We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel for a beach holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa to your Saves list
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Boulevard Marechal Leclerc, 06600 Antibes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Antibes
West Of Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel for a beach holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel has a mixture of hotel rooms and apartments. When we booked, there were only apartments available but from chatting with other guests, it seems that the apartments are a better option. We would have preferred a seaview but it would have been double the cost and is only available in a two-bed apartment. The pier across the road for swimming is wonderful but costs €25 per person per day in September and more in July and August. I still think it's worth the extra charge. What a pity there isn't a swimming pool as we had three days when the sea was too rough for swimming and the pier was actually closed. The bar and restaurants in the hotel are very good and the apartment was well equipped and furnished. We will go back but would really love a seaview. Even though it's called the hotel and spa, there is no spa!

Room Tip: apartments are better because the hotel rooms are very small and with an apartment you can buy some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    117
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
78
172
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Royal Antibes is a wonderful hotel!!!I And hotel staff is great! They have russian staff and it's very helpful!!!Food at the restaurant is very-very tasty! The beach and the sea are clean.Thank you very much for my holidays!I'm very pleased!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I just came back from a 4 night stay at the Royal Antibes in early September. We had an amazing time and Antibes acted as a great base for us to explore the region. We came from 3 disappointing nights in Nice and found Antibes to be exactly what we were looking for when you think "South France". The staff was friendly, every single person who worked the front desk was really upbeat and helpful. I thought the price for the hotel was good for the area its located in. You can walk to Juan Les Pins, Old Town, Picasso, and the beach is at your doorstep. The restaurant and beach club are pricey but they have a 5 star feel to them. The Italian restaurant next door "Sapori" has amazing food and a short walk to "Le Bastion" is worth it for a great meal as well. The staff also spoke perfect English which was nice considering our French was pathetic, ha. I recommend the ferry to St Tropez if you have a day for it, it was well worth it- you can walk to the ferry from the hotel.

Room Tip: Before we left I read the reviews about the hotel being noisy. We had an end room on the 2nd floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Check in not until 3pm, although check out is at 11am. I had been traveling for 24 hours but was told that there would be NO rooms ready until 3pm...they kept their promise! Attitude of the reception staff was incredibly arrogant and rude.
Although all their marketing, web site, brochures and in room, advertises itself as Royal Antibes Beach & Spa, with their own "Private Beach" you have to pay EXTRA for the beach €25 each per bed, and there is NO Spa...yet?
Rooms are clean and comfortable, they should be its a brand new hotel. Check out is slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien C, Responsable relations clients at Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review Jasper; we are sincerely frustrated to find out you did not have an amazing stay with us, even more as I cannot recall you told me anything about it when I checked on you.

At the ROYAL, because we really do enjoy our vocation, we will always try to dispense services that go beyond your wellness on the spot. As for example, as hoteliers, we will always keep a piece of advice for our guests so that they can make the reservation that best fits their needs for their next trip, regardless it includes our establishment or not. Happy guests around the world is the best advocacy.
Considering your two contributions on tripadvisor are negative ones, we feel badly about your traveling experience; maybe we can help you get through your next traveling project to find a product/service that truly meets your expectations.

First off, please let me address the check-in / check-out time issue… You may come to know that September is still high season for us in Antibes, and the ROYAL is fortunately full at that time. Logically enough, we base our services on recognized worldwide standards, including for check-in / check-out time – please do check on other hotels and you will find out they carry similar policies. Whenever you wish to enjoy an early check-in/ late check-out, it is always good to make sure it is feasible, by simply calling the Reception.
Even without our guest asking, we will always try to give a room/suite as early as possible. We did offer you a 2:00pm late check-out.

Regarding the hanging piece in your bathroom, shall such a thing occur in anywhere during your next trip, you may want to declare it to the staff before you check out – housekeeping might find the damage as your liability.

