We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Avignon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Avignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel this past summer with my mom on a trip to Provence. The location of the hotel was really good and you could walk anywhere in Avignon. We walked from the train station to the hotel and it wasn't too bad with our luggage. The rooms were really large and clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was nice and seemed to be recently updated. Our room faced the square and one night it was a bit loud but that was because there was a music festival taking place. The next night was a lot quieter. The staff were extremely helpful with planning your day and making reservations for anything you needed. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    336
    112
    36
    10
See reviews for
81
412
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A great location and central however unless you are a fan of techno music, being a guest on Friday and Saturday night could be an issue. Service was very good and staff friendly and helpful. Room was situated in third floor overlooking the square so this accentuated the issue with the music.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a gracious hotel in a scenic area. First, staff is terrific. We had reserved for six nights and when we got there we were assigned a small room, and three series of steps to climb after the elevator. The manager discovered my problem when we went for breakfast after the first night when I found it difficult to navigate the steps into the breakfast room. So, she arranged for a larger room (which faced the historic square) and breakfast to be delivered every morning. Actually, my husband brought it up as the delivered breakfast would have been Continental only. Rooms are not very bright, and the brown draperies, etc don't help. Parking can be a problem. As we have a handicapped sticker, we were allowed to park in that spot indefinitely.

Room Tip: Be aware when you are booking that you know which room you are getting. We stayed at 410 facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Easy to find as it's on the famous square, the hotel had English-speaking staff and a friendly atmosphere. Our room was on the small side with a view of the shoe shop opposite, but that didn't bother us. The facilities were great, clean and the bed really comfy - slept better than at home! No noise from outside either, though some of the other guests weren't exactly quiet in the early hours during one night. A bonus was the TV's ability to get BBC 1 and 2 plus the world news channel.
The location couldn't be better: a short walk from the bus stop to the TGV station and an even shorter one to the main attractions of Avignon, plus of course the square itself right outside and many shops and restaurants very close by. The hotel's own restaurant was unfortunately closed for refurbishment. Breakfasts were excellent: advertised as "American style buffet" they had just about everything you could think of and even an organic range.
I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: if you want a good-sized room or a view of the square, try asking. We didn't mind so didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel is situation in very central location. Staff were not overly friendly but not rude either. There is a lift which was useful as no one offered to help with bags etc. Our room was very nice and spacious but located over the square which became a little nooses in the evening. Easy to walk to all the attractions and plenty of food choices. We did a half day tour to Orange Roman Theatre, very interesting, and Winery which was worth while as saw lovely scenery. Nothing really wrong with the hotel just not a welcoming feeling.

Room Tip: Perhaps a quiet room not over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay here started with a very warm welcome. We instantly felt that we would be taken care of and we were. Any question we asked was immediately answered in a very friendly and helpful way. The staff gave us recommendations on where to eat and helped us with where to park (parking is a challenge in the city, but with clear directions to get to the underground parking (under the Palais), we were fine). The room was cozy (in a good way). We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and we were welcomed with a special note and bottle of champagne when we arrived. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed three nights here in mid-October 2012. The hotel is a bit rustic with wood floors but it is all quite clean. Our room was on the fifth floor, fairly spacious, and with a private terrace. The terrace was a really great option and it was wonderful to return at the end of each day and relax there. The hotel's location is convenient and on the large main square. Some noise from there at night but not too late. Desk staff was always very nice and helpful to us.

However, at night our room was very warm and we discovered there was no air conditioning. The man at the hotel desk (I called sweating around midnight on our first night) very nicely told me that it had been cold in Avignon a week or two earlier, so the air conditioning system was shut down for the season.

But the weather during our visit was in the 70s (F) during the day! So our fifth floor room would be intolerably very warm at night if the terrace's sliding door was shut. And when we left the terrace door partially open at night, mosquitoes entered and I was very covered with bites by morning. (We seriously thought about leaving after one night. But we were only staying three nights anyway and didn't want to spend half a day or more searching for new hotel). In hindsight, perhaps we should have left anyway. It was pretty bad.

Trying to sleep there with a very warm room and/or biting insects was a real nightmare I've never experienced anywhere I've stayed before.

If it were not for the air conditioning issue and severe problems which followed, this would have been a very nice stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.