We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avignon Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avignon Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Avignon Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, Blvd Saint-Roch, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very comfortable hotel. We had a big room, facing the old city walls. It is conveniently located next to the train station (but without the noise) and opposite the old city where all the touristic cites are located.
The staff is courteous, competent and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    156
    86
    42
    23
See reviews for
86
160
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For us the location was very convenient as we used public transport during our trip (bus and train) and as such the location is ideal being next to the train station of avignon and several bus lines also serving the tgv station. All the main sights of Avignon are within walking distance as the hotel is just located outside the walls. Big plus are the spacious room which includes a spacious bathroom with a seperate shower and bathtub. Wifi was also included and working well for us. Main problem with the room was the carpet floor. Bed itself very comfortable and as it was very quiet we had a great and undisturbed sleep. We neither had breakfast nor experienced dinner in the sister hotel close by. Not the cheapest hotel, but a fair price and it delivers what is promised in the end. We had little contact with the staff other than the lady at the reception - she was friendly and spoke English fluently.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
We thank you for your very positive comment on our different facilities and provided services, We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay which means that we achieved our first goal: our Guests satisfaction.
I will share your comments with our team and be certain that our main and priority goal will always be to fully satisfy our Guests.

We hope have the pleasure to welcome you soon again at the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL.

With our best regards.

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

This cannot be a representative review, as our tour company had to find a hotel which would take over 80 people from a marooned cruise ship at very short notice in the month of November, and the hotel responded superbly to this challenge. Our room 235 looked out on to a patio, and had a balcony with table and chairs. A railway station was a short distance away, but the sound insulation was so good, that we were unaware of trains stopping and passing through. The room itself was huge with a small ante room, sofa and chairs, and twin beds each the size of a double bed, and was well equipped in every respect.To this extent, the hotel exceeded its four star status. However, the breakfast was not well organised with a small, cramped serving area, and disappointing "DIY" service, which included a toast maker and coffee urn. The variety on offer for the continental breakfast seemed limited, and any form of egg ordered at extra cost, apart from the ubiquitous scrambled egg which was a sloppy mess. Why do such prestigious hotels neglect such an important meal in the day? Our dinner was specified by the tour company, and both in this hotel, and its nearby sister Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis where we dined in majestic surroundings, were beautifully presented and the fixed menu up to standard in every respect. The location, ideal for exploration, has been praised by others, but I suspect this hotel is geared to the corporate market and conferences, and in keeping with this, there was no clearly defined bar area, and the prices corresponding,-a G&T being an eye watering 14.50 Euros. What the prices are for a room, I of course have no idea.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you so much for your positiv comment!
We are very satisfy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Avignon Grand Hôtel, especially because of the circumstances of your arrival! It's very important for us to propose to our guest a very good experience at the hotel.
We have noted your remarks about the breakfast, and we sent to the Food and Beverage Manager.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With our best regards,
La Direction




We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us (especially when we have to receive emergency boats on the Rhone) and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff. We take in consideration all your observations about the breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The Hotel is in a great location just outside the walled town. We had a family room with a spacious living/dining area, and two bedrooms upstairs. Both bedrooms had patios off of them which would be perfect in the summer. Underground parking is available, it is a public carpark but the staff provide you with an access card and pin when you book in. Staff are polite and helpful. Daily buffet breakfast provided a good selection of hot and cold food, with automated drink dispensers. The hotel's decor is a little dated but is in keeping with the character of Avignon, the hotel is well maintained and the rooms are very clean. The location is fantastic, 2 minute walk into the walled city and about 10 minutes to the town square with lots of restaurants and cafes. Would definitely recommend this hotel and it would be a perfect base for exploring the region of provence. Very good value for money especially when travelling with children.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you. We will make sure to share your kind words with our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

When we got to The Grand Hotel, we could not find the entrance as we had expected. I parked the car on the side street next to the hotel and walked to the entrance. They said, “Why of course, you park in the underground parking and take the elevator to the hotel right here.” We guess everybody must know this??!! After wedging the car into a spot (no easy task), we headed up the elevator and checked in. Our room for the next 4 days is on the ground floor with our door opening into a courtyard. The sun was setting as we walked across the street along the walls of the ancient city to our first meal in Avignon.
The hotel was very nice, but on the last day (near the end of September) the air conditioning was abruptly turned off and the late summer heat made our room hot. There had been no warning about this. The front desk did supply us with a fan which we had blowing cooler air from the outside into our room. To make up for this "inconvenience" the desk clerk removed the 60 euro charge for parking.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room to have access to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen the AVIGNON GRAND HOTEL for your stay in Avignon and for having taken the time to share your experience with us.

We thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, they encourage our teams.

We understand your disappointment with the air conditioning, and we are please to read that you found a solution with the front desk.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont Hills
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Avignon Grand Hotel is located directly outside the main entrance to the Avignon walled city and is very close to the train station. The hotel is a little dated in decor, but can't fault the service, cleanliness, the room or its facilities. The bedroom was huge, it had a separate lounge area, lovely modern bathroom, tea making facilities available, plus a private balcony. We thought earlier about getting a hotel in the walled city, but the traffic was too difficult and cost high, and were glad we decided on the Grand Hotel instead. The hotel has a swimming pool as well, so a wonderful way to relax after walking all day around Avignon. Breakfast was lovely next morning and staff very attentive and helpful throughout our stay. Would recommend this hotel as we believe the hotel was value for money and a perfect location to visit Avignon easily by foot and car.

Room Tip: We took the room on level 1 left side of the hotel facing the pool. Lovely and quiet and very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read you had a nice holiday staying at our hotel and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Avignon Grand Hotel we would like to thank you for your kind comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind Regards,
La DIrection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hotel looked after us when we arrived without a booking because the accommodation we had found on the internet turned out to be awful. The staff were wonderful, very helpful, nothing was too much. Our room was actually a suite with a separate room and living area and it was spacious and very, very comfortable. The location is great, just outside the old city walls and a very short walk from the train station and bus depot. It takes a minute to get to the Rue de la Republic and less than five minutes to the centre of town. We were very happy here and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They have a lovely inner courtyard and rooms overlooking this would be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34, Blvd Saint-Roch, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 122 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avignon Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.