We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Garbure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Garbure

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Garbure
Save
You added La Garbure to your Saves list
3 rue Joseph-Ducos, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London SW6
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel La Garbure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Friendly and welcoming hotel and moderately priced, but in need of some repairs and renovations. There was a bath, but no shower curtain and the lever changing the water from taps to shower was neither fully on nor fully off. Sitting in the bath therefore without getting your knees scalded (taps in the middle of the bath) was difficult. I tried to use the safe, but (a) couldn't get it to funstion and (b) discovered it wasn't attached to the wall! The room was badly furnished, no bedside tables and the lighting was dreadful. My loo-seat was loose and almost falling off. Others in the party had a loo that refused to flush.

This is a pity as it is a well positioned hotel, right in the middle of town. It is a bit noisy outside - the dustman seems to come quite early - but nothing that you don't get in all budget town centre hotels. We eat there in the evening twice and the food is OK and the chef (owner?) cooked fish for us which wasn't on the menu. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

Also - not the hotel's fault - there appear to be no taxis in Chateauneuf-du-Pape!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
3
28
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Before your read this review and take the rating for granted, please see the hotels I normally stay at...

To me this is the place to stay in Chateauneuf (have stayed here four times). There is nothing fancy about it and you shall not ecpect romance and charme. What you get is a decent hotel with a great location and indoor parking (good if you have filled up you car with wines).

Chateauneuf is a really small city and if you stay here all restaurants are within walking distance.

So far, I have been in Chateauneuf six times and stayed here four out of those. I will also stay here next time.

I have also stayed at the 'La Mere Germaine' and 'Fines Roches'.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Old village hotel which should have oozed with charm. My 72 year old husband and I were placed on the top floor - no lift with heavy bags to carry.
The reception was hardly ever manned. We were told we could only have demi-pension. The first night and second night were identical main courses and deserts with no choice whatsoever - the main course was three small rounds of meat with a few frozen/cooked mixed veg sprinkled sparcely on top. First morning breakfast had cremated small croissants, second morning there were no ordinary tea bags only mint, jasmine or green tea.
Other customers were also dissatisfied. For the third night we complained about the food and instisted on not having demi-pension (which was,incidentally, 80 euros pppn) and we had a terrific meal across the road from the hotel. Will never visit again nor recommend this hotel. We travel a lot and are not the complaining sort but we love French food and were so dissappointed. Logis de France award it three marmite pots for excellent food - they really must rethink their awards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chateauneuf-du-Pape hotels

Abbiategrasso, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed one night, 2 couples in 2 different rooms - our room was on the 1st floor facing the back and we were not disturbed. Our travelling companions had a room facing the main street and were awoken by the chatty fellows collecting the garbage in the wee hours of the morning.
The rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. We didn't eat inside, but we did have dinner on the patio across the street, as well as breakfast. The food was very good with both meals,though the breakfast buffet was a bit tricky to manage when there were more than 2 people at it!
We had a comfortable stay, and being in town was convenient for us. I'm not sure I'd want to stay for an extended period.

Parking was a bit convoluted to get to, and you can't bring the car up to the hotel to drop off the bags - you have to find a spot, pay, go up and leave the bags, then move to the hotel parking (which is not free either).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, NV
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We only stayed here one night but it was perfect for wine tasting. The hotel served a very nice breakfast and dinner. The rooms were not plush but pleasant, comfortable and quiet. The town is small and this little hotel was centrally located on a cute narrow street. Definitely worth the value.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at La Garbure for 3 nights. We wanted to stay in a small village with great history, quaint restaurants and not many tourists and we couldn't have chosen better.
The hotel is in close driving distance to all the main areas of interest around Provence. The hotel charges for parking but if you don't want to pay there is a huge carpark down the road from the hotel.
The rooms are really big and spacious with everything you need. The restaurant is of a great quality and good value - we had a delicious meal here one evening. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and we chatted away to them one evening while they served us coffee and liquors until late.
Be careful buying wine from the Caves around the hotel. We made a mistake and ended up with a hugely expensive bottle because we were pushed into it by a very dodgy salesman.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed one night in this charming wine village--I don't think you could do much better on a hotel there. Garbure is right smack in the middle of town (the only real challenge is parking, but if you can't find a street spot, for another 8 euro you can use the hotel's parking), convenient to absolutely everything.

The room was massive compared to some others we stayed in on our drive from Paris to Nice (big enough for a table and 2 chairs, AND a sofa in addition to the bed!) and nicely decorated. It's not the newest or nicest accomodation in the world, but definitely above average and absolutely fine for our stay, especially considering the price.

We had not booked dinner but they accomodated us anyway, I would rate the food above average (but great value for the money). We also enjoyed the breakfast, warm buns, coffee and OJ.

The staff was really very nice as well.

  • Liked — friendly staff, large room
  • Disliked — I can't complain
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Garbure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garbure

Address: 3 rue Joseph-Ducos, 84230 Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the famous village of Chateauneuf du Pape, At the service of gourmets since 1980, the chef of this restaurant and his staff propose a seasonal cuisine of fresh local products. 8 Rooms totaly equiped and renovated in 2009 welcomes you in the hotel ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garbure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.