We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Saunerie

Save Saved
You added La Petite Saunerie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Saunerie
9 rue de la Petite Saunerie, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely French experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with Anne-Lise, Vincent and little Paul. They were perfect hosts. giving us plenty of space and most helpful when required. Lovely clean room, generous breakfast and a fabulous location!! Restaurants, shops and Popes palace all very close by.
Anne & Simon (Australis)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is a gem in Avignon! My husband and I stayed 2 nights as part of our honeymoon.
A tip - the street the B&B is on is tiny - so don't bring a big car. We parked in the free car park about 10 minutes walk away after dropping our luggage.
Anne-Lise is warm and welcoming and armed us with a map, parking recommendations and some FABULOUS restaurant recommendations when we arrived.
Room was exquisite and clean and breakfast was fulsome and delicious.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this great B&B. Location is right in the center of Avignon. Everyday we drive to the little town nearby, have dinner back Avignon, walk on the street in the town, very easy and convenient. The room is renovated and beautifully finished with all morden conveniences. We looked forward to breakfast everyday with Anne-lise's homemade yogurt& jams, freshly squeezed juice, pastries from market and seasonal fruits.
We will stay there again next time we travel to south France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at La Petite Saunerie. We found Anne-Lise to be friendly, charming and genuinely helpful. We chose the contemporary room and were very pleased with our accommodation: lovely decor throughout, spacious room, modern bathroom and shower. Breakfast was good though it was the least generous & tasty of all the 7 b&bs we stayed at during our 17 day trip in France. The b&b is in a perfect location, in the heart of Avignon's beauty and the property is just lovely. This b&b is still new so with time & experience, it has the potential to be excellent with some added details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Taipei City, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are from Taiwan and took a trip at south France in August. We stay here for 4 nights from Aug.15~Aug.19 and it's just a wonderful place that will make everyone come back again if one visit Avignon again. The location is great.
All the tourist sites and the train station are in walking distance. It's the best choice if you don't have a car. Also, the decoration and settings in the room are charming.
We live in "La Romantique". Though it's actually what a couple definitely want to stay at, I live with my friends and still have a good time. The bed is comfortable and the space is big enough for up to 3 people. However, the main result why I'll recommend it is that the hostess is so nice.
Every morning she will greet us with a big smile and an abundant breakfast. If you have any question about Avignon, she will do her best to help you.
Her son Paul is cute, too. We really have a great time staying in Avignon and "La Petite Saunerie" and I'm willing to recommend it if you want to have a nice trip at Avignon and the near city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Bourgeois room for 2 nights and found it charming. The bedroom is large with high ceilings and a lovely 4 poster bed. The en-suite bathroom has a fantastic shower and overlooks a very pretty courtyard. In fact the decor was of a very high standard and felt very "bourgeois." The location of this B&B is very central and Anne-Lise, the owner, was very helpful with recommendations of where to go and where to eat in Avignon. The breakfast provided was delicious with homemade jams and yoghurt, fresh bread, coffee and croissants. There's no air conditioning but the room remained cool and the fan provided was enough to allow us to sleep well, despite very high temperatures in the evenings.
All in all we would highly recommend La Petite Saunerie because it was charming, a great location and Anne-Lise was very welcoming.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed four nights in the la bourgeoise room. We briefly met Vincent and mostly interacted with Anne-Lise. We also had the pleasure of meeting Paul, their son, who is cute and fun. Anne-Lise is patient and did her best to be very helpful with all of our questions. She is learning English and we don't speak French but we got along well. She gave us some wonderful dinner recommendations. Breakfast was lovely and we could not get enough of the homemade jams and all-around fresh ingredients that were used. The B&B is in a great location and we were able to walk everywhere we needed. Our room was romantic with the four poster bed and a nice big shower head. We are not used to having a foot board and my 6'3" husband didn't quite fit on the bed. If we had thought about it before we might have booked one of the other rooms but we managed. We would love to stay here again and see Avignon outside of the festival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Petite Saunerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Saunerie

Address: 9 rue de la Petite Saunerie, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guesthouse in a 18th century mansion close to the prestigious Palace of the Popes.3 bed and breakfast await you with a cared decoration respecting the style of the house.All rooms have their own bathroom.We strive to surprise you every morning with a hearty breakfast and the products of the region (seasonal fruit, homemade jams, cakes and a wide choice of tea, coffee, chocolate.Anne-Lise and Vincent are happy to welcome you ... to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Petite Saunerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Saunerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.