We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolute Worst Hotel in World - a disgrace that it has one star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial Garoupe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial Garoupe to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   770 chemin de la Garoupe, 06600 Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Antibes
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Absolute Worst Hotel in World - a disgrace that it has one star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We went to this hotel as it was part of the Relais and Châteaux chain (which is meant to represent great food and hospitality). It is abysmal. From the moment we arrived, we were unwelcomed. There are rules for everything. The owner walks around intimidating his staff and even attacks guests. His staff tries to tell all guests what they can do and what they cant. It is an over priced Fawlty Towers, but without an once a humour. Rather one feels uncomfortable everywhere in the hotel (interesting that in the week we were there, there was never a single person in the bar and that’s during July in Antibes!)

The rooms are old and shabby. The food is inedible. The grounds are impeccable,, as that’s what they spend their time focused on. This is truly a mediocre camp at best. It has no resemblance, what so ever, to any five star (maybe even three star) hotel you will ever stay in… anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGaroupe, Propriétaire at Hotel Imperial Garoupe, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Sirs,

Evereyone is free to write what he wants to say about us. We just want to point out that in this particular case the reasons for these comments are completely different from what is written.

We believe that it is not necessary for us to answer to all these.

We only have one message : the hotel is not for sale and we are sure that the person will understand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    6
    7
    14
See reviews for
9
28
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Is what I assume you pay for. Rooms were small and particularly dated. Staff is very lovely and the overall property is beautiful. Did not try breakfast/dinner. Beach is a walk down a private path but was closed when we were there. The location is the best part. Choices are limited in this specific area so splurge at Cap du Roc

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

service absolutely despicable, untolerable for a restaurant with this reputation and especially with these prices! a Maitre-D stepping on your hand bag and explaining you're making his job harder, wines left untouched on the service table with no waiter in sight to assist you, sommelier rushing you out of the restaurant at the end of the dinner....if you're looking for a nice evening in a classy restaurant, AVOID THIS VENUE!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCN
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My borther, his wife and 19 month old baby were robbed while sleeping at the hotel Imperial (a 5 star property) on their 1st night. A robber entered the hotel private property and their room to steal cash and wedding rings. Rather than try to comfort them, or assist in making alternative arrangements (my sister-in-law very upset at the idea that her baby was in such danger, and so no longer wanted to stay there), hotel management spent the morning trying to remove themselves from any possible responsabilty in the robbery by proving that my family left the french doors to their room unlocked. They also informed them that while they were sorry for any incovenience THIS may have caused, they would still be charged the full rate for the room. So, you decide!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saas-fee, schweiz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

we stayed in the imperial garoupe for three days on our way home from the south of spain. we would like to recommend this place to food lovers! the two dinners we had in the hotel were a true experience. with two feet on the ground the cuisine was spectaculary refined and surprising. intense and harmonic flavours complimented freshest produc prepared with utmost care - and always - with a seducing twist.
we had a couple of michelin starred dinners on that specific trip. what we experienced with chef philippe jégo was certainly the highlight. needless to say that the hotel offers impeccable accomodation and service in all other aspects. we would certainly go back, should we be in the region.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We occupied in !3 Junior Suites of this hotel for a MONTH! + almost everyday had lunch there + ordered to the room (since we were with a child). We were two families with 3 kids. Each of the families spent on average EUR 25,000 per room, including food and beverages. However, we were treated as if Manager/Owner did us a favor by letting us in his hotel. He would almost everyday say something to remind us that he is watching us and that we have to do this or that and that we should not move furniture (like chairs and coffee tables) in our room etc... Once I went to grocery shop to buy special baby food and when I arrived to the hotel he would look at me in a way like I am stealing something from him and requested his staff to ask me some ridiculous questions.

Bottom line is that, this is a fantastic real estate in a very beautiful place with AWFULL Manager/Owner.

When we were leaving he would not even say bye and behaved like he is fed up with us. We are not the only family feeling this way. There were 3 other families, who said they'll NEVER COME BACK!!!

You can only go back there when the owner is changed, otherwise you will spend a lot of money and remain unsatisfied and disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I was a bit surprised by the reviews of this property. I found the staff and management to be most welcoming, friendly and very charming. The hotel had a relaxed, yet elegant feel to it. The warmth of the terra cotta colors throughout the resort have a relaxing effect, while mediterrean influences and fountains were a real highlight. I would without a doubt stay here again. Magnifique!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial Garoupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Garoupe

Address: 770 chemin de la Garoupe, 06600 Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antibes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Imperial Garoupe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Cap d'Antibes, in the Garoupe bay, the hotel Imperial Garoupe, charming mediterranean style property offers 35 rooms and suites with terraces. The property, built as a private house is nested in a park of 1.2 hect with a outdoor heated swimming pool The rooms are personalized and decorated in a nomad style, featuring traditional and contemporary touches. Our gourmet restaurant "Le Pavillon", welcomes you in its cosy dining room or on the shaded terrace surrounded by pine trees. Our young and talented Chef proposes a french refined and creative cuisine with Mediterranean flavours.At summertime, our beach restaurant " The Pavillon Beach " opens up. Our Chef proposes a mediterranean cuisine in a smart and relaxed atmosphere. This year a new space dedicated to massages has been created in our gardens for a time of relaxation and ressourcing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Imperial Garoupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Garoupe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial Garoupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.