We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Palais des Papes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Palais des Papes to your Saves list
Hotel du Palais des Papes
3, Place du Palais des Papes, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We found the room to be quirky and interesting. The ceiling is low, the decor unusual with exposed brick, funky light fittings and a walk-in shower! There was no air conditioner but a pedestal fan was in the room. The basic European breakfast was included plus free wi fi. We had a room with a window over the square which was great during the day but noisy at night with outside dining and early morning trucks cleaning up. There is no car parking nearby so you need to make sure you know where to go and then be prepared to carry your luggage. The attached restaurant served food of good quality.

Room Tip: not facing the square much too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    73
    28
    19
    11
See reviews for
29
80
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here last week as part of a large group - we occupied the entire hotel - and though I realise I was fortunate to be allocated a room with air-con, I found the experience much better than some reviews had led me to expect. The beds (we had 2 doubles) were spotless and very comfortable, the bathroom (complete with shower and bath) well-equipped. Our room looked onto a small, enclosed inner court so there was no view at all, and there was an air-con unit just outside, but were didn't care as we were barely there other than to sleep, and it was blissfully quiet. The stone floor was cool underfoot - though the cement between the flags had a tendency to fragment and stick to the feet: slippers are a must. Sheets and towels were changed daily, although we didn't request this. There was a wardrobe with hangars, but no shelves other than the top one, full of extra bedding, so we lived partly out of our cases: I could have done with a drawer or two. We ate one dinner in Le Lutrin, the hotel restaurant: food and service were excellent. Emily, in charge of breakfasts, was wonderful - cheerful, obliging, able to find soya milk for cereal. The location of the hotel makes it ideal for wandering through the old town in the evenings. I realise that I might feel differently had I had a noisier/non-a/c/smaller room, but based on my experience of Room 24 I'd go back like a shot.

Room Tip: Ask for an air-conditioned room if going in summer, unless you prefer a fan. The hotel corridors wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I brought a large group and took over this hotel so maybe I have unique insight into every one of its rooms. The staff are wonderful. 'Breakfast girl', Emily, is a delight - what an asset for a hotel to have a welcoming, smiling face like this. She could not do enough for us. Other personnel were obliging and very helpful. We ate in their restaurant (Le Lutrin: The Lectern) on one night and it was first class. The rooms varied from small - with no air con (when the temperature was in the 30s!) to huge, with jaccuzzi bath, power shower, full air-con and painted, ceiling mural! One room had a large outdoor, roof-top sitting area. Fans were available for the rooms with no air-conditioning but they did get very warm. What really makes the place special is it's position: away from the bustle of Place de l'Horloge but close enough to enjoy its delights; and right next to the Palais des Papes which is visible from some windows. Location, location, location!

Room Tip: All rooms with air con were good. Ask for the one with a view of the Palais des Papes (with the ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location right across from Palais des Papes and close to all the restaurants and shops. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of the square. We loved the ambience of the room with exposed brick and chandeliers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

An easy walk from the train station in Avignon; about twenty minutes with two bags each; safe and clean. Avoid the bus station at all costs-an open urinal. As far as the staff went, they were great. We were pleased to meet Emily from Vernon, British Columbia, behind the counter. You go thousands of miles and meet a personable young lady who is multi-lingual from about ten miles where you own property...very nice; both the coincident and the lady. Excellent breakfast and clean rooms at a good price adjacent to the things you want to see. Despite the crowds nearby, it is not noisy, and the police presence provides a feeling of safety. The only cautionary advice-don't try and check out before seven in the morning as there are no qualified people to check you out.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the palace as the open windows provide a great view and, if you like churc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We chose this hotel in Avignon at the last minute because of a change in plans and as it was just for one night it was't the end of the world but it is unlikely we will stay here again when we return.
I specifically asked for a quiet room, if possible and the young lady looked to her manager who said the room she gave was sufficient. She looked at us with our backpacks and maybe assumed we didn't have money because we came to France to have a carless vacation walking the GR trails. The room itself was OK, large enough and clean but it was on an alley leading to the Palais which has non stop foot traffic. It was very noisy most of the night and has a row of huge bright lights right outside the room that lit the square....and the room all night. The room had shutters but if you close them you suffocate.

The girl at the front desk was multilingual and very helpful but when I asked for quiet she should have offered us a different room, even if it would be more expensive.....and we didn't have the cheapest room.

Overall, not the best value in Avignon.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room directly facing either of the two squares the hotel is on. You will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Corners, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, literally across the street from the Palace. You could not do better!
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. But the room itself was one of the worse I have been in for quite some time.

It was quite small with only a tiny cabinet to store your clothes. My suitcase remained on the floor the entire trip. The room consisted of a bed and cheap nightstand plus a hard chair that would make the furniture at IKEA look like something from Ligne Roset! The TV only had French channels. The telephone did not work. If you arrive after "curfew", you must ring the bell at the door and wait for the porter to open up. One night, I did so and stood outside for about 15 minutes before he finally came. I then went to my room to get a shower only to find there was no hot water. They must turn this off after a certain time.

They advertise free wireless but this does not work in the rooms. You must go into the "lobby" or restaurant.

I hate to be so negative on the hotel as the staff was indeed great as was the restaurant, but for a three star hotel, some things need to change.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Palais des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais des Papes

Address: 3, Place du Palais des Papes, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Palais des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Des Papes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Palais des Papes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.