We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I happy I chose this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garlande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garlande to your Saves list
Hotel Garlande
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, rue galante, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I happy I chose this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisers reviews, and must confess I was a bit anxious, fearing that my husband wouldn't like it because it has no parking (and we hired a car). However, the Garlande was a very grateful surprise - close to everything, quite, cozy, comfortable and cute. We left the car in the Les Halles parking, 3 minutes away, and received a 20% discount for being hosted in the hotel. The owners are extremely kind and helpful - what an amazing reception! We are absolutely satisfied with our stay in Avignon - and being at the Garlande has a wonderful part of our experience there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_de_Garlande, Propriétaire at Hotel Garlande, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at hotel de garlande and that you appreciated your room
I would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again the next time when you can close your hotel fot take some holidays
Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    144
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
99
272
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We were another couple who stayed here based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and because we wanted to stay inside the walls of the city.

Hotel de Garlande is basic, but it had everything we needed for our short stay - a comfortable bed, hot shower and free wifi.

What was outstanding about this place was it's owners, who were wonderful. Their English is fantastic and they went out if their way to give us information on how to get around Avignon and the attractions in the city (I agree that they were more helpful than the tourist office).

Breakfast was delicious and more than enough and the hotel is located close to everything in Avignon with some excellent restaurants nearby (thanks again for the recommendations).

A very relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Thanks so much,
Denver and Richard

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_de_Garlande, Propriétaire at Hotel Garlande, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.
It was a real pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We selected Hotel Garlande on the basis of other Trip Adviser reviews. We were coming by train and it is an easy walk from the station - passing the Tourist Information Office en route.

This is a lovely hotel. Well situated close to everything, yet really quiet. The hosts are really wonderful ambassadors for their adopted city and will provide advice (in beautiful and willing English) on where to go and what to do during your stay. They certainly enriched our knowledge in a way that the very brusque and disinterested staff in the Tourist Office did not.

We booked a larger room (having just stayed in a match box in Montpellier)...and it was perfect. It was in the back part of the hotel, facing a quieter alley in the old city. We were there in winter, and the room was plenty warm enough. The windows open to provide coolness and there are blankets on the bed (rather than the ubiquitous thick doonas that are so unnecessary in overheated hotel rooms) - so we had the most comfortable night's sleep of anywhere during our trip.

We used the wi-fi and that was fine.

Mention has been made of the monotony of the breakfasts and I agree. The breakfasts are great, but they are the same every day. We were there for two nights, so if you were staying longer, you could consider opting for a breakfast in-house every second day. It would be nice to see perhaps different pastries, bread, cereals, jam, flavoured yoghurt for different days on the week or something. Anyway, that is such a slight beef, in what is essentially an incredibly welcoming and great place to stay.

I wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Garlande without any reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a great find in Avignon. The hotel was in the pedestrian zone near many shops. It was quiet at night, even during the holiday week. This was a great hotel for travel with a family. The breakfast was wonderful with homemade yogurt and fresh bread and croissants. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. We fit 4 to one of the smaller rooms. Avignon is a great base to explore, through day trips, the Provence region in France. The restaurants were good, but not many were open during the holiday week. The hotel gives a discount on parking in Les Halles parking garage, which was very convenient. The owners were very helpful in modifying our pre-planned itinerary and spoke French to our boys, who are studying the language and culture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of February and appreciated the warm and friendly welcome we received when we arrived, from owners who speak great English, and who take every care to make their guests feel comfortable. The room was very cosy, and the breakfast perfect for setting us up for a long day. All the local information, advice and maps were really useful. We enjoyed the home made yoghurt and marmalade, and would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Avignon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Hotel Garlande at the end of January 2013. Its very central, very secure and outstanding value for money. My room was very cosy. The hosts were absolutely magnificent. They made me feel very welcome, gave outstanding tips on attractions and even booked me into wonderful restaurants. Nothing was too much of a hassle for them. If you stay in Avignon you must stay here! I will be recommending it to friends who I know are visiting later this year.

Paul

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_de_Garlande, Owner at Hotel Garlande, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for this so nice comment. We are happyt that you enjoyed your time in Avignon. We wish you a safe trip back in your country.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a short stay in Avignon over 2 nights. Our hosts at Hotel Garlande were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. We were given advice on the top attractions and how best to optimise our short time in Avignon, including maps and assistance with booking and choosing restaurants in town. The room was very clean, newly re-furnished/renovated and very comfortable despite being on the small side ( but we chose the smaller standard room upon booking.) Overall we could not have asked more of our hosts or enjoyed our stay in Avignon more. Highly recommend this hotel for value/location and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#12 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Novotel Avignon Centre
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#6 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#22 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garlande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garlande

Address: 20, rue galante, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avignon
#3 Family Hotel in Avignon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garlande 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garlande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlande Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garlande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.