We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We reserved a junior suite and upon check in were given a corner suite with fabulous views of the Place D'horloge below. The service at this small hotel was fantastic. The front desk attendant went out of his way to help us with everything. The ice machine broke and he went to a bar next door and got us ice. He made excellent restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us. The entire hotel has been either recently redone or was built recently inside of an old building. It makes for a very charming feel but with all modern comforts. Great hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room, 4 windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    392
    134
    48
    18
See reviews for
100
501
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mtunzini, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Perfect location at the Papal Palace, but if claustrophobia is a weakness, rather move to a more spacious hotel as the rooms can only be described as cramped and weren't always made up, add this to poor plumbing and tiny showers and it's easy to feel that maybe the location wasn't such a big factor after all.

Room Tip: Ensure you insist on a non smoking room, parking is a fair distance away, so prepare to drop off lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for the new year and there was a Christmas market right outside the hotel and we also had a beautiful view of this market. The hotel is bang in the centre and perfect for our stay in Avignon. The hotel staff were all very warm and friendly. The room was a superior one, a bit on the expensive side but honestly well worth it. The room was clean and warm and had really great toiletries. I would definitely recommend. We did not eat here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every second of our stay at this wonderful old, yet modernized hotel! Everything from the amenities to the most helpful service was impeccable! Location was perfect...and our spacious corner room overlooked the main square as well as the Palais du Papes. The desk clerks recommended the perfect restaurants in the area - all within walking distance. Our four night stay there was not long enough...we will return...hopefully very soon!

Room Tip: Our corner room was perfect for late October!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was in Avignon for 2 nights in December with my sister and a friend. We had two rooms and really enjoyed the hotel. It is quaint, comfortable and in an excellent location. The breakfast room is very nice, the breakfast was excellent and the wait staff very nice. I am a travel agent and would definitely recommend this hotel to clients who wanted to be in the center of town. We went for the Christmas market so it was ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just like the other reviews are stating, this hotel is well-located (in the main square near the Palais des Papes) and has unique designed rooms -- cozy and comfortable rooms to spend more than one night.

If you have the opportunity to stay there, I would definitely recommend it (we changed our mind about an Ibis hotel outside city's walls in the last minute).

Pros:
- Comfortable design rooms
- Helpful staff
- Fantastic location

Cons:
- Parking lot is a little far away and you have to take your bags off first to avoid carrying it through the main square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night in June '11 as we made our way south from Paris to Nice. We should have stayed here longer. The room itself was beautiful, a Privilege-Terrrasse on the top floor with balcony overlooking the Place de l'Horloge. I've stayed in Avignon before and would recommend everyone visit it at least once; this hotel is perfect base for exploring it, walking distance to everything. I'm already looking for an opportunity to return.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Novotel Avignon Centre
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#6 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#23 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, getaroom.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.