We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad but strange entrance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud to your Saves list
Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue Marie de Medicis, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Almaty
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not so bad but strange entrance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you need "Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud", probably you will look for "Adonis Hotel" in the first place. Wrong! A modest sign says "Mercure" and in smaller characters written vertically it says "Avignon Sud". The hotel is surrounded with a fence with no clear entrance for pedestrians. We circled the hotel on a car twice before we understood that we had to press a button on the gate security system to ask the attendant to open the gate. This was one of several "French" surprises during our two-week trip. In France, sometimes you need to be a local to know certain things.
Otherwise the hotel is not so bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    34
    36
    39
See reviews for
20
65
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angers, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

First I should say that the hotel has one good thing : a clean outdoor pool. But this barely redeems the rest. We stayed three nights during the Festival d'Avignon. The hotel is a 40 minute walk from the center so you have to catch a bus or a taxi if you don't have a car. The hotel has been recently redone but the general appearance outside is shabby and not very welcoming. Guests enter through the parking lot and have to go through mechanical gates - perhaps because the hotel is near an industrial park and grotty public housing ? The staff were polite but we had several bizarre moments, like when we asked for extra towels and the woman at reception refused. Apparently each guest is limited to one a day. We finally got them but were made to understand that this was a huge favor. The breakfast was also very limited (plain yogurt, 'baguette industrielle', ham). The carpet in the room still had paint stains from recent repainting in room and the whole place feels like they are trying to cut corners in really petty ways. In short it wasn't very good value for the price and next time we'll just go somewhere else I expect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Strange...
from the guy at the reception that was not speaking english to the old mochette in the room to which in contrapposition there was a nice bathroom and a wide room and a decent breakfast.
In overall, the hotel seems to be thought to be poor but with some points of eccellence...
just crazy in the end

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is located in what appears to be a public housing and industrial area on the outer perimeter road of Avignon. The old parking lot which surrounds the hotel is fenced in and is overgrown with weeds and such. The new entrance is through the backdoor. It used to be a Mercure motel. The pool area appears to be abandoned. The lobby and breakfast room appear to have been updated. Most of the staff was pleasant with the exception of the guy who did not speak English so he just hung up the phone without so much as "Sorry I don't speak English" in French or English. The carpets are worn; stained with paint and other things; and smelly. There is a room (it was open) on the third floor across from the elevator which had suffered water damage some time ago and had black mold growing all in it! The wall on the third floor across from the elevator also was "busted in" and a small bookcase placed in front of it to hide the damage. Missing light bulbs, broken beds, power went out one side of the hallway, not enough linens, etc. The breakfast was very simple. It was the best thing about the hotel. Don't stay here when there are other choices in Avignon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile_Jousselin, Front office at Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Good afternoon,
while we understand and we are deeply sorry for all the inconveniences that you have encountered while staying in our hotel, we feel appropriate to clarify a few things. Indeed, like you were mentioning , we are located in Avignon Sud, about 3.5 km from the old city. We have advertised our adress on all our sites and adjoining tourist sites. While we are not pretending to be in the city center we are however well located in between city center and the airport. Concerning the status of the hotel, we have just finished the renovation. All the furniture in the hotel is new, but some changes are still to be made, like the carpet which will be replaced very soon. On the other hand the swiming pool is now ready to use and very beautiful actually. Unfortunately when you were here it was still in work. Also regarding our staff, since the reception is closing at 10 PM, our colegues on the night shifts are actually surveilance agents not front desk staff, and by this was not mandatory to know English as a condition for employement, like an avarage reception staff. As for the breakfast, what we serve is actually a classic continental breakfast. Croissants,different cereals, ham, cheese, milk, orange juis, grapefruit juis, pain chocolate, muffins, different yougurts, jam, honey, hot chocolate, coffee, tea are just some of the staffs that we serve.
Your message was very welcomed though, since we are constantly trying to improve our services. Thank you for message, and we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you here again in much better circumstances.
Kindest regards,
Nicoleta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On arrival at this hotel we were convinced it was closed. There was no signage and the exterior is run down. Swimming pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned ever! Reception staff were pleasant enough but the room and furnishings were stained and unwelcoming. No hair dryer, no tea and coffee facilities.. We asked where we could get a drink and were told to go the nearest supermarket!! We walked to a nearby shopping precinct but the neighbourhood seemed a little suspect! Needless to say we wish we hadn't booked in advance... 5mins into Avignon nr the point we would have found better value for money. Never again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile_Jousselin, Directeur général at Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear customer,

It' s with regret that I note that your stay wasn' t up to your expectations.

