We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not that great room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avignon Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avignon Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Avignon Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, Blvd Saint-Roch, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, not that great room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel is next to Avignon Center train station and bus stop. The front desk staff were friendly, but gave us a room which hadn't been cleaned. After apologizing, they changed the room for us. The room is spacious and quite. The deco and bathroom facility is a bit dated and worn out. No toilet paper in the bathroom but soon delivered after we called. Problems we found when we returned for our 2nd night: Water glasses weren't cleaned; bath tub wasn't cleaned. Although no big deal, we expect better overall service and better room condition for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to having taken the time to share your experience with us, and to give more details about your stay.
We are very sorry that during your check-in to not have given you the good room...
probably a problem with our management software, which can happen sometimes, but not often though.
However, the fact that the glasses and the bathtub had not been cleaned, it's not usual at all. Please excuse us for this neglect! For the decoration, as you can see the building is quiet modern, but inside the style is very respectfull of the traditions provençal, and quiet cosy and warm. I'm so sorry that you didn't like our style.

I'm delighted to read that you have appreciated the kindness of our staff, it's a point so important for us! We always stay at the remain of our guest. Moreover, all our customers greatly appreciate the size of our rooms and the cozy side. The location and the area of the hotel is a very good point: we have the view on the historic walls of the city (14th century), and the Pope's Palace is only 15 min by walk.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you during the summer which offers too a beautiful face at Avignon.

Remaining at you disposal.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    182
    93
    43
    25
See reviews for
97
181
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Been here several times in the past, but never January before. A mix up with the booking through yeego, who let us down, was resolved with the help of Dominic, the manager of the reception desk. Rooms still of good quality and style, more of a suite. We did find the beds harder than we remembered though. Given a room near the lift, as asked for. It never disturbed us. Breakfast vastly overpriced. Sad to see that the restaurant is now closed, guests are directed to sister hotel. We tried room service because we did not want to venture out on two of the cold nights , but it was very disappointing. Little choice and poor quality. We did get an unfortunate smell arising from the bathroom drains, which the housekeeper tried hard to improve, but not totally successful. Glad we took a travel kettl and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Staff, as always, very charming. It remains a good location.
Look forward to a return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thanks you for your feedback, and for all informations given during your stay. Theses details are so important for us, to well understand your expectations and to maintain a very good level of our differents services.

I'm delighted to learn that you have appreciated the kindness of our staff, and our hospitality, it's very important to welcome our customers as it should.
We have lot of very nice comments about our room, very spacious, and bright: 40 m², with a separate living room, a bathroom with shower and bathtub, and any room provides balcony or terrace. Moreover we have special room for family request, with 2 queen size beds (always with a separate living room), or in our Suites (65 m², with 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, a big living room, and a terrace or balcony too).

I have noted that you found our breakfast too expansive, 16€ / pers, and free for child until 16 years old. we do our best to maintain a good quality on our american breakfast, and we try to offer a varied buffet: scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausage, french charcuterie, assorted cheeses, Provence specialities, pastries, homemade bread...

For the room service, we regularly change our selection to adapt to our customers and to the season. So I hope that your will enjoy our new proposition. As you explained, our restaurant is only open for group, and we invite our guest to go to the beautiful restaurant "le Saint-Louis" at the Cloitre Saint-Louis, located at 2 min by walks in the wonderful historic monument (old jesuites school) with the view on the courtyard.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to show our improvement.

With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Admittedly we booked through an agency, but I think it would be difficult to find a comparably well equipped, sizeable (lounge, bedroom, bathroom, shower room, patio) spotlessly clean room for a couple for two nights at £160 in any historic town in GB. Incredibly convenient for all the famous sights, shopping centre and restaurants. Choice of food at breakfast was very good - meats, cheeses, bacon. sausage, eggs, fruits etc rather than the usual plastic yoghurt and pre-packed jam and butter found in too many French hotels.

Room Tip: An inside room facing on to the garden will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you for your positiv comment, and for having chosen the Avignon Grand Hotel for your stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort, space, et the equipments of the room.
Your positive comments are very rewarding for us, and reinforces the idea that we are on the right path.
We hope to welcom you again, Kind Regards - AAB Custumer relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel is just opposite the old city. The shuttle bus from TGV station stops in front of the Avignon post office which is opposite the hotel. There are many eateries, shops, a Macdonald and Supermarket inside the old city. The hotel has an underground parking and costs 15 euros per day . The reception staff are extremely friendly and were able to handle all our queries without problem Tthe double room I had was extremely spacious with two queen size beds. There is also a spacious sitting area in the room. The bathroom is spacious but the shower area has no place for shower gel or soap. Overall this is a good and convenient hotel with spacious room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear customer, we thank you for your glowing review at Grand Hotel.
Your acknowledgment and satisfaction fills our work and our goal to meet our customers' expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the superficy of our room (40 m²), the comfort, and the possibility ti have 2 queen size bed, and a smal private lounge.
After the various comments that we have read, we are pleased to inform you that we are starting to install soap holders in our rooms. The shower will make it more comfortable and convenient for our customers.
Finally I would like to thank on behalf of the reception team to raise their kindness and profesionnalism.
We hope to welcome you next time, Kind Regards - AAB Customers relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for two nights here and loved it. The suite we had had two bedrooms and two bathrooms plus a large lounge area and outdoor patio. Close to the centre of twon about 10-15 min walk to the Popes Palace and some good eateries. The hotel may be old but it suited us perfectly. There is a laundromat within walking distance, Breakfast was good not perfect but sufficient for our needs. I would stay at this hotel as my first choice in Avignon.

PS. Make sure you get to visit the wineries at Chatteaunaf de Papes and sample some Provencial nectar

Room Tip: Ask for a single level suite as that will save carrying your bags up a set of stairs in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this facility for the first time in late July, through early August. Initially, it was difficult to find parking when first checking in to the hotel. Is NOT clearly marked, especially when one is unfamiliar with the area. There is a paid underground car park which was nice and secure, but this should clearly be explained to every guest prior to checking in to the hotel. Especially, when the main street, Blvd Saint-Roch, is congested during peak hours.

The staff was helpful and friendly upon check in and throughout my stay. Our room had been upgraded to a suite which was nice. However, the room definitely had a distinct odor which was not pleasant. Once checked in and vehicle parked, I was happy with the location, but not the smell which housekeeping continually tried to mask with an orange scent air freshener which made it worse. Centrally located and very good for walking into the City Center for the evening as one would definitely not be able to find parking if driving. The room price was good and overall, would probably stay here again if I didn't have to contend with the smell in the room.

Room Tip: There appeared to be a remodeled section and a much older section of the hotel. I would suggest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Grand several times while on business trips. It is my hotel of choice, due to its large modern rooms, location and helpful staff
The standard "single" has always turned out to be a suite, in the new section of the hotel , with queen size double bed and separate sitting room. The bathrooms have always been modern and obviously new. Powerful shower and bath tub.
The rooms have always been clean.
Breakfast is served in the large restaurant. Other reviewers intimate that the restaurant is not open at other times. I don't know whether this is true as I have always eaten out at one of the numerous excellent restaurants within easy walking distance
The hotel is next to the city walls, so in an excellent location., meaning that the entire city is within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Address: 34, Blvd Saint-Roch, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 122 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avignon Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.