We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Banasterie

Save Saved
You added La Banasterie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Banasterie
11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #19 of 50 Avignon B&B and Inns
Annapolis, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beautiful, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

La Banasterie is a beautiful place with a great location right near the Pope's Palace. The continental breakfasts were delicious, as were the elegant chocolates and bottle of wine left for us.
The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
We stayed there for 6 days and were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thank you I hope to see you again in Avignon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    46
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
125
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently stayed at La Banasterie on a short trip to Avignon and just loved it. Southern hospitality at its absolute best: Jean MIchel helped us book last minute dinner reservations, plan a day of sightseeing and was generally a delight to be around. Our room way up top was so charming with lavender sachets, delicious chocolates, and a bathtub "under the stars" so speak. We will definitley recommend La Banasterie to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMichel84, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
thank you I hope to see you again in Avignon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Perfect location, quiet, and very comfortable stay. Lovely room with charming decor, and Jean Michel was charming and accommodating as well. Wonderful Bed & Breakfast, a home away from home. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labanasterie, Propriétaire at La Banasterie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you!. I am glad to see that you had a nice stay at La Banasterie. We hope to see you again. Francoise and Jean Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was a charming B & B very centrally located in Avignon. We were happy upstairs in our suite with a double bed and single bed for our daughter in adjoining room, and there was plenty of room for our suitcases. Breakfast was brought to us each morning in a basket, and was very good. Jean Michel and his wife were very nice and helpful, giving us several restaurant recommendations and helping us with phone calls about a problem with our rental car. Remember please to call ahead to confirm and arrange arrival time. We had forgotten to do that, and Jean Michel was kind enough to leave his dinner and come let us in.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I return to Provence year after year, and each time I stay at LaBanasterie in Avignon. It must be one of the most uniquely charming places I have stayed at in France. The proprietors, Jean Michel and Francoise are both all you would wish for when you are travelling -- warm, pleasant, helpful -- so that you feel you are staying in their personal care, not just in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 6 wonderful nights at la banasterie. Charming and comfortable room and sitting area, lovely breakfast, extra perks such as chocolates, wine, and lavender sachets made us feel special. Our host was gracious and very helpful. His assistance in English was a bonus. Perfect location within the walled city as it is right behind Palais de Papes. Highly recommend it; would definitley stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was small yet very lovely. We had use of a lovely sitting room when we wanted to relax at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We've usually preferred small hotels to B&Bs, so we were eager to try something new. We stayed in the Saõ Tome suite, which was quite spacious for three adults. A generous breakfast (included) was served in the room. The property is located on a quiet street very close to the Palace of the Popes and many excellent dining options. Parking in Avignon is a challenge, but the underground pay lot at the palace was most convenient. Owner Jean-Michel's warm hospitality made our three days at La Banasterie a very pleasant experience, and we recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Banasterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Banasterie

Address: 11 rue de la Banasterie, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first B&B in Avignon (created in 2001), La Banasterie is a beautiful 16th century residence, 50 meters from the Pope's palace and two steps from the Pont Saint-Bénézet which is one of the most romantic places in Avignon.With chocolate, red ochre or Naples yellow colored walls, the Guest House La Banasterie offers 2 rooms and 3 suites with refined décor, appreciable comfort and 2 apartments with full kitchens.We have a library, internet lounge with computer and free acces and depending on the rooms you choose, a shaded terrace, balcony or a patio with fountain.La Banasterie is a warm atmosphere, accentuated at night by the lights and candles you can enjoy comfortably in armchairs and sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Banasterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Banasterie Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Banasterie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.