We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Save Saved
You added Hotel d'Europe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 place Crillon, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It can be challenging finding wonderful, spacious, clean and modern hotels when traveling in Provence, this Hotel is all of these and more. The staff at the front desk was welcoming. The room was larger than most and the bathroom was great. The large windows make the room feel extra spacious. The hotel is one of the original buildings in Avignon-the slanting stairs are evidence of that. It was clear that everything in the hotel had been updated and modernized but they did a great job of retaining the charm and historical feel of the hotel. The front terrace is beautiful and provides a lovely setting for breakfast or tea. I encourage you to get driving directions from the hotel as Googlemaps and Mapquest are not great for navigating the entrance to the City and allowing you to find the hotel quickly and easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    80
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
264
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel is old and lovely, with elegant public spaces. My room (111) was larger than most hotel rooms I have had in France. Private terrace (even if not on my very cold and windy days in Avignon) and big marble bath with a huge tub are perks that I love. Arriving mid-afternoon, I was delighted to be able to have a good lunch in the bar. I particularly liked that the staff all suffered my lousy French and spoke French with me, unless I was obviously lost in the conversation. Everyone spoke English beautifully when it was needed. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

An absolutely beautiful and charming hotel. From the valet parking on arrival to the check out upon leaving the staff was great. The rooms were comfortable. The bar was perfect for a late night glass of wine. The courtyard was amazing.
A short walk to shopping , restaurants, and the palace.
One nice find was the Church of Ste Pierre

Room Tip: Have a GPS or really excellent directions because trying to navigate through the walled town is an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hotel D'Europe did not disappoint its high ranking on Tripadvisor. The Hotel was clean, the same can't be said for the rest of the city, and comfortable. It has many antiques and historical photographs that reflect its history. The sitting areas are fresh but true to the hotel character. The rooms, we stayed in a standard, are small but have nice high ceilings and updated bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and always had a smile. The city of Avignon is unique and a great base to explore the wonderful wineries in the Rhone Valley. If you have a car the hotel has easy access from outside the city walls, have good directions since driving in the center is near impossible with narrow roads and dead ends. You won't go wrong choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a lovely old grand dame of a hotel inside the old city. Yet at the same time updated and mordern. Everyone was friendly and gracious. We had a memorable french dinner in the wonderful restaurant. Would return again any time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel D'Europe in late September 2012. Avignon was our first stop on a week long trip split between Provence and Paris, and Hotel D'Europe made for a wonderful, relaxing stay. The hotel is full of historic charm (high quality antiques and artwork in public areas) and yet has all the modern amenities one would expect in a 5 star hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated and had a luxurious marble bathroom (notwithstanding that we booked the lowest cost room they offer). The staff (especially Fernando) were very helpful in arranging tours and giving us directions to L'Isle Sur La Sorgue for the Sunday market. We have traveled extensively in Europe and this hotel is definitely one of our favorites. The hotel is located in a charming area of Avignon within walking distance to all the major sites, and also makes a good base for visiting other areas of Provence.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking the street and it was very quiet due to the double pane windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a real five star hotel. Everyone was so helpful. It's historic and modern at the same time. Wait till you see the room key. The courtyard out front was great. If you can book this hotel, do it. This town is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Address: 12 place Crillon, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#4 Family Hotel in Avignon
#7 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel d'Europe is a magnificent 16th century residence in an excellent location—the centre of Avignon, in the heart of Provence.This 5 star hotel offers 41 rooms and 3 spacious and luxuriously decorated suites. An ideal point of departure full of history, from which you can visit the Cité des Papes.The restaurant "La Vieille Fontaine", is masterfully led by Chef Bruno d’Angelis, long recognised by the most well-known gourmet gastronomic guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.