We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avignon Hotel Monclar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avignon Hotel Monclar to your Saves list
Avignon Hotel Monclar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 avenue Monclar, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Yanchep, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for money!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This family run hotel is big on charm and generosity. The rooms are very clean and well appointed with modern airconditioning, big comfortable beds and we were lucky to get a big bath/shower.

We were greeted with a free bottle of wine and wifi is also free. The connection is great and is even available in the pretty garden where we had afternoon drinks!

Location is great, close to the train station and only a short walk to the main attractions of Avignon.

The owner is very helpful and even offered us Australians Vegemite! Great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHM84, Gérant at Avignon Hotel Monclar, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for such a nice comment.
Was our pleasure to welcome you.
Hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

What with the festival going, one should not be surprised at the general mark-up in Avignon during July. Our room at the Monclar was perfectly alright, if not necessarily for 6'-ers since it was a remodelled attic; what was surprising indeed (perhaps only to a tourist ignorant of French mores) was the truly en-suite situation of the bathroom which was quite avantgarde design-wise, but lacked any separation from the bedroom itself (as well as separate ventilation). Of course, with understanding and flexible partners, this shall I say reduced privacy need not be a problem. Otherwise the sojourn was pleasant enough, what with a shaded garden yard and free parking, and overall friendly reception. Closeness to the railway line might impair light sleepers' comfort, could be alleviated by soundproofing the window.

Room Tip: Yes, as far away from the rail line as possible, and *not* under the rafters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel is just outside the walls of Avignon, a short walk. The entrance to the hotel is from the street so you won't see the facade in the pictures until you enter the courtyard. This was not a great first impression for us and our greeting was professional but not exactly warm.

The proprietor is very helpful however, the housekeeping is good and the hotel is quiet at night despite the passing of a train from time to time. The room we stayed in had a small shower, wood floors with no carpeting and we were glad we brought a bar of soap because the hotel provided small round soaps and a bottle of shower gel. They do provide toothbrushes and shaving kit which was nice and complimentary bottle of wine.

This hotel was adequate but not luxurious but we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. Breakfast is a big plus and so is the nearness of the town. There is a 10:00 curfew at night which means the gate to the courtyard ofo the hotel is locked, the character of Avignon tends to change a little after dark anyway and we were glad to have a secure courtyard to park the rental car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We made this reservation online and paid in advance accordingly. Upon our arrival after driving for 4 hours non-stop on 14th April we ( six of us ) checked into this hotel and only to find out the rooms they have for us were ' smelly ' a strong odor cannot explained, there were cats (more than one) in another room on the upper floor and we were disappointed. We then came down to explained to the staff on duty and he refuse to witness the room condition and instead said that its up to us we can cancel our reservation with no refund. That was so unreasonable and it took us 45 mins reasoning this out with him. Even for half of the full accommodation was not allowed. The staff was rude and shouted at us.

So our advise to all travelers, do be careful with photos on the web can be very deceiving.

I won't recommend this to anyone. What a bad image this hotel has left us.

Room Tip: They charged more for higher rooms but you need to check this out before you confirm your reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHM84, Gérant at Avignon Hotel Monclar, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The guests didn't stay in the hotel after we showed them 6 rooms.
They payed the first night as a penalty according to our cancellation policy and finally made opposition to the credit card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avignon Hotel Monclar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Hotel Monclar

Address: 13-15 avenue Monclar, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avignon Hotel Monclar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful building of the XVIIIth century, this charming family hotel is set in the heart of Avignon, an attractive city of Southern France. Situated in the immediate vicinity of the city centre, near the main train station and the bus station, the Monclar hotel boasts also a private taxi service, offering you all the essentials to discover fully the city of Avignon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avignon Hotel Monclar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monclar Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avignon Hotel Monclar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.