We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central
31 - 33 Rue de la Republique, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 69 hotels in Avignon
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We've never had such a bad experience in our lifetime. Arriving there we were informed the hotel did not have lifts (though they advertised it on the website) and in exchange where offered dingy rooms that have not been cleaned in years in the basement.
Staff was plainly rude and scary - he was threatening to us (2 young women) - we should have reported him to the police but we were stunned by the attitude he had towards us.
We left the hotel as we refused to spend the night there and we were refused a refund.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    22
    14
    25
See reviews for
7
34
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel should be closed down and fumigated our daughter had 200 bites from staying at this place that should not even have one star. Also we understand it does not have a proper fire escape. My daughter and gher friend rate it 0 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere ,and we have been to a lot of places in the world.We stayed on the fourth floor with a narrow staircase to try and drag your cases up.The stair rail was loose and coming away from its concrete base.There is no fire escape ,so if there was a fire you did not have a hope in hell of getting out.I can't think of anything positive to say about the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I had the private single room with shared floor shower/toilet. Room was very basic and tired. Place is very well located, roughly mid way from the Avignon Central station and the Palais des papes. Staff were quite helpful, but not always fluent English speakers. If you pay via one of the online bookers be aware that you will pay an extra euro or so per night in city tax. I am sure that you would have to be able to find better for the price in Avignon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The staff is helpful and it's quite clean but the rooms are extremely small (I stayed on a single one) and you can hear everything from the other rooms and the street. It's kind of expensive for what they really offer (shared shower, shared toilet and no kitchen) but the good point is they're very close to the main attractions of Avignon.
Try better if you can.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Its a funny little place right in the heart of Avignon with a single doorway entrance from the main street, Rue de la Republique. The double room was tiny by Australian standards but adequate for the two of us. The bed was comfortable. The showers were always hot. In fact they were the best showers we had in most of a month's travel in UK and France. Best of all perhaps the staff were delightful and helpful at every turn. The room was cleaned with fresh towels each day. Also, very useful, free wifi; just ask at the desk. Would definitely stay again. Prices were very reasonable. Its not the NY Hilton but who needs the NY Hilton in Avignon?

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the hot showers.
  • Disliked — Bathroom and toilet very tired (but still clean). Overall mustiness but it is probably C17th must.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We booked a double room with ensuite toilet and bath during the Avignon's Festival month via the Hostelbookers.com website. We paid a 10% deposit before arrival to guarantee a room but this hotel could not offer us a room on our first day of arrival. We arrived at the hotel at around 7pm and we were told that all rooms were full. Obviously our booking confirmation was laid right at its frontdesk, just that our appointment was deliberately removed from its roster. The French-speaking night guard at the hotel frontdesk was very rude and arrogant. He could not speak any English at all and kept yelling to us in French. He failed to give us any explanation but asked us to stay at another hotel nearby (Hotel Innova) for the first night with shabby room, tiny toliet and no air conditioning facilities. We could not figure out the room rate at the hotel he suggested and the 10% deposit issues until we bumped into an English and French speaking lady who kindly offered to help for the translation.

Then on check-out, the hotel staff (an English speaking one, thanks God) tried not to stick to the room rate they quoted on the Hostelbookers website. We were told that the room rate should be the one they quoted at its reception area. Although the difference was just several Euros, we insisted that's not what we expected. This sort of negotiation is certainly not something any traveller might want to experience at the time of check-out, especially when you are in a hurry to catch a train.

This was the most frustrating hotel experience we had ever had even though it's good value for money given its central location and spacious ensuite double room. Good luck to other travellers.

  • Liked — Central location, close to the SNCF train station, spacious room with ensuite toliet and shower and air conditioning
  • Disliked — Service, service, service!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Also Known As:
Central Hotel Avignon
Address: 31 - 33 Rue de la Republique, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.