We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Oasis Within the Walls of Old Avignon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos du Rempart

Save Saved
You added Le Clos du Rempart to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Clos du Rempart
35 - 37 rue Cremade, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Avignon B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Oasis Within the Walls of Old Avignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

153 "Excellent" reviews and 3 "Terrible" ones. Interesting. Based on our experience at this this past June, make that 154 "Excellent" ones for this lovely B&B.

As said by so many who've visited Le Clos du Rempart, reason #1 for rating this place so highly is Mme. Assad herself. She is a lovely person and a very gracious hostess. One thing that sets her apart from so many other innkeepers we've met is that she treats you like a guest in her HOME, not just her INN. As she herself said early in our stay, "This is not a hotel!" Exactly! Those who have complained about her being like a schoolmarm etc. have, we think, come with the wrong attitude. Relax and enjoy, people.

Our room was gorgeous, as was the courtyard. We loved being able to take breakfast there, sharing conversation with other guests and Mme. Assad herself. Her English is (nearly) flawless and she tolerated our somewhat-better-than-tourist French with good humor.

The location is terrific - a quiet street, with everything in old Avignon within easy walking distance. The restaurants we visited were lovely and our second dinner was especially memorable. Knowing we're vegetarians, Mme. Assad called up L'Essential, one of her favorite places, and asked them to prepare a meal for us. The food was exquisite!

Thank you, Mme. Assad for providing this lovely oasis for weary travelers from America's Left Coast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    10
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
129
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Le Clos du Rampart the first week in July and this was, by far, our favorite apartment during our month abroad. We are a family of four, with 2 adults and 2 teenagers, and the apartment was a perfect set-up. Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious so we never felt on top of each other. Aida was very helpful and answered all of our questions when asked. We did not have the breakfast included in our stay but found great cafes close by. My husband & I would go out in the morning to pick-up some breakfast while our teenagers slept in. We found the apartment & Avignon a very relaxing place to be! I would highly recommend this apartment for families traveling in Provence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

There are many wonderful things about this delightful B&B,but best of all is Mme. Assad. It's her pleasure to go out of her way to make your stay great. She is charming and speaks several languages fluently. Our room was huge and beautiful and overlooked the garden courtyard. Delish breakfasts include fresh fruit and croissants. Note that you need to pay in cash. It's on a super narrow side street so best to have your car or taxi leave you at the corner. This quiet oasis in a busy city felt like Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Aida is a wonderful host and we could not have hoped for a nicer stay in Avignon. To sit in her garden and chat with her whilst she served her lovely, simple breakfasts to us was an absolute pleasure and we are pleased we didn't head to a more 'corporate' style hotel.

This places makes you feel like a local and I can't offer higher praise than that.

Aida's restaurant recommendations were spot-on too and she helped us a great deal with the logistics of moving on to Orange and Lyon on our trip.

We will return.

Room Tip: Just ask Aida to see each of the rooms - we stayed in two of them and loved both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

In June we were guests at Aida Assad's B&B in Avignon. The accommodations were excellent; the breakfasts were wonderful and we can't say enough positive things about the hostess. She made us feel very comfortable in her beautiful home and jumped to our rescue when we needed help after discovering we had left our passports in our previous hotel in Paris. We truly enjoyed our stay with Aida and missed our "new best friend," when it came time to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Aida in her beautiful home in Avignon.
This was our first visit to Avignon and Aida made us really welcome
The home was a mixture of a french villa and a Marakesh Riyadh.
The house is very beautifully decorated and it has a gorgeous garden. The house is in the old part of the city and is ideally located. Aida took a real interest in our holiday and advised us on must sees. We took the opportunity to relax in this lovely retreat.

The breakfast prepared by Aida was lovely and we wil return.
Aida also has an appartment to let. We may try this.

One definite thing is we will return

Well done Aida.

Joe and Sandy

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Le Clos du Rempart for three nights on a two week trip through Spain and France. As we were travelling with our two boys (ages 10 & 7) we wanted a bit more space than a standard hotel room. Mme. Assad's two bedroom apartment was perfect. It was very clean, bright and allowed us to eat dinner in after a long day of sight-seeing. The location is fantastic - within walking distance to everything we needed - great restaurants, boulangerie, laundry and grocery. Aida was a delightful and thoughtful hostess. She had fresh fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived and spot-on recommendations for enjoying our time in Avignon. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Clos du Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Rempart

Address: 35 - 37 rue Cremade, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Clos du Rempart is located inside the city walls of Avignon old town, few minutes walking from the Popes' Palace and the famous Pont d'Avignon. Around its pretty patio, 2 comfortable guest rooms with A/C and private bath, each in a particular style. A flat/self catering apartment is also available for vacation rental in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Clos du Rempart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Du Rempart Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos du Rempart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.