refined and surprising. intense and harmonic flavours complimented freshest produc prepared with utmost care - and always - with a seducing twist.
we had a couple of michelin starred dinners on that specific trip. what we experienced with chef philippe jégo was certainly the highlight. needless to say that the hotel offers impeccable accomodation and service in all other aspects. we would certainly go back, should we be in the region.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    6
    7
    14
See reviews for
9
28
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We occupied in !3 Junior Suites of this hotel for a MONTH! + almost everyday had lunch there + ordered to the room (since we were with a child). We were two families with 3 kids. Each of the families spent on average EUR 25,000 per room, including food and beverages. However, we were treated as if Manager/Owner did us a favor by letting us in his hotel. He would almost everyday say something to remind us that he is watching us and that we have to do this or that and that we should not move furniture (like chairs and coffee tables) in our room etc... Once I went to grocery shop to buy special baby food and when I arrived to the hotel he would look at me in a way like I am stealing something from him and requested his staff to ask me some ridiculous questions.

Bottom line is that, this is a fantastic real estate in a very beautiful place with AWFULL Manager/Owner.

When we were leaving he would not even say bye and behaved like he is fed up with us. We are not the only family feeling this way. There were 3 other families, who said they'll NEVER COME BACK!!!

You can only go back there when the owner is changed, otherwise you will spend a lot of money and remain unsatisfied and disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I was a bit surprised by the reviews of this property. I found the staff and management to be most welcoming, friendly and very charming. The hotel had a relaxed, yet elegant feel to it. The warmth of the terra cotta colors throughout the resort have a relaxing effect, while mediterrean influences and fountains were a real highlight. I would without a doubt stay here again. Magnifique!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA000
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Whilst in a nice location, I wouldn't recommend anyone staying at the Garoupe for the atmosphere and the hotel did seem rather empty, which was extremely odd for Cannes Festival week when it is almost impossible to get a room anywhere.

More to the point, the owner of the hotel treated us in an appalling way. He was manifestly rude and unpleasant over the most trivial of issues. Besides the obvious culture of fear that his employee's are subjected to, you could see that this person has no clue as to how a pleasant customer service experience should be achieved.

As a specific example : my colleagues and I asked a waiter if we could take our breakfast at one of the tables in the sun on the veranda. The waiter was clearly reluctant to let us do this seemingly quite uncontroversial thing but he was extremely helpful and finally said that if we just had tea and toast (and did it quietly) we could sit there rather than in the breakfast room. The next thing we knew, the owner (who is in his late fifties), was screaming at the waiter in full view of staff and guests and demanding to know why he had served us there rather than in the allocated room.

When I confronted him, he shouted that we should "eat where we were told, and why were we not following the rules?" He continued in this vein, generally upsetting the waiter and embarrassing us. Shocked by this outburst, I pointed out to the screaming owner that we were guests at the hotel and I asked how he could treat us this way? His response; “If you don't like it, get out. In fact, get out anyway. If you don't like our rules then we don't want you here!”

We were obviously all flabbergasted by this outburst and very upset by our treatment.

This hotel promotes itself as being on a par with other genuinely high quality hotels on the Cap such as the Du Cap Eden Roc and the Belles Rives. I've stayed at both and the Garoupe, (or rather it's owner), is deluding itself.

I warn people not to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — The Orwellian nightmare that is the owner and his 1984 style approach to the leisure industry !
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed at the Imperial Garoupe in September and absolutely loved it. On the first night we had dinner in the hotel restaurant which is very pretty and the food was superb. We spent 5 days in glorious sunshine at both the beach (Plage Keller) and around the pool. The pool is perfect and the surrounding gardens are really beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and extremely polite. The hotel was relatively quiet but we liked that, it had a very laid back atmosphere and we really relaxed into Provencal life. Yes you have to pay for sunbeds on the beach if you want to lie on one, alternatively you can stick to the sand. We ate lunch at Le Cesar restaurant and equally enjoyed dinner there in the evening. Our room was a deluxe room with a nice large terrace and although the decor was slightly quirky it was clean and quiet. If staying for any length of time I would recommend hiring a car to fully explore the Cote D'Azur. We loved the Imperial Garoupe and will definately be going back soon.

  • Liked — Appearance and proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Near a fairly busy road
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Date 10.06.07
Reviewer A TripAdvisor Member, Romsey, UK
Like most of the other reviews the hotel is overpriced, the staff in general were OK until you had to deal with the management who were rude and very short sighted. An example of this, was when we were were trying to find out about booking a special lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary, the staff on the front desk called out the Manager, but before we could say anything she was more concerned what was in our carrier bags and she became rude, and wanted to confiscate the bags, as result they lost our custom for the lunch. The ironic thing is what wasin the bags was for a picnic on the beach and not for consumption within the hotel, even though we tried to explain. We would not go back there or recommend the hotel.

  • Disliked — It was quiet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

This was our 4th stay at the Imperial which still divides opinions as much as ever. We think it's a great destination for a quiet weekend without the kids. It's a small two storey property. The garden view first floor rooms are the ones we prefer as you don't get disturbed by the pool noise.

We like:
The slightly gallic arrogance of the staff which will not be to everyone's taste

The proximity to the beach which effectively gives you a choice of 4 or 5 places for lunch. The hotel has an arrangement with one of the beaches (Plage Keller) whereby all costs can be charged to your room

The restaurant which we think is pretty good but which is very underused

The whole garden setting which makes you feel like you are guests in someone's private home - breakfast on one's own balcony being a particular highlight.

We don't like:

The cost - which is at the high end of pricey for what you get

The extras - including a charge of 50 cents every time you ask them to make a restaurant reservation for you - really!!

Other people's kids - the place is too small to take the noise and we're biased because we only go there to get away from kids in the first place

But for some reason, it just suits us and I guess we'll keep returning.

  • Liked — Homeliness
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial Garoupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Garoupe

Address: 770 chemin de la Garoupe, 06600 Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antibes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Imperial Garoupe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Cap d'Antibes, in the Garoupe bay, the hotel Imperial Garoupe, charming mediterranean style property offers 35 rooms and suites with terraces. The property, built as a private house is nested in a park of 1.2 hect with a outdoor heated swimming pool The rooms are personalized and decorated in a nomad style, featuring traditional and contemporary touches. Our gourmet restaurant "Le Pavillon", welcomes you in its cosy dining room or on the shaded terrace surrounded by pine trees. Our young and talented Chef proposes a french refined and creative cuisine with Mediterranean flavours.At summertime, our beach restaurant " The Pavillon Beach " opens up. Our Chef proposes a mediterranean cuisine in a smart and relaxed atmosphere. This year a new space dedicated to massages has been created in our gardens for a time of relaxation and ressourcing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Imperial Garoupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Garoupe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial Garoupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.