We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocher des Doms

Rocher des Doms
Montee du Moulin off pl. du Palais, Avignon, France
33490808000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$690*
and up
Ranked #2 of 74 things to do in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

From her you get fabulous views over the Pont D'Avigon, River Rhone and across to Villeneuve-les-Avignon on the other side of the river.

There are benches to sit and admire the views and plenty of greenery for shade. It is a great way to get a good overview of Avignon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Spectacular view - long walk up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After visiting Palais des Papes - take a walk up the hill (it is a haul)

The view is breathtaking. There is a lot of greenery - there are benches - if you don't have your own bottle of water, there is a snack shack (that I am sure is crazy expensive, but it is there if necessary)

You can see the "Pont d'Avignon" (St Benezay bridge) and get more of a feeling for the city with the bird's eye view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great way to start your stay in Avignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I climbed up to the top of this lookout point in Avignon almost as soon as we got to the city. It allows for views of almost 100% of the city from high above. When you are walking through the skinny city streets you might not get a real feeling for the city, but when looking down on it from Rocher des Doms you get a better understanding of the landscape of the city. Walk around the park and find great places to take pictures, and lookout over this great city!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice view from the hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

FYI the beautiful view of the bridge is from the hill above. To walk out onto the bridge, there is a fee. We opted not to pay since we were on a tight schedule in Avignon. I would imagine the view of the city is great from there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Swwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Go and enjoy. Marvellous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

When you visit the Papal Palace, buy the joint ticket to include this famous bridge. Of course, why its famous is all down to childhood songs, but the key is the audio tour. Its really good. Engaging, historical and well timed. Standing in the middle of the mighty Rhone river listening to the condensed history on a sunny day was well worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocher des Doms also viewed

 

Been to Rocher des Doms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing