We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hilltop town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourdon

Gourdon
France
Improve this listing
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,088 reviews 1,088 reviews
786 attraction reviews
Reviews in 468 cities Reviews in 468 cities
952 helpful votes 952 helpful votes
“Stunning Hilltop town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful villages in France. Straddling the Vallee du Loup,on a rocky peak, its outlook is incomparable. Up at 760 meters altitude, the panorama extends over 80 km of the Cote d'zure from Nice to Theoule..
This is a must for anyone doing the circuit of the loveliest villages in Provence.Its a great place to stroll through its quiet lanes,provencal houses and its numerous artisan workshops and studios. The captivating essence is the view. Every turn reveals the stunning vista in a 360 degree panorama.
History buffs will recognize its strategic situation. Gourdon was a stronghold,built on an isolated rock with twin purpose....As a shelter and a defensive place. It bears the scars of battle. Oppiddums,roman roads and fortifications abound,as well as beautiful gardens and very green surrounds. There is the Feudal castle on the west side of the village looks down over the whole valley. Its heritage listed and worth the visit. The Church of Saint Vincent,built in the 12th century is remarkable .
For an exceptional view that is a source of delight , stop at The Place Victoria and breath the magic air.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Marvelous cute village up the mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A trip up the mountain with kids enjoying the view and nature made it so memorable for all of us. The oohhs and ahhhs of the kids while going up is priceless. And the view from top is extraordinary.

If we wake up everyday to the view we saw up the mountain of Gourdon, then we are definitely in heaven! Lucky are those 200 inhabitants of this village.And lucky are us also - we had the opportunity to make the trip and have coffee and crepe in a very cold day.

In addition to the coffee and crepe, we were able to visit the chapel. Such a small chapel - we could only imagine the Sunday mass, how personalized it could get - cute (for lack of better politically correct adjective!)

We took a tour to be able to go to Gourdon but we were told that there are buses that go to the mountain every hour. We were happy with our decision to take the van rather than the bus though. There are sharp zigzag roads that could be scary for a big bus to make.

An afternoon to remember in French Riveira.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gourdon Castle Cote D'Azur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A scary but spectacular bus ride up to this magical village set on the edge of a cliff, Not large, but an incredible view. You can see Nice and the sea about 25 km away. Had an excellent crepe and coffee, went in some wonderful unique shops and just relaxed. My favorite destination during our time in the south of France.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The view is priceless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Gourdon castle is now privately owned and we could tour inside, but the village is too cute. Everything remains as it was in the 9 century for the most part! Truly amazing! The shops have very good treats and gifts to offer. Around 80 still live there and it is neat to experience the view from the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous medieval village ...amazing views...worth the 14km drive up from grasse...crafts, cafes,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

After a gorgeous morning spent wandering in the arts village of St Paul de Vence we found ourselves meandering up the misty mountain road (D6) via the Loup river to Gourdon...a charming medieval village...like a sentinel it beckoned us...breath taking views over the Cote d'Azur, lots of beautiful crafts, pottery and glass, great cafes overlooking the mediterranean/view...lots of history, cobblestone streets and traditional provencal houses and the feudal castle...amazing ice creams at le glacier de gordon....truly a treat

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourdon also viewed

Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Gourdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gourdon to your Saves list