We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location, off the main road and surrounded by restaurants and close to city sights and Palais des Papes. the rooms are quite spacious by French standards, clean and well kept. The shower was terrible with barely any water pressure. They also turn the air conditioning off at night for about 8hours so its very hot at night. The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful which was disappointing. The breakfast is really overpriced and there's lots of other options for breakfast in the surrounding square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    324
    110
    35
    9
See reviews for
76
399
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ifrane, Morocco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is very nice, but you do pay for the location. By accident we found that parking on the street in a green zone (parking pay ant) is free from 7 pm to 9 am; if you park in the parking garage it is much more expensive. We did not have a problem with that. The area inside the city walls is best discovered by walking. The hotel staff is very helpful in both French and English.

Our room 112 is right above the reception area. It was quiet, until the city workers collected trash in the morning. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The room is small, but I have stayed in many French hotel rooms that are much smaller. The bathroom was very clean and nice, with good amenities, although the shower drain didn't work as well as it should have (which I reported on checkout).

The location is super as you can walk easily to many great sights and restaurants.

Room Tip: Better sleeping rooms do not front the square or street the cars drive on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff on reception was unfriendly and not very helpful. They misinformed us about room availability and room rates. The receptionist was more interested in texting on his mobile than talking to clients. Poor service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had an excellent stay here!
My only negative thing to say about this room was the noise. We were staying facing one of the roads (not the main square). We found it very noisy even with the windows closed.
This is the only negative thing to say however. Our room was extremely clean. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with a lot to choose from (although the coffee wasn't particularly good). Overall the hotel had a great atmosphere.
We also found the staff very helpful. We asked for advice on where to go to do our laundry and the place we ended up in was great (and cheap).
I would stay here again and recommend anyone else to as well. We loved Avignon as a whole and only wish we had spent more time in this beautiful city.
P.S. The restaurant downstairs from the hotel in the square was a great spot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I loved this hotel! It was right in the center of the town, restaurants in the square right out front of the hotel, and the palais des papes was a five minute walk from it. The bed was large and VERY comfortable and plush. The toiletries in the bathroom were really nice quality too:) As a side note, the wines that they have for purchase at the hotel are Delicious, they have a great Rose.

Overall, GREAT location, LARGE room, GREAT bed, very clean. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed as part of a group with Great Rail Journeys. This hotel is ideally situated in the center of the old city of Avignon close to the main sites and restaurants. Lovely breakfast room with good range of food including fresh fruit and ample tea and coffee. Does not offer lunch or evening meals. Our room was spacious and the air conditioning kept it cool despite being almost 40C outside. Only complaint was that there was a lack of storage space with single tiny wardrobe and the shower was too small with a curtain that stuck to you. Rooms overlooking the square can be noisy if the bar below is opening late at the weekend. Would use again.

Room Tip: Request higher floor not overlooking the square in case the bar below has a late licence at the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington crossing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Don't stay here. We spent 2 sweltering nights in this hotel and never slept a wink. Avignon is very warm and the air conditioning was insufficient to provide any cooling of the room. We asked for a fan and was told they were all out. The room was small and had creepy carpeting. The bathroom had a cheap, dark linoleum floor. The breakfast was great as was the location, but these benefits were quickly forgotten when we stepped into the room. 2 gentleman at the desk during the day hours were very polite, but the female desk clerk in the evening seemed to want to argue with everyone. Keep looking!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.