We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of character, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boquier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Boquier
Save Saved
You added Hotel Boquier to your Saves list
6 Rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hotel of character, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for one night in one of the cheapest rooms( all on first floor). It was very clean, if small, and individually decorated. The service was friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts for 8 euros each copious and included homemade jam, although, as a coffee aficionado, the coffee could have been better! We loved the homely, individual touches in the decor, such as the old Singer sewing machines in the reception area, the jam pots at the breakfast table, the wrought iron sofas, etc. Staying here felt almost as if we were guests in someone's home. Location is excellent . All sights and the station are within easy walking distance.
If you are staying for longer than one or two nights, go for a more expensive room, if size of room is important to you. We spent the money saved on top class restaurants!

Room Tip: For longer stays, avoid rooms on first floor. Light sleepers, ask for a room not facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    120
    22
    1
    5
See reviews for
39
133
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Boquier has the charm of being typical of Avignon in its location on a quiet and narrow side street, close to good restaurants, a few steps from the information office, and the train and bus station. The hotel is well-run by Pascal and Sylvie, who are welcoming, well-informed, and keen to provide information both on Avignon and on the wider region (such as villages nearby, local street markets, etc). Their recommendations of restaurants were very good. The breakfasts were just what one needs before setting off on a long morning of sightseeing. Our room was well-appointed. Overall, this hotel represents very good value and our hosts offered a most pleasant introduction to a part of France that we were visiting for the first time.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to the information on each room that you will be sent before you make a reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a fabulous stay at Hotel Boquier. My room (#1) was great, as was the breakfast. Great location. I will plan to stay here again if I ever come back to Avignon -- which I hope to!!! It was easy to book the room on email - they sent me a map and were helpful with directions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for just one night before travelling back to the airport the next day. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke very good english. It was easy to find just a short walk from the train station. Right in the centre of everything plenty of shops bars/restaurants within short walking distance.

The room was well presented and clean, comfy bed and quiet with air con so cool also. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is located on the small narrow street very near from the main road of old city, 5 minutes from central bus station and central train station. But on the pictures Hotel Boquier is presented more attractive - really the lobby isn't very beautiful as on the photo.... Good wifi in my room, but I'm not sure about another rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Close to main station and main street yet in a quiet side street. The owners Sylvie and Pascal were extremely kind and helpful. I had a single room which was well sized, clean and home- like. Breakfast was substantial each morning, worth the extra euros. Wifi access was also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Pleasant hotel and staff in a great location very close to the Centre-Ville train station.

Helpful staff with reccomendations for meals, arts, etc... Book exchange and a good map in the lobby. English well spoken if your French is weak.

Steep stairs and no elevator for those who may be challenged, but the owners were eager and willing to help with bags to the room.

We would stay here again for it's location, cleanliness and helpful folks at the desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boquier

Address: 6 Rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avignon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boquier Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boquier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.