We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 33 Rue de la Republique, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Extremely rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I contacted this hotel by telephone today to inquire about availability, and to see if they allowed pets. The person on the phone (20/05/2015, 20:15) was incredibly rude. I would not stay at this hotel with or without a dog based on the attitude I encountered at reception.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amicable and very helpful staff, very comfortable beds (until we arrived here, all the beds this trip have been either too narrow, too short, or too hard), sunny courtyard, 5 minute walk to the station. Lots of young travelers and U.S. students.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three nights. The hotel is neatly presented and well located in the centre. It is a direct short walk from the TGV. The room we had was very small with about 30cm from wall at the end and up two flights of stairs. It was clean but the air conditioning did not work, nor did the bedside lights. As it was mild weather and we were tired each night we made no fuss about this. The worst part were the Mosquitos. We were plagued with them. Both my husband and I came out with spotty faces and bodies. It was worse each night. As we did not complain I feel the rating of average is fair.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From Avignon Centre Station, by walk, 5mns, straight on Rue de la republique. Classic Old building, Get to Hotel au Fond du jardin, you will find a Patio with the Hotel,
Nice and clean Modern Reception. Rooms are cozy and nice, like in a magazine Elle Deco. Very quiet, everything is ready use.
be aware, no lift!.

Room Tip: room on top floor. 5F
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends and I spent 3 days here--I had my own room. It was small but comfortable with nice linens and large, modern shower. The staff was super nice and we enjoyed the buffet breakfasts with cold cuts, breads, cereal, fruit, and yoghurt in a pleasant breakfast room. The hotel is right on the southern border of the old city, so accessible to all the shops, restaurants, Pope's Palace, pont, museums, etc an easy walk. Quiet. Will definitely return if I am back in Avignon.

Room Tip: I had the cute room right off the patio--would recommend this. Warning--no elevator, so avoid the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado/Wyoming
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I agree with many other guests who indicate this is a lovely, unpresumptuous little place in a perfect location. How wonderful to be able to walk with luggage easily from train to hotel. And what's more -- there is an elevator. We stayed on the fourth floor and were directed straightaway to the nice new elevator. Breakfast seemed overpriced, so we skipped that option in favor of gettting fabulous pastries from nearby shops.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

The hotel is literally down the road from everything in Avignon and does it name "Central" complete justice. They are busy renovating the outside but the interior is beautiful. You immediately get the Provençal vibe!!

The staff is fluent in both English and French and they are very helpful.

Heads up - There is no elevator so pack light or do weights!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 31 - 33 Rue de la Republique, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.