We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vert Hotel

Vert Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vert Hotel to your Saves list
Vert Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 avenue Pierre de Coubertin, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

When booking this hotel for our trip to the south of France, we were fooled by the nice images we saw on the internet. From the pictures on the hotel website, you get the impression that this hotel is in a nice old neighborhood. This is not at all the case.

The hotel is set in a very commercial area, 5km outside of Avignon and right beside the hotel is a massive American-style Oriental buffet restaurant. It's surrounded by a massive movie theatre, a whole bunch of very non-French restaurants, and very ugly-looking apartment buildings.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Instead we drove into the centre of Avignon and ate at a bakery.

I can't say that there was anything particularly WRONG with the room, as we didn't expect much for the price, but there was absolutely no charm to the neighborhood, the hotel, nor the room.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
8
25
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The motel is set near some major shopping areas about 5 minutes drive from the center of the city. The enclose secure parking is a plus. Check in was a breeze, and the staff spoke enough English so that I did not have to butcher the French language. The room was small but adequate as I was flying solo and only staying one night. A much longer stay may not be too comfortable here. The value was great relative to it's neighbors prices too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Overall - this property is not worth the money at all. It is good for one night, but that is all I can say. Beds were surprisingly good for this kind of Hotel. Nevertheless, there were Spider webs in the corners and under the table. Dust on the wooden cover of the lamps. The old guy with behind the reception was able to speak English quite well, but his sense of humour was truly strange. This "weirdo" scared us a little. And what more, he heard our private call. And the possibility of breakfast for 9 EUR??? No, thank you...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Negatives: very tiny and worn rooms, breakfast for extra fee
Positives: secure parking area, free internet, friendly staff
Overall, it was quite an expensive place considering the quality. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Pleasant, friendly service and with a real feel of Provence.
Good free parking but you will need to drive into the old town, it is too far to walk.
There are good eating places close by.
The room we had for 3 was very small and too hot in August. The air con was not adequate.
Good to have small kitchenette and outside courtyard.
It was cheap and good value for money but would not recommend during the hottest time of the year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed there for 1 night during the Avignon festival. The receptionist was very helpful and suggested to take the bus (the bus stop is just in front of the hotel) instead of the motorbike to spend the night at Avignon as she said it was safer, which actually proved to be an excellent tip and the cheapest option considering the parking fees. The room was not so bad and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I needed to find a hotel for five travelers during the huge Avignon Theatre Festival in July. Vert Hotel is about two miles from the old city center (approx 15 euros by taxi) and is served by a few bus lines, VERY close to the hotel. There is a large shopping center right across the street with everything you might need. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly & helpful; even though we arrived around 11:00am, they let us leave our bags in our rooms and then they cleaned them asap so we could have access. The place has a B & B feeling to it, with a nice courtyard (public space) and tables & chairs outside the rooms. The rooms are tiny - our triple had a sort of mini-loft with the extra bed - and show some signs of wear, but the bathrooms were clean & everything worked. It's not a romantic place (utilitarian, not mood, lighting, for example) but it's definitly fine for someone on a budget, and I thought was actually good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradou
0.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Avignon Sud
Brit Hotel Avignon Sud
#44 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristol
Hotel Cristol
#28 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Cardabella
Hotel Cardabella
#54 of 69 in Avignon
3.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Centre Commercial Cap Sud
3.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
#5 of 10 in Le Pontet
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vert Hotel

Address: 130 avenue Pierre de Coubertin, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate atmosphere in this Provence-style house, 5 minutes from the ramparts, the Palais des Papes and the town centre by car .This sunny, comfortable small hotel is hidden behind the peaceful shade of a lovely flowering garden. Tasty breakfasts, flowers, sunshineOur 45 beautiful rooms and studios have that home-from-home feeling!They are all air conditioned and sound-proof with a patio garden or balcony, television, Canal+, entry code and small kitchen area for some of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vert Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.