We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christian Etienne

Christian Etienne
10 rue de Mons | 10 Rue de Mons, 84000 Avignon, France
+33 0. 490 861 650
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 384 restaurants in Avignon
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix,AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A True Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant, with a prime location next door to the Palace of the Popes, provided one of our most memorable meals on a recent trip to Paris and Provence. We both opted for the Menu du Palais. Over the course of 2 1/2 unhurried hours, we were served (roughly translated)
terrine of duck liver with absinthe and espelette pepper, zucchini and marjoram; filet of John Dory with sage, spring onions and roasted pine nuts; Duck three ways with caviar and fried eggplant with a lemon emulsion; a "chariot" of cheeses; two desserts and multiple amuse bouches. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. The chef and his staff were
warm and attentive. A truly wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    176
    51
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a totally excellent restaurant. We hit Paris (twice), the Rivira, and Provence on our recent honeymoon and we had planned to have this place as our one big splurge and it did not disappoint. It's very expensive so not for everybody but if you are willing to drop a large amount on an upscale dining experience then you will not be disappointed. Was our best meal in France. Of 8 courses most were excellent. And the cheese cart is totally off the hook,probably 16 or so cheeses. I haven't tried every restaurant in Avignon but I'm confident this is the best restaurant in that city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“beautiful outside terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

32Euro for lunch , good quality food, view on the Palais de Pape, a real surprise as with all the tourist in the restaurant (70% of the clients were from Asia!) you would think that the quality must be so so...it is a little 'theatre'' with the chef talking to everyone...too much trainees! one girl wanted to pull in wine every 5 minutes!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a large group and left it up to the chef to provide a degustation banquet which
simply blew us all away. Outstanding fresh local produce prepared with love and passion!
It simply was excellent in all aspects. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food, extremely slow service. Plan to spend the afternoon if you for lunch and order the tomato menu. Not good for children. No menu substitutions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christian Etienne also viewed

 

Been to Christian Etienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christian Etienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.