We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, Incredible hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Mirande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 place de l'Amirande, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Incredible, Incredible hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Recently stayed 5 nights with a group of friends and it was an amazing experience. All of the staff we encountered were exceptionally helpful and polite and went out of their way to make sure our stay was fantastic. Job well done!

The breakfast buffet in the morning had a great selection of items. We only ate dinner in the hotel once, but we were in the private dining room and the meal was incredible. We also did a full day cooking class with Jean-Claude and Severine and it was one of the most fun experiences I have ever had. We also did a wine tasting in the private cellar, which allowed us to sample some of the region's wines. Not a bad way to spend an afternoon...

As others have mentioned, the rooms are all laid out a little differently and the decor varies from room to room. We were on the 4th floor and had a lovely view of the gardens and of the Pope's Palace.

My only regret was that I couldn't just move in and stay forever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    32
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
105
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hands down - one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The rooms were gorgeous and the bathrooms the ultimate in comfort - from the huge tub with bath oils to the amazing shower. The front desk was incredibly helpful - went out of their way and arranged a last minute driver through the wine region. The only downer was the chefs dinner - for 86 euros I was certainly expecting a great deal more...maybe I was spoiled from so many excellent restaurants, but it didn't seem like you got very much for your money (dessert was roasted figs w/ whipped cream - nothing special).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed at the hotel a week during the new year of 2011-2012. we booked one of the apartments, it was the one that is one flight up and is in a separate building from the hotel.
even though this was an apartment the service was like a 5 star hotel, when checking in our car was parked for us and luggage was brought to the room. you could order room service, there was maid service daily, they even cleaned the dishes you had used in your kitchen and left fresh flowers, which seemed always to be perfectly timed after we had gone out for an excursion and was always done before we returned, these are small things that make a stay at a hotel special.
the interior of the apartment was beautiful Provençal, very cosy and personal. the hotels lobby, restaurant and common areas are all very cosy and nicely done. restaurant is very nice in the evening, with a fireplace.
we travel with our dog and he was allowed to dine with us in the restaurant, even on new years eve, and this is a michelin star restaurant, there was also an other dog, and it worked fine.
the service in the hotel and restaurant was very friendly and helpful.
this is place we will return to for sure. it is everything you expect of a luxury hotel in Provence.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is expensive but is worth the price. Everything is perfect, beginning with the warm and professional welcome by reception staff, nicely furnished rooms with practical amenities, deluxe breakfast and beautiful patio to enjoy it. Perfectly restored building located right next to the palace of popes. Staff willing to arrange anything. Dont forget to book a dinner in the hotel restaurant, it is delicious. A very good wine offer for demanding customers. La Mirande is a perfectly managed and enjoyable hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOBIS, at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We we pleased to read your comments regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief time at La Mirande and your kind responses came as wonderful feedback to us and all the staff. Praise is as important as criticism when it comes to knowing how to improve the Hotel, whether it be general or more specific and it is gratifying to see from your comments that we are on the right track.

In the hope of welcoming you back to La Mirande on a future occasion, we thank you again for your kind comments and for having stayed with us this year.

Yours sincerely,

F. Lacoste
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Mirande is a very special luxury hotel. With only 26 rooms, staying at La Mirande is like staying in someone's very well-appointed and eminently elegant private home. Which just happens to be across the little cobblestone street from the Palais du Papes. This is a hotel that does not need the hype - it is about understated chic. Its your thing, or its not. La Mirande may not be for everyone, but for those extremely discriminating travelers who are looking for a rich yet comfortable, singular hotel experience that focuses on detail, tranquility and good taste, there is nothing that comes remotely close in Avignon. I concur with a previous review that the rooms on the higher floors are ideal. Room 26 on the top floor (pretty sure) was like a very well done little garrett with windows overlooking the glorious garden and restaurant, along with the Palais du Papes. Each room is a different design palate and color scheme, but all are done in a very traditional theme, with gorgeous silk wallpaper that is often echoed into the bedspreads, drapes and upholstery. The bathrooms are all double sinks and ceramic tile or marble floors. The public spaces are to die. From the central courtyard that looks like it came from a movie set, with the kilim draped on the long table and great big bowls of fruit and decorations - where afternoon tea is de rigeur - to any of the salons off the courtyard. We loved the small bar with so much character and detail and the adjoining salon with its bright striped walls and low chairs and divans. And of course, the garden is spectacular with several areas in which to dine and enjoy the sunny afternoons or warm evenings. Possibly my favorite space, though, was the kitchen where the cooking lessons and chef's table take place. This was intimate, traditional and so well done - it felt timeless - with such character anyone could imagine sitting at the expansive kitchen table and watching a chef, who is right next to you - prepare a fantastic dinner. We did not eat in the restaurant, but I was told by a friend from Avignon that it is the hands down best restaurant in town. Quel surprise!

Room Tip: My favorite was room 26, which was on a top floor and more of a little garrett with lots of light an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOBIS, Resident Manager at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind feedback you posted after having experienced our house.

We attach great importance to what our clients tell us, in the constant hope of ever-improving the service and quality on offer at La Mirande. Your kind responses are gratyfing us and are sharing with all the team.

It will be a great honor to welcoming you back to La Mirande on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

F. Lacoste
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When I stepped in the hotel, I was astonished if such a hotel exists in the touristic center of Avignon. What an elegant and discreet Hotel. The receptionist (a beautiful lady) welcomed me. I was lead to my room on the second floor. Not a large room but sufficient for me since I was alone. I had a terrace almost as big as my room overlooking the Palace. I had all the comfort I needed. ( I am 81 years, and been traveling all around the world). When I got to the lobby there was a gentleman ( I think his name is Mr. François), hewas as hospitable as the lady. The restaurant was full, but they led to a nice table. The meal was excellent. I had to go to my room to rest. The second day was the same treatment. Everything was perfect except for the price.

Room Tip: Any room on the highest floor, especially those facing the Pope's Palace. Although my room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The appeal of La Mirandel is apparent as soon as you see its facade, that of a supremely elegant, honey-coloured 18th century mansion with smiling faces carved into each window lintel. A warm welcome at the reception that continued the length of our four day stay. I had requested, and was given, a top floor, corner bedroom overlooking the garden with distant views of the Luberon range; it could not have been more satisfying. The hotel's decor is exquisite and oh so French. You really do feel you are staying in the home of a Provence aristocrat, and very lucky to do so. We dined twice in the elegant restaurant and send a special nod of appreciation to the gracious young woman, who along with her husband the chef, who made sure each meal surpassed our expectations. The freshness of the locally sourced produce was simply amazing. This hotel is a unique work of art and it reflects the devotion of its owners to assuring their guests an unforgettable stay in what feels more like a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Address: 4 place de l'Amirande, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 20 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mirande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.