We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pleasant room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location and pleasant room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in a "superior" room. Not quite sure why it was superior but the bed was fantastically comfortable. There was plenty of storage and it overlooked a quiet side street. Aircon was a welcome as were the tea and coffee making facilities. There is a lift but some of the rooms are located up short flights of steps so if your bags are heavy take note! The hotel is right in the centre and we decided not to take breakfast at the hotel as it was very expensive, preferring to walk out to the many restaurants nearby. Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. We had travelled by train there and realised rather late in the day that it was quite a distance from the TGV. Also, getting a taxi at the TGV was really difficult so a tip would be to book one in advance (maybe the hotel would offer this service?).

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for a room off the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    321
    110
    35
    9
See reviews for
75
394
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was right on the square - walking distance to all shopping and beautiful restaurants. Lovely large windows to open for the view of the town - staff helpful and good wifi - would definitely stay again
Lift was an added bonus as we had heavy bags

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose this hotel for convenience, but had mixed feelings about how convenient it is. It’s located near the end of the main street of Avignon, which is about a mile long and runs from the central train station (SCNF, not TGV) and ends in the main square called Place de l'Horloge. The papal palace is about a block further from the square. Anything along that street is an easy walk. It just depends on whether you want to be closer to the train station or the square. You’re never far from either end. While the square is extremely convenient, it’s also extremely congested. There are better dining options on nearby streets. We were there in May and would not want to be there in summer, since it was already starting to get very crowded in that area. The hotels nearer the train station seemed less so.

The hotel room itself was clean, pleasant, and comfortable. It had a roomy bathroom with a deep tub. The view looked out on tiled roofs, so that was charming. However, there were no screens on the windows and the mosquitoes there can be daunting. I missed having a coffeemaker in the room. When we had virtually no water pressure in the shower one morning, the staff person didn’t offer any solution and his answer seemed to indicate that the plumbing was problematic. The front desk staff were pleasant, but in a distracted, not particularly helpful way. Pros and cons balanced out for me to an average rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I loved this hotel.Were a family of four travelling so we stayed in the suite on the top floor.It had off site parking which wasnt that exspensive after we got our parking ticket validated.The only problem was the lift only went so far then we had to climb many stairs with our luggage.We didnt include breakfast as it was 22 Euros pp per day.So we went to a local Cafe.There are heaps of restaurants in walking distance as well as shops ect.We found the staff very helpful.We do not speak French.From here we drove to Nimes to see the Ampitheatre,Pont du Gard & to the Antique theatre.I would love to go back to Avignon and would defiantly stay here again.Loved it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location, off the main road and surrounded by restaurants and close to city sights and Palais des Papes. the rooms are quite spacious by French standards, clean and well kept. The shower was terrible with barely any water pressure. They also turn the air conditioning off at night for about 8hours so its very hot at night. The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful which was disappointing. The breakfast is really overpriced and there's lots of other options for breakfast in the surrounding square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ifrane, Morocco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is very nice, but you do pay for the location. By accident we found that parking on the street in a green zone (parking pay ant) is free from 7 pm to 9 am; if you park in the parking garage it is much more expensive. We did not have a problem with that. The area inside the city walls is best discovered by walking. The hotel staff is very helpful in both French and English.

Our room 112 is right above the reception area. It was quiet, until the city workers collected trash in the morning. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The room is small, but I have stayed in many French hotel rooms that are much smaller. The bathroom was very clean and nice, with good amenities, although the shower drain didn't work as well as it should have (which I reported on checkout).

The location is super as you can walk easily to many great sights and restaurants.

Room Tip: Better sleeping rooms do not front the square or street the cars drive on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff on reception was unfriendly and not very helpful. They misinformed us about room availability and room rates. The receptionist was more interested in texting on his mobile than talking to clients. Poor service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.