We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Roch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Roch to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Roch
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Paul Merindol, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Still love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

On my second visit to Avignon, I stayed at the St. Roch once again. It was as good as the first time, the staff was warm and welcoming and the room was always kept clean. Sad to say, little Danette is no longer there to play with you.

This is a great spot for couples and small families, but in the early hours your kids might be asked to keep the noise to a minimum in the common areas to avoid disturbing other guests. We were quite grateful for that. You have to leave your key on the way out and after dark you must enter the code to open the main door. AC units work fine, and you'll get clean sheets, towels as you need them.

Breakfast consists of a buffet of juice, milk, coffee, yogurt, cheese, jams, butter and each guest gets their own bread basket.

The hotel is a short walk from the Avignon Centre train station, but you'll have to take a bus or a taxi to get to the Avignon TGV station. It's located outside the walls of Avignon too, so you might have to walk a bit to get to the centre. Or you could take a bike at the station around the corner, it's a great way to move around the city! If you're going on a sightseeing tour, you can ask to be picked up right at the door too, which is quite convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
18
35
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Au Saint Roch or Hotel Saint Roch and garden is situated just outside the City Walls and close to the railway station - Avignon Center (Not TGV). Unfortunately it is now surrounded by taller buildings. It is on a quiet street and retains much of its old world charm. We were lucky and had a room with a small balcony overlooking the garden (Room 4) and we usually had an evening snack and a bottle of wine on the balcony. The supermarket is just the other side of the railway tracks and there is a footpath beside the road under the bridge. The room was comfortable but not large and was clean and tidy with African paintings.

A generous buffet breakfast was available in the dinning room at 8 euros per person and had to be booked on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I loved this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer than just the one night. It is a ten minute walk from the train station and the town centre and located in a really quiet residential area.
We received a lovely welcome even though we arrived in the morning before the official check in time, and the room was delightful, nicely decorated in an old fasioned French style and with a view over the beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

On arrival it seemed the owner was more concerned as to whether we required breakfast than anything else. Once that little matter was settled he was OK
The room was comfortable but poorly lit and the TV was useless.I felt a little uneasy about one of the electric sockets. It was loose.
Other than that we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: As the room was facing the courtyard I cannot comment on any others. IOur room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Hotel Saint Roch meets two out of our three traveler's CCC's criteria: convenient and clean. It falls short of comfort, albeit in all other respects it met our needs, and the rest of Avignon provides charm and character in spades to make up for a stay where a bit of discomfort wasn't such a drama.
As a receptionist, our host has a definite future in the public service such was the seriousness with which he takes himself. Not that there was anything wrong with his service - it was more the formality and sternness of his delivery. He did offer plenty of useful advice, for which we were very grateful, though his answer was always the same - a map showing where the Avignon Office de Tourisme was located. The staff there are wonderful and certainly know how to market their city to both tourists and travelers alike.
We liked the convenience of Hotel Saint Roch - it is no more than a 10 minute stroll to any where more interesting than what it offers, and it does a lovely breakfast in the court yard garden. A setting we also used to good effect for a self-catered dinner of fresh local fare. The rooms are spacious however comfortable is not a word that comes to mind to describe them. It does however offer value for money if you're looking for a convenient location. Parking could be a problem - it's what ever you can grab in the street.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We just stayed for 2 nights and was good for that...bed was way to hard!. Hotel is quite decent & in a good location, we had to catch a train from Avignon centre and was easy to walk to. Would recommend for short stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mytholmroyd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice hotel - with efficient staff.

Breakfast in the garden was delightful.

Room Tip: garden-side should be quieter - especially when it is refuse-collection morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Roch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Roch

Address: 9 Rue Paul Merindol, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Roch 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saint Roch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Roch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Roch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.