We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Quaint hotel with a very good location.
We asked for help getting a tour around the area, and the front desk was very quick and helpful.
Overall, the service was superior and friendly.
I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    379
    125
    42
    14
See reviews for
89
474
57
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2-room, suite, # 324. Albeit small, it was very functional and had recently been upgraded. One room was set up to be the TV room, but could also serve as a sleeping room (pull out sofa). Since we stayed in June, during long daylight hours, the windows were equipped with automatic "blackout" shades. The rooms were air conditioned, a must during that time frame. Always enjoy having the capability to heat water for tea/coffee. The bathroom was quite modern. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. As I became ill during our travels, the front desk called and arranged for a English speaking doctor to visit me at the hotel. The hotel does have an elevator; however not all rooms are reachable by lift. We had to carry suitcases up to the third floor (or approx. 20 steps) after getting off lift on 2nd floor. Best to ask at time of booking if your "type" of room is reachable by lift. The hotel offered a computer for internet access as well as several sitting rooms to relax, read or enjoy a glass of wine. We found the hotel was in an ideal location for walking to many sites and restaurants within the old city. The hotel was within a 5" walking distance from the Palace du Papes car park, and offered a 20% discount toward parking fees. The breakfast room was very light and airy and offered an excellent array of food items. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. As a matter of fact, my husband and I believe we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location is good, The hotel is more like an inn. The rooms are 2 star. The staff is minimal and not nice at reception and not used to 5 star travelers. The breakfast was good. Stay at the 5 star hotel around the corner if rooms are available…. there is a world of difference. Don't be fooled by the reviews if you stay at high end places, you will be disappointed and mad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in a "superior" room. Not quite sure why it was superior but the bed was fantastically comfortable. There was plenty of storage and it overlooked a quiet side street. Aircon was a welcome as were the tea and coffee making facilities. There is a lift but some of the rooms are located up short flights of steps so if your bags are heavy take note! The hotel is right in the centre and we decided not to take breakfast at the hotel as it was very expensive, preferring to walk out to the many restaurants nearby. Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. We had travelled by train there and realised rather late in the day that it was quite a distance from the TGV. Also, getting a taxi at the TGV was really difficult so a tip would be to book one in advance (maybe the hotel would offer this service?).

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for a room off the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was right on the square - walking distance to all shopping and beautiful restaurants. Lovely large windows to open for the view of the town - staff helpful and good wifi - would definitely stay again
Lift was an added bonus as we had heavy bags

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose this hotel for convenience, but had mixed feelings about how convenient it is. It’s located near the end of the main street of Avignon, which is about a mile long and runs from the central train station (SCNF, not TGV) and ends in the main square called Place de l'Horloge. The papal palace is about a block further from the square. Anything along that street is an easy walk. It just depends on whether you want to be closer to the train station or the square. You’re never far from either end. While the square is extremely convenient, it’s also extremely congested. There are better dining options on nearby streets. We were there in May and would not want to be there in summer, since it was already starting to get very crowded in that area. The hotels nearer the train station seemed less so.

The hotel room itself was clean, pleasant, and comfortable. It had a roomy bathroom with a deep tub. The view looked out on tiled roofs, so that was charming. However, there were no screens on the windows and the mosquitoes there can be daunting. I missed having a coffeemaker in the room. When we had virtually no water pressure in the shower one morning, the staff person didn’t offer any solution and his answer seemed to indicate that the plumbing was problematic. The front desk staff were pleasant, but in a distracted, not particularly helpful way. Pros and cons balanced out for me to an average rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I loved this hotel.Were a family of four travelling so we stayed in the suite on the top floor.It had off site parking which wasnt that exspensive after we got our parking ticket validated.The only problem was the lift only went so far then we had to climb many stairs with our luggage.We didnt include breakfast as it was 22 Euros pp per day.So we went to a local Cafe.There are heaps of restaurants in walking distance as well as shops ect.We found the staff very helpful.We do not speak French.From here we drove to Nimes to see the Ampitheatre,Pont du Gard & to the Antique theatre.I would love to go back to Avignon and would defiantly stay here again.Loved it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.