We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to see Avignon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Train Avignon

Petit Train Avignon
36 Bd Saint Roch, 84000 Avignon, France
490863675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 61 things to do in Avignon
Attraction details
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great way to see Avignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This little train was very relaxing and a great way to get an overview of the city. It was narrated in several languages via headphone, which made it easy to understand.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    81
    43
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“It's worth the 7 Euro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This little tourist train (and I usually hate these things) will take you into areas of Avignon that you might otherwise miss. It was my wife's idea - one that initially resisted, but dare I say, she was right. We were in Avignon for a few days an this little 40-minute ride helped us find more interesting sights than we might have on our own.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Commentary frugal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This little road train covers a fairly limited amount of Avignon and is let down by long periods of silnce in the commentary, whihc is not always easy to hear (on my head set the connection was dodgy). Unless you want to ride around, buying a guide book from the tourist office for not much more has extra trails and information. Walking the route only takes just over an hour if you don't stop.
The experience of winding through narrow streets leave you in awe of the driver's skills.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great intro to city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great way to see Avignon in a short time. Make sure if you are listening on the head phones you are turned up loud to hear over the French version on loud speaker. Incredible how it goes through very narrow streets. Pauses for photos.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Normally I enjoy a tour of a new city when I first arrive, but I after this tour, I felt like I could have saved the 7 euros and wouldn't have missed anything. It wasn't terrible, just not very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Train Avignon also viewed

 

Been to Petit Train Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Train Avignon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.