We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not just the food, the atmosphere is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estaminet, Aromes et Tentation (EAT)

Estaminet, Aromes et Tentation (EAT)
8, Rue Mazan, 84000 Avignon, France
+33 4 90 83 46 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 405 Restaurants in Avignon
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's not just the food, the atmosphere is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were three friends wandering in the quiet streets of Avignon the other day..
It was May 1st and the city was shut down (to be honest, it was pretty boring..)
We searched for a good restaurant to cheer us up and make the experience much better.
After a long walk around the city, we went into this small alley and encounter EAT.
We looked at the menu but it wasn't the menu that caught our attention, it was the lovely owners (a Spanish-French couple) that welcomed us and gave us the best experience with filled with great vibe and energies. We had a great meal there, delicious food, good wine and above all, wonderful service.
It was definitely made our Avignon experience totally different from that point forward.
Very recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    56
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful, homey little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

After travelling for the past two and a half weeks and wanting something more than cafe food we turned to Trip Advisor to help us during our stay in Avignon
We were fortunate to get the last of 5 tables in this delightful little restaurant run by a young husband and wife team. He cooks and she attends to the front of house, beautifully!
Not being fluent in French she was very happy to explain the menu to us and recommended we try the local beer La Cigalette (I liked it, my husband was less enthused, but I'm not a beer drinker usually) as well as recommending a local wine which we both enjoyed immensely
We opted just for mains and dessert and were both very pleased with our choice. My husband had duck in red wine sauce and I chose a Moroccan styled dish of lamb and fig wrapped in a light, crisp cinnamon flavoured pastry. Both meals came with lightly steamed fresh vegetables including roast potatoes with the duck.
We shared our meals and both found each other's choice delicious
We both chose creme caramel for dessert, we've been in France for 8 days and had yet to have dessert - was expecting it to be a little warmer, but again, we both loved it
We enjoyed a lovely conversation with our hostess after the other diners had left, learning about her background and the evolution of their delightful little restaurant which by the way is open seven days a week
One of the regulars popped past whilst we were there, making himself quite at home with another lone diner who was almost finished his meal. Very funny but shows how comfortable he feels in this place
Thank you for a lovely evening

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little restaurant. Good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a very small restaurant hidden in a tiny pedestrian street near Place Crillon and Hôtel de l'Europe. It is advisable to book as they have little space inside. In summer it is possible to eat outside as well. The young couple running the place are very attentive and kind. The starters were great, so were the desserts, all simple, tasty and elegantly presented. Excellent Côtes du Rhône, very reasonably priced. An excellent choice in its price category in Avignon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/Westport/Provence
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
“One of the best near the Hotel D'Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This tiny restaurant run by a lovely couple has either sprung up since I was in Avignon in September or..I was not in 'the know'. How nice to have a cozy, reasonable restaurant with some very wonderful offerings…near my second home in France, Hotel d'E. This lovely couple make you feel at home and very relaxed and the ambiance also helps as does the reasonable prix-fixe menu. Is it the best in Avignon? No…Fou de Fafa, L'essential and some other favorites of mine still hold that title but…it is an excellent choice if you want a great meal near the Hotel. My appetizer of Pumpkin soup with pureed chestnut was excellent. It was just what my jet-lagged body needed. They also offering top quality artisinal bread which always makes a meal for me. My entree was a Lamb brochette over blue cam argue rice in a mild red wine sauce with fresh vegetables and a small potato tart. All were delicious and the presentation was beautiful. I had he mouelleux chocolate in a creme anglais and the center was nice and hot and fresh raspberries surrounded the petit gateau. After a nice tissane of vervain, I was one satisfied guy ready to head back to the hotel and catch up on my sleep. This restaurant certainly helped to set my mood for a good, first-nights rest after such a lovely meal. It would be ven more special if you are with your spouse or a good friend. It is one of those type of restaurants that would be fun to discover together.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tasty and light cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ate twice at this small but homely restaurant as we loved this very light cuisine. The quality of the meat/poultry/fish were excellent, the vegetables were very crisp, everything was deliciously flavored. Small selection of good and reasonable wines. Very friendly service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estaminet, Aromes et Tentation (EAT) also viewed

 

Been to Estaminet, Aromes et Tentation (EAT)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estaminet, Aromes et Tentation (EAT), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.