We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Horloge to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Horloge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Hotel de l'Horloge and it was very nice. In a beautiful old town in southern France and positively dripping with charm. We were in France for more than a week and didn't stay here the whole time but it was the only hotel where we splurged on a junior suite. Totally worth it! Great corner room overlooking the town center. Very close walk to the main attractions in Avignon...in fact most are right out the front door. Lots of great things to say about the staff here. All friendly and helpful with great suggestions of what to do or where to eat. Thanks Hotel de l'Horloge for making our trip so memorable!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    329
    110
    35
    9
See reviews for
77
405
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I book european train trips I use Railbookers quite often,and this hotelwas one of the one's recommended and what agreat choice it has been upgraded to 4(French Star).The Hotel is in/on Place l'Horloge right in the centre of Avignon which is about a 10-15 min from Gare Avignon and the shuttle drop off by the post office from Gare TGV.
The hotel is surrounded by cafe's and is in two halfs we were in the main part of the hotel which has been recently renovated and was looking very new,the reception was very nice not to big,and checking in was easy.We took the lift to our floor (4th) and the floors are all wooden throughout in the corridors and all very new.
Our room was nice for us the right size,the bathroom/shower was all new and lovley and the toilet was seperate which was different, the beds are again very comfortable.the only thing we have to comment is the wardrobe size was not enough for two(we stayed for two nights) and the door would not close properly, we managed ok.Otherwise a brilliant stay
Breakfast was in the other half of the hotel and was very good with plenty of choice and eat all you can which was part of the package so not sure how much it would cost if you paid extra.
All the sights are 10 min away so the location is perfect and is one of the better hotels within the Place de l'Horloge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you're using Avignon as a base camp of your trip to Midi and Sud this hotel is the best . The rooms are not huge yet smart. We stayed with our 15 yrs. son in the same room and did not had any problems. Beds are comfy and the bathroom was spacious. Amenities in the bathroom are first class. Breakfast is "comme il faut" and satisfying . Yet if you are bored of the same breakfast everyday, you are in city center and have plenty of options.
Hotel staff is friendly and very helpful from making reservations to renting a car. Location is the best as you're maximum 5 minutes walking distance almost everywhere. You have a discount for your parking at the parking "palais des Papes". Its ideal for its location, service and hygiene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Pros:
- Great location! The town center is just outside the hotel.
- Quite rooms. Though we had a 4th floor room on the side of the town square, we did not hear the outside noise during the night.
- Lots of dining options.
- Very friendly and helpful staff.
- There is a water dispenser on the 2nd floor (1st if you're counting from 0) which you can use to fill up your water bottles.

Cons:
- There's no secured parking within the hotel. Though this was a concern for me initially, having a parking structure just on the other side of the square made up for it. Make sure you have your ticket validated by the hotel so you get the 20% discount. (I paid roughly 9 euros per 24 hours.)

Tips:
- For dinner, skip the restaurants on the square and venture out. We went to La Tour which had excellent Provencal food.
- If you're not into heavy/buffet breakfasts, there are at least two boulangeries within a minute of walking (towards the train station.) Both had freshly baked croissants and stuffed pastries the both times I dropped by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel staff was helpful, polite, and pleasant. The location is unbeatable. We followed advice from other posts and got a larger double room with terrace. Very enjoyable and we had no trouble with street noise. Because it is an older building it naturally shows a little wear and tear but things were clean. The breakfast was convenient and satisfactory. (And we had to laugh because one of the apples that we took along from the breakfast room was better than one we bought from a vendor in Les Halles- fear not, other veggies and fruit from Les Halles were great) We did not drive there so we can't comment on that. The air conditioning was a bit anemic and it was odd that there was no shower curtain, causing my OCD to kick in whenever water got on the walls during a shower. Still, though, we would be content to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location was excellent, within walking distance of everything. The staff was polite and helpful and spoke good English. The room was clean, but small. The air conditioning was not very cool. The wifi was free, but very slow. We booked a room with breakfast, which turned out to be a continental breakfast which was very good (2.5 euros more to have anything from the hot buffett).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe england
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Le Cid is the name of the bar whose disco mixing deck was directly beneath our beautiful room. We arrived on a friday and were shown this lovely room with huge bathroom overlooking the square. When we got in that night tired after a long day travelling we found the floor was vibrating with the boom boom of the music downstairs. As we were so tired we managed a few hours sleep but the music was still pounding at 2am. The following night we were sitting in the square when the disco started up again at around 10.30. I went into the bar [which by the way had only 3 customers] and asked politely if they could turn it down a fraction as we were in the room above, they said they would. In fact when we got back to our room they turned it up even louder. At 1.30 I went down to complain to the man on reception who rang the bar and thankfully the music stopped. The following day the hotel gave us another room at the side of the hotel, this was very small with a small very uncomfortable bed and a shower tray in the bathroom only 18 inches sqare with a showerhead 12 inches across, it was like being waterboarded in this shower! The breakfast was adequate and being able to squeeze fresh oranges was lovely. In general this is a good hotel but our personal experience here was not good at all.

Room Tip: Avoid the one above the Cid bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: 1-3 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Horloge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.