We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE FRANCE YOU'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR... IS HERE."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ombre du Palais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Ombre du Palais
Save Saved
You added L'Ombre du Palais to your Saves list
6, Rue de la Vieille Juiverie | Place du Palais des Papes, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“"THE FRANCE YOU'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR... IS HERE."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

last october's visit to france, was my 20th... yes, my 20th. with my reasonable
understanding of the language, i've been able to see, and experience the country
in a way many tourists never do. if "communing with the indigenous personnel"
is what you seek--you'll find it when you enter L'OMBRE DU PALAIS. this is
france in its truest form, and sabine, whose home this is, is an 'innkeeper' of the
highest order.
the word 'ombre' translates to 'shadow,' and sabine's home is literally in the
shadow of avignon's papal palace, in the heart of the old city, which is surround-
ed by ramparts. the experience with her is indeed a personal one--she'll share
wine with you, or open her kitchen to provide a private culinary and dining ex-
perience. the cuisine, decor, and furnishings will leave you without doubt, that
you are in france...and...that you are in someone's home, rather than just in a
commercial hotel. you have indeed, found france!!
sabine, being an experienced traveler herself, can also provide guidance on
must-sees in avignon, and provence, as well as other fine dining options in the
city--many within easy walking distance.
since 'l'ombre' is adjacent to the city's most prominent landmark, it's easy to
find...get there by bus, or cab. then, just take an easy bus back to the station
to rent a car a day or so later. tour the town on foot, and save rental car, and
parking fees. sabine can provide directions that will allow you to park, easily,
underground, just a short walk away. when you're ready to depart, your exit,
even with baggage, will be an easy one.
sabine's home is a great base from which to see some of france's great
sights, like the roman aquaduct at 'pont du gard,' and 'chateauneuf-du-pape,'
only 15 miles or so away, and home to one of the country's great red wines.
sabine can offer directions, and maps. when i mentioned to sabine that we
were headed to the medieval hill town of 'les baux,' she strongly suggested
that we include a stop at nearby 'carrieres de lumieres,' a huge man-made
cave with projections of impressionist art on the walls. i would have missed
that without her help--some photos of this amazing place are included wiith
this review. 'local knowledge' is so important!!
so, summing up... sabine ferrand's L'OMBRE DU PALAIS, is a compila-
tion of all the reasons why you chose to break out from paris, meet the real
french people, and experience all the enjoyment of the real france.

Room Tip: sabine closely monitors her e-mail... allow her to guide you in your choice of a room that will sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
100
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edithvale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I and our four year old soon had a truly wonderful and memorable stay with Sabine. Sabine is the most wonderful host, so generous and hospitable and incredibly knowable about not only Avignon but the country in general. She shared amazing historical facts and stories each time we sat down with her. Our room was very comfortable. The location of this property is in the most amazing position, with the Palais de Papes literally outside the window. Sabine made us feel so welcome and comfortable in her home, and paid special attention to make our little boy feel comfortable. Avignon was only a short stop in our European trip but, by far the most memorable. We have recommended Sabine's place already to our family and friends. It was a fantastic time and far too short.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I, and our 3 children, had a wonderful stay in Sabine's L'Ombre du Palais for 3 nights between Christmas and new year's eve. We had two rooms: De Stael and Matisse. Sabine is the perfect hostess, very warm and hospitable without being intrusive. Everything went smoothly from the time I corresponded with her via email two months before our stay. Michelle, the amiable taxi driver, met us at the train station on time and as described by Sabine (by the bookshop with our last name on a little sign board). Sabine was waiting for us in front of the B&B when we got there, showed us to our rooms herself, and we enjoyed canapés and red wine with her at the upper floor salon (juice, etc. were offered to the kids but they opted for water). Breakfast was always a pleasant affair with Sabine and Madeline both attending to us, and by the time breakfast is done, Madeline had already magically tidied up our rooms to picture-perfection! The B&B is located on the quiet end of Place du Palais des Papes, in front of the Petit Palais Musee. A park with panoramic views of the city and the Rhone River is nearby. The kids loved it! Toward the other end of the Place are 3 very good dining options (Les Moutardier du Pape, In & Off, and Christian Etienne--two of which are on the Michellin guide). Sabine also made dining recommendations (we tried two and liked them both). On our last morning in Avignon, Sabine surprised us with packed snacks for the children (pain au chocolat, sweet breads, and bananas) and a bottle of Bordeaux for me and the hubby. A touching gesture that proved to be a blessing on our lunchtime train-ride to Paris with very long queues at the food bar. Now that's a home with heart that no hotel can match!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were met at the door by Madeline who promptly got us in our room (Kandinsky) and then shared a glass of wine with us. We then walked the wonderful city of Avignon on a wonderful fall day. At 7 PM, we sat with Sabine (the owner) and had a wonderful bottle of wine and discussed current events of the day. I have to say, Sabine is one of the most interesting women I have ever met and she makes you feel so welcome in her home. I could have sat there all night and talked with her. She has so many life experiences and is a delight to be around. The home sits below the Palais du Papes and there is not a better location to be in Avignon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and went to Avignon at the beginning of Oct and stayed there for 2 nights. I would like to say that it is very sad for us to stay there for only two nights. The hotel owner, Sabine, is the best B&B owner I've ever seen. Every day after dinner, Sabine will invite us to the terrace together with some other guest to enjoy her wines. It is very nice to communicate with so many different people from all over the world. Sabine also introduced us the best place nearby we should vist, all of those are so beautiful.
We also tried one cooking course organized by Sabine to learn how to cook the french dishes, which is also quite nice experience.

Room Tip: Kadinsky maybe the best room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I had great pleasure staying 6 nights in the Kandinsky room until 2 October 2012. Bedroom and common areas are magnificently presented reflecting the owner’s exquisite design flair and attention to detail. The owner, Sabine, was extremely welcoming and hospitable, offering superb breakfasts and evening drinks on the terrace overlooking the Palais des Papes. A fine lady, Sabine was most helpful with local information and recommendations for quality restaurants. A must stay in the heart of Avignon within metres of undercover carpark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

L'Ombre du Palais was our first place that we stayed upon arriving in France. We absolutely loved everything about the experience from the location, the rooms, the view and, most of all, Sabine and her lovely assistant, Madeline. They made us feel so special and welcome. When we arrived, Sabine hosted us and the four other guests on her terrace for drinks.This was a fun way to get aquainted with her and other fellow travelers. The breakfasts were lovely, the beds comfortable and, Sabine is always ready to help with trip planning or suggestions for dinner. We also enjoyed the interesting political discussions we shared, which gave us an insight into France beyond the tourist book perspective. If you're looking for "just a place to stay," this is a fine choice. But if you're looking for a place to have a rich and engaging experience, then book your reservations now. You can't go wrong and will want to return again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Ombre du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombre du Palais

Address: 6, Rue de la Vieille Juiverie | Place du Palais des Papes, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ombre du Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.