We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but no wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christian Etienne

Christian Etienne
10 rue de Mons | 10 Rue de Mons, 84000 Avignon, France
+33 0. 490 861 650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 445 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good but no wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nice decor, old historic building. Friendly and professional staff. My wife and I had the "Menu du Palais", a 5-course degustation menu. Good vintage Champagne served as aperitif. The first course, a foie gras poelé with a parsley cream, was really heavy and not tasty at all. We left our plates almost full. The waiter tried to offer us a replacement, but we politely declined and waited for the next dish. The second dish, sea bass with a bean sauce, was the best. It was really world class. The third dish, a waygu chuck steak, was rich and tasty, but the accompaniment, a kind of celeri pure, lacked aroma. The cheese selection was excellent. The two desserts, one with fruits and basil ice cream, the other a subtle combination of crunchy and creamy chocolate, were both extremely elegant and delicious. The selection of wines (by the glass) to go with these dishes was very good. Overall parts of this dinner were a little rustic and lacked real finesse, especially the meat dish. My feeling is that we had a dinner not really matching our expectation, and also not really worthy of a 1-star in the Michelin guide.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    85
    25
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Christian Etienne Experience is Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the reservation process to the final course, the experience at Christian Etienne is superb.
The website allows you to make reservations (in French or English) and all requests are promptly replied to.

The restaurant nestled against the Palais des Papes and overlooking the square in front of the palais, is beautiful, both inside and out.

We were graciously greeted and seated in the open-air terrace and then the marvelous experience began.

We both choose the Tomato Menu which is a 7-course taste treat featuring all things tomato and also proteins that pair nicely with tomato.

After several pre-course appetizers, we were served an excellent tomato aspic in a glass jar.
Next a tomato, shallot and olive oil tartar that really showcased the fresh flavors of the region.
Also included in the tasting menu were: A strikingly beautiful plate of mozzarella with crushed vine tomatoes and snails; tender lamb Provencal-style; and goat cheese paired with candied Roma tomatoes.

The lunch ended with coffee and several desserts.

Chef Etienne greeted us during our meal and we found the staff to be professional and courteous.

The experience was very, very good. If you have a chance to dine here, you should.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A True Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant, with a prime location next door to the Palace of the Popes, provided one of our most memorable meals on a recent trip to Paris and Provence. We both opted for the Menu du Palais. Over the course of 2 1/2 unhurried hours, we were served (roughly translated)
terrine of duck liver with absinthe and espelette pepper, zucchini and marjoram; filet of John Dory with sage, spring onions and roasted pine nuts; Duck three ways with caviar and fried eggplant with a lemon emulsion; a "chariot" of cheeses; two desserts and multiple amuse bouches. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. The chef and his staff were
warm and attentive. A truly wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a totally excellent restaurant. We hit Paris (twice), the Rivira, and Provence on our recent honeymoon and we had planned to have this place as our one big splurge and it did not disappoint. It's very expensive so not for everybody but if you are willing to drop a large amount on an upscale dining experience then you will not be disappointed. Was our best meal in France. Of 8 courses most were excellent. And the cheese cart is totally off the hook,probably 16 or so cheeses. I haven't tried every restaurant in Avignon but I'm confident this is the best restaurant in that city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful outside terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

32Euro for lunch , good quality food, view on the Palais de Pape, a real surprise as with all the tourist in the restaurant (70% of the clients were from Asia!) you would think that the quality must be so so...it is a little 'theatre'' with the chef talking to everyone...too much trainees! one girl wanted to pull in wine every 5 minutes!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christian Etienne also viewed

 

Been to Christian Etienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christian Etienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.