We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Garbure

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Garbure
Save
You added La Garbure to your Saves list
3 rue Joseph-Ducos, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over priced Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrived late into CNDP needing a place to stay for the night and could only find this hotel in this sleepy little town. They only had one superior room and we were initially pleased to find somewhere to stay. The room was incredibly old fashioned, the air con was broken (fortunately the Mistral was blowing!) there was no shower curtain and most disgusting of all the bath plug was blocked and flowing back. In the morning we were given a laughable 5 Euro reduction on the ridiculous 95 Euro per night charge. BE WARNED!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
3
28
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergerac, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The reviews about this hotel are quite mixed but we found it to be very welcoming and quite comfortable. It is extremely well located and has very good secure parking close by. The room we had looked over the street and although there was some street noise this is really just a village and it is hard to imagine that noise would ever be an issue. The hotel manager is very helpful and keen to make recommendations regarding day trips, restaurants or indeed which vintages to buy. We didn't eat in the restaurant but if breakfast is an indication it is probably generous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If management had been friendly (it was difficult to get even a smile from the owner!) & showed some customer service skills certain things could be overlooked! For example, the shower curtain was way too long so you were standing on it, also there was no holder for the shower spray so you had to hold it up whilst showering! There was a bit of a musty smell in the rooms too, we stayed 4 nights & the room was never vacuumed. The free internet was hit & miss, mostly miss!! Additionally there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and parking you car was an extra 12 euros per day!
This all is a terrible shame as the location couldn't get any better!
This place could be a gold mine if they re-did the bathrooms, put wooden floors in all the rooms, repaired the moldy walls & welcomed their guests. We didn't eat here as we felt it was over priced there was a lovely little eatery just up the hill from the Hotel, La Maisouneta, they know about customer service!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chateauneuf-du-Pape hotels

London SW6
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Friendly and welcoming hotel and moderately priced, but in need of some repairs and renovations. There was a bath, but no shower curtain and the lever changing the water from taps to shower was neither fully on nor fully off. Sitting in the bath therefore without getting your knees scalded (taps in the middle of the bath) was difficult. I tried to use the safe, but (a) couldn't get it to funstion and (b) discovered it wasn't attached to the wall! The room was badly furnished, no bedside tables and the lighting was dreadful. My loo-seat was loose and almost falling off. Others in the party had a loo that refused to flush.

This is a pity as it is a well positioned hotel, right in the middle of town. It is a bit noisy outside - the dustman seems to come quite early - but nothing that you don't get in all budget town centre hotels. We eat there in the evening twice and the food is OK and the chef (owner?) cooked fish for us which wasn't on the menu. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

Also - not the hotel's fault - there appear to be no taxis in Chateauneuf-du-Pape!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Before your read this review and take the rating for granted, please see the hotels I normally stay at...

To me this is the place to stay in Chateauneuf (have stayed here four times). There is nothing fancy about it and you shall not ecpect romance and charme. What you get is a decent hotel with a great location and indoor parking (good if you have filled up you car with wines).

Chateauneuf is a really small city and if you stay here all restaurants are within walking distance.

So far, I have been in Chateauneuf six times and stayed here four out of those. I will also stay here next time.

I have also stayed at the 'La Mere Germaine' and 'Fines Roches'.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Old village hotel which should have oozed with charm. My 72 year old husband and I were placed on the top floor - no lift with heavy bags to carry.
The reception was hardly ever manned. We were told we could only have demi-pension. The first night and second night were identical main courses and deserts with no choice whatsoever - the main course was three small rounds of meat with a few frozen/cooked mixed veg sprinkled sparcely on top. First morning breakfast had cremated small croissants, second morning there were no ordinary tea bags only mint, jasmine or green tea.
Other customers were also dissatisfied. For the third night we complained about the food and instisted on not having demi-pension (which was,incidentally, 80 euros pppn) and we had a terrific meal across the road from the hotel. Will never visit again nor recommend this hotel. We travel a lot and are not the complaining sort but we love French food and were so dissappointed. Logis de France award it three marmite pots for excellent food - they really must rethink their awards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbiategrasso, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed one night, 2 couples in 2 different rooms - our room was on the 1st floor facing the back and we were not disturbed. Our travelling companions had a room facing the main street and were awoken by the chatty fellows collecting the garbage in the wee hours of the morning.
The rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. We didn't eat inside, but we did have dinner on the patio across the street, as well as breakfast. The food was very good with both meals,though the breakfast buffet was a bit tricky to manage when there were more than 2 people at it!
We had a comfortable stay, and being in town was convenient for us. I'm not sure I'd want to stay for an extended period.

Parking was a bit convoluted to get to, and you can't bring the car up to the hotel to drop off the bags - you have to find a spot, pay, go up and leave the bags, then move to the hotel parking (which is not free either).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Garbure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garbure

Address: 3 rue Joseph-Ducos, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the famous village of Chateauneuf du Pape, At the service of gourmets since 1980, the chef of this restaurant and his staff propose a seasonal cuisine of fresh local products. 8 Rooms totaly equiped and renovated in 2009 welcomes you in the hotel ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garbure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.