We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay to enjoy a trip to Avignon and the surrounded areas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos du Rempart

Save Saved
You added Le Clos du Rempart to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Clos du Rempart
35 - 37 rue Cremade, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Avignon B&B and Inns
North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay to enjoy a trip to Avignon and the surrounded areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I loved Aida the owner. She gave us such wonderful advice on where to go and what to see. We did so much on her recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The breakfasts she prepared were terrific. She added a little of everything. Cheeses, fruits, meats you name it. The courtyard was beautiful and the room was comfy. I would love to see her and stay with her again.

Room Tip: We had the "Azure" room (I believe it was called this). It looked out over the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    10
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
120
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for three nights in November. The innkeeper/owner, Aida Assad, was wonderful in help helpfulness about sightseeing and dining recommendations. Our room was very nice, breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and the locations was great for exploring. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Aida for three nights in October. We loved our stay . Our room was large bright and the linens were lovely. The location is great we walked to the shopping area and the restaurants in the area were great. She has a lovely patio and her home ,guest room are beautifully cared for. If we return to Avignon we would with Aida. She is a great hostess.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Saphir room and would request this room if we were to return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Le Clos du Rempart is an 18th Century house with a walled garden and wonderfully-evocative Middle Eastern decor. The owner, Aida Assad, is a gracious and welcoming host who made our stay exceptionally pleasant. She even made room for our oversize white elephant of a car in her garage - lucky for us, as the house is hidden in a warren of tiny ancient streets that are a nightmare to navigate on wheels. Our room and bath were large, airy, and quiet, and we felt very welcome to use the garden. We loved everything about Le Clos du Rempart and were sorry to have to leave it.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, and an apartment. You will be happy with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in October. The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed and a great walk in shower. The garden was wonderful and a great place to sit and have wine and cheese! The best part was the hostess, Aida. She made us feel very welcome and got us dinner reservations and called us a taxi. When you are in a foreign country and you don't speak the language, these little things make a huge difference! We would definitely stay here again and we highly recommend the Le Clos du Rempart.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA-Southeast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a lovely stay here for 2 nights this September. Aida is WONDERFUL. Very welcoming and informative. Our room was the Saphir room and was spacious and overlooked the courtyard. Aida gave us some great pointers on where to visit and eat and made reservations for us at restaurant Numero 75 on our second night, which was a terrific suggestion. She also introduced us to Ricard--gently chastising and teaching us the proper way to enjoy it, as we had bought a bottle and were totally doing it wrong. :) She's a lovely host--we were very impressed with her caring treatment of us. All in all, great place to stay, very quiet surroundings, spacious rooms, filling breakfasts (she made us crepes one morning that were wonderful). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I'm sitting here writing this on the last day of my 4- day stay here. The first sentence shall be: thank you Mme Assad, you make everything so great and I do appreciate this wonderful stay!

The saphir room we have is outstanding, extremely comfortable bed and pillows, so big bath room and garden with great ambience. I could see Mme Assad has put many attention everywhere in this house. Every morning, I enjoy my gorgeous breakfast and could have a pleasant talk with Mme Assad, she recommended and helped us to book restaurants, provide tourist map and suggested us visiting routes, can't be more!

More over with pleasure, I also met her son and adorable grand daughter, very nice and kind person :)

The location of the house is right in downtown with easy connection to all sites by foot, while extremely quite and I'm sure the good sleep is important to every one. It takes 15mins by taxi from Avignon TGV, cost around 20€ with our luggage, very convenient.

Avignon is a pretty town, the sky is amazing and people we met all of them are friendly. I do enjoy my stay here and would like to recommend to everyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Clos du Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Rempart

Also Known As:
Le Clos Du Rempart Hotel
Le Clos Du Rempart Hotel Avignon
Address: 35 - 37 rue Cremade, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Clos du Rempart is located inside the city walls of Avignon old town, few minutes walking from the Popes' Palace and the famous Pont d'Avignon. Around its pretty patio, 2 comfortable guest rooms with A/C and private bath, each in a particular style. A flat/self catering apartment is also available for vacation rental in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Le Clos du Rempart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos du Rempart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.