We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Germaine

La Mere Germaine
3 rue de Commandant Lemaitre, Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France
+33 4 90 22 78 34
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Essex
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A really great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband, who is a great fan of Chateauneuf-du-Pape, thought he had died and gone to heaven being here! The day was pretty miserable weather - wise, but Andre Mazy the main man at this restaurant was charm itself and welcomed us so warmly.
We had a delicious set 3 course lunch with a stunning seafood salad to begin, beautiful fillet steak and then cheese/chocolate mousse for dessert. The wine was superb - ranging from reasonably priced to very expensive - we were extremely happy with our Chateau Fortia 2007.
You couldn't ask for a better lunch. Thank you Andre!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    9
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service and enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went here based on a personal recommendation and didn't know what to expect. To put it simply, it was a great lunch experience and we plan to come back tomorrow for dinner (we are spending 4 days in the area). Found was 4/5 but service pushed this to a 5/5 overall experience.

The traditional ambience of the establishment is enhanced by beautiful paintings from a local artist.

The service is personal and attentive, regardless of how many tables were being served. It also the feel of proprietor run business which I like to see.


Personally I find that the mark up on Chateauneuf du Pape wines in local restaurants is a bit excessive, but here we found good wines of the month available by the glass and a generous pour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More kudos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We enjoyed two delightful lunches here on our trip to France this fall and it was superb. Friendly service, great food and the setting is everything anyone could want. This is a regular stop for us when in Provence and they have done nothing to change the way we feel. For our second visit we brought friends who where there on their first visit to France and they felt like nothing could top that afternoon sitting in the sunshine overlooking the wonderful vineyards below. It summed up all their dreams of what France had to offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best food of our entire holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This was undoubtably the best food we had in France.
The wines Of Chateau Neuf du pape have impressed me for many years and it was a real treat to be able to finally go to this enchanting region.
This restaurant came highly recommended from a few of the clear doors we visited and I'm so glad we took the locals advice on board. The manager was an absolute pleasure to have, ensuring we had a fantastic evening, providing service which was as good as the food.
The sommelier was very helpful, the wine was delicious. I can't wait to return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A really nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We arrived at the restaurant and had a really warm welcome from Adreas.We sat in the sun in the terrace part of the restaurant and enjoyed a glass of white Chayeauneuf.The lunch was excellent and we really did not want to leave.Such an effort goes in to keep the Hotel running and we wish them a very Merry Xmas.We will return as we normally do twice a year,Its a longway from Greece to Chateauneuf

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Germaine also viewed

Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
 

Been to La Mere Germaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Germaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.