We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure Why There Are So Many Mixed Reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of le Grand Cafe - CLOSED

le Grand Cafe
4 Rue des Escaliers Sainte-Anne, 84000 Avignon, France
04 90 86 61 14
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Sure Why There Are So Many Mixed Reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I loved this restaurant that our hotel recommended. We thought the food was great. We got fish and chicken tajine. The wine was good and very cheap. The service wasn't the quickest but friendly and timely enough. Location was a little tough to find but tucked away on a little side street behind the palace.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rating not bad just for the ambiance and the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This restaurant have mixed reviews and deserve them, tajine is not cooked enough, bread is awful (foie gras with pineapple was interesting).
But experience is good because you can eat outside, it does not feel crowdy for an Avignon place during the festival. Waiters are a bit slow but smiling. Place is lovely, lovely. A bit pricey for quality but you pay for a nice place to be.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Run away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This Restaurant was recommended by 2 guide books we had while on vacation in the area. What a deception. The location and restaurant itself is nice and interesting (old firehouse) but that's all you'll find there. The service was very amateurish, the food bland, banal and probably not fresh. Maybe it was a good address once but it feels like they gave up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This restaurant seems to have mixed reviews but our experience was very good food and fairly good service. (It appeared that their staff do multiple jobs - ie wait on tables and help out in the kitchen but this was not detrimental to our experience. ) We went here for dinner based on the recommendation of a friend who dined here twice before in the last several years. We had a lovely dinner with desserts to die for. It was a little cool that evening so we ate inside but moved out to the patio for our coffee and dessert. It was a little hard to find tucked into a corner beneath the soaring cliff of the Palais des Papes and attached to the theatre with a lively bar/patio area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We ate at this supposedly good restaurant with our family as part of a reunion we held in Provence. There were eight adults and five children all aged five or under. The totally incompetent waiter never so much as offered us bread, something that the kids would have enjoyed and which would have kept them satisfied until the food arrived. Most of us ordered the prix fixe lunch. It was 45 minutes between courses and you can imagine how antsy the kids were getting by this time. And these are terrific, well-behaved children. The waiter was oblivious throughout. The meal took nearly three hours and was not a relaxed dining experience by any means. The final insult? The food was bland and mediocre at best. NEVER GO TO THIS RESTAURANT! Avignon is a delightful city with many good dining choices. This is not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Grand Cafe also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.