As for the ROYAL Beach, access is paying, which is exactly what “private” means as stated on our website and in our room directory. Hotels along the French Riviera are often separated from their private beaches by a road, which legally prevents the structure to function as a resort, hence the paying access. You may book a sunbed on the sand for 25 euros per person, or on the deck for 30 euros per person. Beach towels are provided for free at the Hotel’s Reception.
Referring to my initial offer to help you find the best vacation spot to fit your needs, should you wish to stay at a resort on the French Riviera, there is only one at the moment – as of now, standard rooms are accessible from 510 euros.

Finally, our Reception staff feels very sorry about the fact they came across as arrogant to you. Each member is passionate about his/her work, as every other guest witnessed here on tripadvisor; we’ll be most grateful if you can email us a detailed description of the staff’s service, so we can adjust immediately. And please, do feel free to contact me for your next traveling project, I will gladly help you out. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

OVERALL the place was overpriced for what they offered.

LOCATION is on the main road along the coast line, which created traffic noise inside the room. Across the street from a "beach" (not much of a beach). It is walking distance to the old village.

ROOMS were obviously intended to be apartments as they have a full kitchen and living room. They feel a bit empty for just 2 people since they are not fully decorated and fully functioning kitchens. (only basic utensils supplied). ALSO the rooms have tons of street noise from the road below!

SERVICE was basic. We had to run down to reception to get the things we needed, they didn't bring it to us.

NO POOL.

RESTAURANT had a good breakfast but it was not included.

WIFI was good in the lobby, slow in the restaurant, and slow in the room.

VALUE was poor. We paid about $400 USD per night, and it was worth maybe half (if that.).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien C, Responsable relations clients at Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing you stay at the ROYAL Hotel Residence Beach & Spa. I’m sincerely sorry you did not find the product up to par with your expectations. I would very much appreciate if you could address a detailed feedback to us, so we will see how we can actually improve our service to you. Until then I’m a little confused as to whether you were expecting a hotel suite (without a kitchen) or an apartment with chef’s kitchen.

We do have suites, and apartments, as our name suggests it. All our apartments (Residence) are offered on a hotel basis and with a hotel service. As a product/service, we are geared to meet our clientele’s needs – most of our guests are young families who come to spend quite a bit of time in the locality of Antibes. Therefore, we chose to include kitchens for a more realistic approach to vacations. All features are listed in online product descriptions, but as always, each member of our staff will gladly answer further inquiries.

We sincerely hope to be able to make up for your discomfort and ultimately leave a positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Royal Antibes is a modern style hotel, located across from the beach. What it lacks in personality (has a more corporate feel) it exceeds in terms of quality, decor and the size of the rooms. Rooms are large, beds are king size, bathrooms are very modern and it has a nice restaurant facing the beach. Service was great and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I also liked the location; it is nicely positioned within 5 minutes walk from the old port, and about 15 minutes from Cap d'Antibes. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby to choose from. The Royal Beach club across the road is excellent, but be prepared to pay to get in and use the chairs each day. It has a great restaurant on the beach and nice bar. I stayed in June, just before the prices doubled for high season. If you can travel in shoulder season this hotel is an exceptional deal for the level of quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel is fabulous . The staff were friendly and the service was impeccable .
The restaurant is amazing , excellent food !! try the steak !!
The Royal Antibes has its own private beach area with bar and restaurant , if you want to experience heaven.. book it .
Thankyou Royal Antibes for making my Birthday the best holiday ever !!!
See you next year
Lizzy

Room Tip: Book a suite facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa

Address: 16 Boulevard Marechal Leclerc, 06600 Antibes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Antibes
#4 Business Hotel in Antibes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antibes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antibes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Antibes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL ANTIBES - LUXURY HOTEL, RESIDENCE, BEACH & SPA * * * * ouvert depuis Avril 2011, le ROYAL Antibes propose 64 chambres, suites et appartements entre vieille ville et Cap d'Antibes, a proximite immediate du centre ville et du Musee Picasso. Face a la mer, avec sa Plage privee, 2 restaurants, 1 lounge bar avec terrasse exterieure, parking prive et son Spa partenaire "Cinq Mondes", le Royal Antibes est le premier hotel de Luxe d'Antibes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Splendia so you can book your Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach And Spa
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach Hotel Antibes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.