We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garlande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garlande to your Saves list
Hotel Garlande
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, rue galante, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for two nights, and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! The location is central but peaceful, close to the main attractions; the rooms are charming and immaculate; and you honestly cannot ask for a better host than Emmanuelle. She went out of her way to make us comfortable, providing ideas for things to do around town, and helping us book taxis. We had a very comfortable, entirely stress-free stay - thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    139
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
90
256
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Small boutique hotel off the main square in Avignon on a quiet street. Owners were very friendly and spoke English well. Room was clean and comfortable and they provided free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was fresh baguette, croissant, home made yogurt, fruit, coffee/tea, home made jam. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room not facing the street would be a quieter option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Perfect, secure location in the centre of Avignon. Friendly, helpful owners, nice spacious room with a fridge, TV and hairdryer. Street noise is relative to what you're used to. We were on the ground floor for NYE but as we live in crazily loud Barcelona, we found it really rather sedate. Breakfast is pretty good although a savoury option like cheese for example would be a nice touch. Our only problem was battling to turn the radiator off on the first night - you won't be cold here! Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very friendly and helpful owners, Stefan and Emmanuelle. Even before i arrived , provided infoRmation through email. They were always ready to assist in any of our queries and offered great suggestions ( which was greatly appreciated ) on places to visit, eat etc. spacious room with a good sized fridge to stock our drinks etc. We stayed in a superior room , no 6 . Comfy beds and the hotel is well located. Very close to everything,; palais of popes etc n especially the Xmas market. I wish them the best of luck. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed overnight in Avignon just before Christmas. The hotel is right in the middle of the old part of town. The owners gave suggestions about what to see, where to eat and helped us get our bearings. It is an old building, so don't expect posh, but it was perfect for the 3 of us with plenty of space in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our room was large and comfortable and the reception was warm, friendly and very helpful-insisted on carrying our bags up to the room for us. This is an excellent location for wandering the historic centre of Avignon. We arrived between Christmas and New Years, with no reservation, they were able to accommodate us for only one night, but recommended another hotel very nearby for our second night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent five days at the Garlanded in December. Our room (a "superior double") was very clean, spacious and comfortable, if sparsely furnished (e.g. No dresser). The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful, giving us advice on trains, tourist attractions and excellent restaurant reservations, even answering my many questions via email prior to our stay in Avignon. The hotel is in the center of a very old, historic city, that's what we wanted but if you want "modern", this isn't for you. We were very happy with the location, walking distance from everything we wanted. It can get somewhat noisy with street noise if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was good and a good value. No elevator, if you can't do stairs you should ask about any rooms on first floor (I don't know if they have them). Walk to center city train station or shuttle to the TGV station outside of city center. We were very pleased and would stay here again. If arriving after 8pm let the owners know and they'll give you excellent instructions on late check-in.

Room Tip: Consider getting a room larger than the smallest one. Ask if the room faces the street (due to nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Garlande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garlande

Address: 20, rue galante, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avignon
#3 Family Hotel in Avignon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garlande 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garlande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlande Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garlande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.