We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Colbert

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Colbert
Save
You added Hotel Le Colbert to your Saves list
7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Colbert in September and had a lovely stay. The location is terrific, the rooms warm and inviting and the hosts friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on a pedestrian only street so it was calm and quiet. We only stayed one night, but definitely plan to return on a future visit. Owners Patrice and Annie helped us find a restaurant (we are foodies) and find a sports store where we could purchase a soccer, or "futbol" jersey for our son. Annie's breakfast was the best we've had in our 20 years of traveling in Europe, and Annie even shared her recipe for an egg omelette type dish that was delicious. We loved the personal touch and hope to be back very soon! Great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    99
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
254
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We traveled to southern France this past August (2012) and the weather was delightful. My wife located this hotel based upon others reviews on Trip Advisor and because of its location. We only spent one night there but would return. There is not downside to the hotel, but locating it is somewhat fun, or not. Even my GPS had problems in the beautiful narrow streets.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stay at the hotel in September 2011. It feels like we stayed at the different hotel then majority of the reviewers. The OK: the room size was ok for the price; the location is ok for the price. That t’s about it – just ok, if it was a few dollars more I would feel overpaying.
The bad: we had to be in the hotel by 8 p.m. (or 9 p.m., don’t remember exactly) by the hotel policy and we arrived before 7 p.m.. To say at least we did not feel welcome:
nobody explained where to park the car, nobody offered to help with the luggage as there is steep stairs and no lift (we would gladly pay for that). We’ve been told that the highly praised breakfast is not available for us next morning as we arrived too late?; the mattress in the room was covered with the very strange vinyl cover – so I can’t even describe the feeling when you are sleeping on vinyl, lets just say its far from comfortable! The next day we ask for that breakfast early and were confirmed for the following day. Unless all other reviewers never ate a good breakfast, or simply we did not get what everybody else got, but I would rate the breakfast as simply terrible, both in quality and quantity - 2 small teaspoons of what seemed like humus, two cherry tomatoes, two small and cold pancakes, terrible coffee, and its not for each person, its for two! (maybe I am missing something, but you gat the idea.
Overall – absolutely not recommend!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel Le Colbert is located in the heart of old Avignng, that s, inside the city walls an is walkng distance to all of the min attractions as well as beng just next door to the tourist office.

The rooms had all been freshly renovated (as at October 2012) and we were really stunned that this hotel was only rated 2 stars. I would have given it a "high" three.

Rooms were newly painted and carpeted, with air-conditioning and complementary wifi. The beds were also new and firm...not sinking in the middle as you sometimes find.

The bathroom was clean but basic and perhaps this is why the hotel is rated 2 stars.

We didn't eat at the hotel because there are 100s restaurants / patisseries within a 20 min walk of the location.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again if I was ever in Avignon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Le Colbert is a real gem. It is pefectly located in a central part of old Avignon and fronts onto a quiet side street. The owners, Patrice and Annie, were very friendly and helpful. The room was small but comfortable, and included air conditioning. The bathroom was also small and the shower nozzle was handheld, but it was all reasonabe for such a well-priced hotel. The rooms were well-maintained and clean. Annie's breakfast is famous and is much fancier than standard continental style; it is expensive, so we followed the advice of others on this site and ordered the breakfast for our first day only. The local railway station is a few minutes walk away, and the major train station for long journeys is connected by a regular bus that terminates very close to the hotel. Avignon is a lovely city and this hotel helped make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was a solo woman traveller. I got a small room on the first floor (close to the owner's room). The room was clean, cute, and perfect! I love the decor of the entire hotel. The owners were really helpful & pleasant. Tripadvisor did not disappoint me at all!

The hotel is close to the train station than Avignon center itself but it's still walking distance to all. It probably takes 5 min to get to the train station and bus station and about 10-15 min to walk/ stroll to Avignon center. I had a day trip out of avignon everyday. so, this hotel is really perfect! I can easily walk to restaurants in the evening

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Le Colbert for 2 nights in mid September. It was our second stay here. We enjoy it calm and cordial charms and will definitely stay here again – a good value for 78 Euros per couple.
Location: Inside Avignon walls, 5 mins walk from the main train station (not TGV station) and a bus stop to the TGV station, 10 mins pleasant stroll to Palais des Papes (Pope’s palace)
Parking: Talk to the concierge for suggestions.
Rooms: We stayed on the top floor (no elevator). The staircase is quite steep so to get large suitcases upstairs might be challenging. The halls and rooms a tactfully decorated with whimsical art and theater posters. Our room was quiet, spotless, well appointed with good shower, the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast: We haven’t tried it.
Hosts: Patrice and Annie were very helpful, speak fluent English and were a pleasure to talk to. Patrice gave us good advice on parking, places to eat, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#2 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#12 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#6 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Novotel Avignon Centre
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colbert

Address: 7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avignon
#2 Family Hotel in Avignon
#3 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colbert Hotel in Avignon is an authentic little "hotel of charm", located right in the heart of the historic center of Avignon. The hotel stayed in a small and typical quiet street ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Colbert Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Colbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.