We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Save Saved
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 69 hotels in Avignon
France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is very central and only a minute's walk from the Papal Palace. The room we had was lovely with a very nice, well stocked bathroom. We didn't take breakfast because we thought the price was ridiculously high and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area with more reasonable prices! The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    289
    100
    32
    8
See reviews for
67
358
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived in the beautiful town of Avignon and were greeted by Timothy at the reception of Hôtel de L'Horloge. Timothy pleasantly surprised us that Anne had upgraded us from a Standard to a Deluxe double room. When I asked why he gave us this upgrade he explained that during the slow winter season they try to please their customers by offering a nicer accommodation. Our room 409, was clean, nicely decorated and had a view onto the main piazza.

The amenities in the bathroom are naturally fragranced of sage, rosemary and jasmine, all simply packaged in recycled paper.
This is the 2nd Hotel of the chain Les Hôtels Ocre et Azur that we have stayed at and we were almost completely satisfied, though the only suggestion we have is to make a more affordable breakfast option. We found that €17,00 for an all you can eat breakfast buffet is a little pricy and not everyone likes to eat a lot for breakfast. If a continental breakfast, for a more affordable price was offered it would be perfect.

Room Tip: room 409 was nice as it faces the piazza, but there was some music coming from the bar downstairs un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in January 2013. Not a large room but well appointed and situated just over the the main square - which at that time of the year was set up with food and gift stalls etc. It was a great outlook. The position was perfect for walking the old city - also close to train station. The staff at the desk were very helpful and assisted us in anyway they could. An enjoyable and very affordable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at L'Hotel de L'Horloge in January 2013. It is a very nice "boutique" hotel right on the Place de L'Horloge with some rooms overlooking the Place. It is walking distance from the main (non-TGV) train station and multiple city buses also service the area. If you are coming from the TGV station, there is the availability of a shuttle that will bring you to just within the "portes" of Avignon. The hotel is within walking distance (15 min) of the bus stop. It is also a very short walk (5 minutes) to the Palais des Papes and maybe 15 minutes to the Pont d'Avignon. It is a well appointed hotel of five floors, serviced by an elevator. It is important to note that by US standards, it would not be considered an ADA hotel. The rooms, as in many French hotels, are small, providing bed(s), a desk, TV, a mini-bar (appeared to be an honor system mini-bar), small bowl of complementary candies, and very small safe. The safe would fit an iPad, wallets, fanny pack--not big enough for a laptop. In our particular room, our bathroom was equipped with a full-size bathtub/shower combo. Nice size bathroom by European standards. Satellite TV provided some English language channels (CNN International, BBC 1, BBC 2...) Room was very clean, employees all very friendly and helpful. Many sidewalk Cafes, restaurants and a small grocery store (Carrefour Market) within walking distance as well. Probably the only complaint we had was the very bad wifi service we had. We eventually gave up trying to get online. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hotel:

Very nice Boutique Hotel in Avignon, inside the old city walls.

For site seeing in Avignon, it is pefectly located - it sits in the center of Avignon, over looking the tree-lined main square, Place de L'Horloge, very near the Palais de Pape, and a very short walk to Pont d'Avignon. Many restaurants and shops are within mere feet to a short walk from the hotel entrance.

For site seeing in the region: Very well situatd. Avignon served as our base from which driver took us to various sites in Provence and the Luberon Valley - e.g., Fountain de Vaucluse, L'isle sur La Sorgue, Gordes (where we shopped the Wednesday market in the square), Roussillon, Bonnieux (with lunch there and wonderful views over the valley and towns like Lacoste), Aix-en-Provence, Saint-Paul-de-Mausole - incl the psychiatric asylum in nearby Saint-Rémy-de-Provence where Vincent van Gogh painted the The Olive Trees, Les-Baux-de-Provence (fortress town set atop a rocky outcrop, and other sites. All above can be don in a day if desired.

The People: The staff were young, very friendly, and great to us. As in each hotel on our annual anniversary trips, I arranged for roses and champagne on arrival - which they did just as requested. They provided us as well with tips on sites and restaurants in Avignon. All positive here.

The Room: Nice corner room on second floor with great view out windows of the tree-lined main square, Place de L'Horloge, and the town. Clean, modern, ell apointed. Not lux / posh - but vey nice value at this price point fo a lovely room.

All in all, very recommended.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor, corner room - facing Place de L'Horloge - for the view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This cute hotel is right on/off the main square - be sure to look up (re: second floor) for the sign, or you'll miss which corner it's on! If you're at the bottom of the square (with the palace at the top) the hotel is on the left hand side, just after the first cafe. We certainly couldn't find it right away since we didn't know what we were looking for, but if you've gotten to the main town hall, you went too far.

Location is great when you're staying and on foot, but if you have a car, call and ask and PLAN for where you're parking. We didn't think ahead that they validate parking at a particular garage, so we parked at the wrong one for the weekend. On a normal day, it seems easy to get to the hotel by car- go up the main drag in old town to the square, and take your first left as there does seem to be a street that you can pull up next to, but due to some festival that weekend, the street was blocked and we couldn't get to the hotel. We had to park and carry our things over (about a 10 minute walk.) Maybe it would have been less had we parked at the "right" parking place.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and was super tiny since we got the least expensive rate. It fit just the bed, a desk and just enough room for our luggage. But it was clean and snug, the shower was quite small and narrow in our room, but my in-laws had a bigger room with a tub. The soaps were really nice!

We skipped the breakfast (so expensive) and found nice places in the square or around the city to get our petit dejuner menu.

Only thing was that food festival was happening in the square, so it was somewhat noisy with the loudspeaker during this time. At least it was quieter at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November. It is such a good location , rightt on the main square and near all the main attractions within the city walls. Our room was so warm and cosy, with all you could want for an enjoyable stay. The staff were also very helpful. The breakfast was gopod , with plenty of choice. One thing, I would not recommend the hotel to anyone with mobility problems - there is a lift , but it is still a routemarch to the dining room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.