I'm sorry to hear that you have a bad impression on arrival at the hotel. It' s true that we didn't have the sign but be aware that it' s being installed.

In the pool we also arranged with the maintenance company and we now expect their intervention.

On the hair dryer, knowing that we have available on request at the reception.

I am also surprised that the value doesn't seem to correct that we practice a very attractive pricing policy.

Wishing you good reception and a good day.

Best regards.

Cécile Jousselin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is by far the worst hotel that I've ever stayed at. Very late arrival. Upon arrival the facade of the building looked old & dirty, dimly lit from the outside and if you weren't familiar with the hotel area - then good luck on finding it. The pool had no cover & looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years - greenish-black water and sludgy - this was confirmed in the morning light. DO NOT SWIM IN THE POOL EVEN IF IT LOOKS CLEAN!! The lobby looked newly renovated. The bar did not have any ashtrays for those who wanted to smoke outside and the barman was not friendly. The hallway carpet was torn, dirty, smelled musty and very stained!! The room while spacious due to lack of furnishings but carpet again was dirty & stained, dingy and dim due to lack of lighting. Since I was so disgusted, I figured I'd better check the bed before crawling in. Upon throwing back the covers, I discovered that the bed sheets had not been changed from the last occupant - there was black stains on one side and blood on the other...yes there was a BLOODY STAIN on the bed sheet...probably due to the last occupant being eaten alive by the mosquitoes! In my friend's room, her pillow smelled of sweat and bad B.O. On the doorway of her bathroom just above eye level was a dead, squished moth. We were suppose to stay here for 2 nights...needless to say, we checked out the next morning and found another hotel.

Room Tip: A tip to help travellers with this hotel? DO NOT BOOK HERE. "Awful!! Terrible!!" doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile_Jousselin, Directeur général at Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,

It's with regret that I learn that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations and believe me, I'm sorry.

On the building, it's not dirty, it 's old and over time it's damaged.

For the pool, we suffered great showers of rain this winter that made green, but know that it will be completely emptied and cleaned for the summer season.

I'm sorry to hear that you were not well welcomed at the bar and I'll see with the barman what could have happened.

As we have already explained several times during the renovation of the otel, our carpets have suffered heavy damage and hopefully change quickly. But know that they aren't dirty and are cleaned every day.

On the sheets, I can't let you know that my amazement. Indeed, it is unthinkable that your sheets are not changed. And as it is an outside company that processes the machine, I'll see them, so that this problem doesn't repeat itself.

I wish you a good day.

Yours faithfully.

Cécile Jousselin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It lacks maintenance, carpet was torn and dirty in the bedroom and the hallway and our room smelled.
We had booked a twin bed and got a double room with no option to change.
The wi-fi only be used by one person per room.
Attention was correct but without much sympathy
I must say that the bed was very good.

The hotel is far from the center and taxi is to expensive right there (30€)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile_Jousselin, Directeur général at Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear customer,

It's with regret that I learned that you have not been satisfied with your stay in our hotel I'm sorry.

Indeed, as we explained our carpets were not changed during the hotel renovation and are worn. But I can assure you they aren' t dirty, they are cleaned every day.

I am also surprised to learn that a double room you have been assigned if you have booked a room with 2 beds. I'll talk with my team to know what could happen. But I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

For WiFi, it is true you have one code per room but we can have one in more on request, but we must ask at the reception.

Thank you,for the bed witch was very good.

Though, I hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards.

Cécile Jousselin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud

Address: 2 Rue Marie de Medicis, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, in the heart of Provence, just few minutes from the historic centre of Avignon, close to “the Exhibition centre”, to “The Popes' Palace” and the station, Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud, fully renovated in 2012, in a contemporary and art deco style, proposes you one of 105 air-conditioned and soundproof rooms, all equipped with all the modern comfort: television flat screen with satellite, bathroom with separate toilets, telephone, free Wi-Fi.For a moment of relaxation, an outside swimming pool will welcome you with its private terrace and bar area.Our establishment also proposes you 4 conference rooms which can welcome up to 150 persons and are equipped with all the necessary material and a business corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adonis Hotel Avignon Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.