We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Avignon Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Avignon Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Avignon Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Fleet, Hants
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose the Novotel knowing we would be able to eat in the restaurant there having arrived fairly late on a Sunday evening. We got a taxi from the TGV station. If we had realised how convenient the shuttle bus was we would have taken that instead. Although the hotel perhaps lacks character by virtue of being so modern, it was a perfect choice. The staff were, without fail, pleasant and helpful - especially the man on reception when we arrived and the two young men who managed the bar and restaurant. Rooms are bright and modern although I'm not convinced of the value of the opaque wall between the bathroom and bedroom! We ate in the hotel restaurant several times. There is a great choice and the food is superb. I am not a wine expert (other than in that I drink plenty of it)but the Côtes du Rhône they serve is among the best I have had anywhere. Breakfast was also very nice. (The previous reviewer who had a basket of pastries must have had one of the alternative options to the full breakfast.)
The hotel is very well situated for the town and the railway station - from which we took trains to Nîmes, Orange and Arles.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Had 2 rooms. They overlooked the area with the coloured lights and were extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    336
    80
    25
    10
See reviews for
222
298
24
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg mb
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Novotel is a beautiful, modern hotel just outside the city walls.

The staff is helpful, the building clean and new but the room we had was just bizarre. It was small, faced the inner area (can't even be described as a courtyard - more like the roof of the lobby area) and had a blue light at the base of the outside wall that flashed all night. Impossible to understand the design of that particular piece. The inside of the hotel is new and fun with modern artisitic furniture. It is an easy walk into the old city from the hotel. It is right next to the Nice Ville train station and a 5 minute walk to the bus stop at the post office for the bus to the TGV station ouside of town.

If you're going to stay here, just make sure the room isn't one that looks into the inner area. I would definitely stay here again but would choose my room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here the night before flying back from Avignon airport. We had two rooms which were interconnecting which was perfect with our three young children. The walk into town was fine although less so after dark.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Novotel Avignon for one night. It is a great new modern hotel with all the basic amenities you need for a short stay! Just walking distance to the town centre it is definitely convenient by foot and good parking facility downstairs for your car! We paid 12Euro overnight.

The room was excellent - large, well-appointed, good air conditioning, large bathroom and an extra comfortable bed. Even though our room was on the first floor we did not hear the traffic outside. Excellent stay after a long day of driving. We had a continental breakfast which consisted of a basket of pastry with a glass of juice and cup of coffee. It was alright.

Highly recommended for those passing by Avignon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed one night in this Novotel and were very pleased with the room and the Hotel in general. For our family (Wife, me two girls 12 and 15) we booked the two bedroom suite and this was a good choice. The only small disappointment was the mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here overnight and were extremely happy with our choice. The hotel is modern, so some guests may find it a little lacking in atmosphere, however the old town part of Avignon is literally on your doorstep so history is more than available! We did find the bar area quiet, but maybe its more lively in season. We ate out in the evening (lots of choice within few minutes walk) and also breakfast, so cant comment on what the hotel had to offer.

Our room was large, extremely well appointed, with very comfortable bed and good bathroom. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and the private underground parking a huge benefit in a city like Avignon. Yes you have to pay, but this is pretty much standard throughout France.

Would definitely recommend, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed here for 6 nights, using Avignon as base camp to explore other nearby sites in Provence. The location is ideal - near central train station and just outside the city walls, with easy access by foot to major sites in Avignon. The overall feel is of a modern business/boutique hotel. I'd love to give it a higher rating, but have too many quibbles....

Pros: It still feels new, has some playful/modern design elements, and rooms are decent sized. Nice spa and pool area.

Cons: Staff are pleasant enough, but all seemed like they'd rather be somewhere else. Hallways often smelled...well, bad. Those modern design elements sometimes come at the expense of functionality (the trendy glass shower window means the entire bedroom is flooded with light if someone uses the bathroom at night...and how about towel hooks that actually work?) Breakfasts are expensive - we chose to eat elsewhere every single day (you can get a good breakfast sandwich or quiche to go along Rue de la Republique, or even at the train station). And at these room rates, niceties like decent free coffee and real glasses are a reasonable expectation.

Details are important when you aspire to be a certain class of hotel, and this Novotel just misses the mark on too many finer points. Still, this is a decent choice if you're looking for a modern, well-located hotel - and personality and price are secondary concerns.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing north, overlooking the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Address: 20 Boulevard Saint Roch, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Avignon Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.