We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eric is very nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central
31 - 33 Rue de la Republique, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eric is very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Close to shops
Rooms were comfortable
Good for the price

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    22
    15
    26
See reviews for
13
39
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

+ The hotel is located right beside the Office du Tourisme and convenient for going around Avignon intramuros.
Okay hotel if you're the adventurous kind I guess.

- Though the courtyard looks nice from the outside, the hotel is old and really needs renovation. There are no lifts and we didn't realize that we booked a room with shared bathroom. There was only one bath and two toilets to be shared with everyone and if you're not lucky, those are found on another floor. The room was old and the heater was rusty. There was a fan for the summer. The prices at all do not justify the quality. It costs almost the same as the hotel nearby where we transferred. Go to Hotel Bristol instead. The owner also made us pay some penalty for cancelling and they were debating on how much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

As the name suggests, this hotel is right in the centre of Avignon. It was the cheapest hotel we found in the centre of town so we were expecting it to he quite basic. It was. The room was very small and pretty dusty. We booked a shared bathroom but regretted it. There was only one shower and one toilet for all the rooms. We often had long waits to use them. Also they were quite dirty and down two floors from our room. The staff were very nice though and let me use a bathroom in another free room. There was a sink and a fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were staying in this hotel for 1 night and it was too long:
1. We were provided with keys from the room, which was already occupied - definitely we were not leaving our keys at reception.
2. I had perception that the building itself is dangerous to leave in, ceiling in our room was U-shaped, and I am seriousely thinking that it might fall down one day.
3. Room was dirty - hairs in bathroom, chewing gum on the bed etc.

On the positive side is only location - close to all sights of interest.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We've never had such a bad experience in our lifetime. Arriving there we were informed the hotel did not have lifts (though they advertised it on the website) and in exchange where offered dingy rooms that have not been cleaned in years in the basement.
Staff was plainly rude and scary - he was threatening to us (2 young women) - we should have reported him to the police but we were stunned by the attitude he had towards us.
We left the hotel as we refused to spend the night there and we were refused a refund.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel should be closed down and fumigated our daughter had 200 bites from staying at this place that should not even have one star. Also we understand it does not have a proper fire escape. My daughter and gher friend rate it 0 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere ,and we have been to a lot of places in the world.We stayed on the fourth floor with a narrow staircase to try and drag your cases up.The stair rail was loose and coming away from its concrete base.There is no fire escape ,so if there was a fire you did not have a hope in hell of getting out.I can't think of anything positive to say about the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 31 - 33 Rue de la Republique, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.