We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, nice location, but watch your gas gauge.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Saratoga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, nice location, but watch your gas gauge.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is of good quality as reflected in our room and the public places that we used(lobby, breakfast room. Our room was quiet with no traffic noise, but at the cost of a rather dreary view of the interior open quad which appears to suffer from neglected cleanup/maintenance. Our bathroom was clean with adequate roominess.
However, I must mention my suspicion of gas being siphoned from our car during the first overnight parking as the gauge indicated a drop of from 3/4 level down to 1/2. The car has a locking gas cap and the car key was stored at the front desk after being returned by the car attendant. This is my observation and conjecture, but I think future guests who use the parking service at Bristol should observe due diligence in this aspect of their stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel B, Directeur général at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Much to my surprise and consternation, I red your accusation. You mean that we have used your car for a night promenade or even that your car was siphoned directely in our garage.
The Hotel BRISTOL provides garage service for more than 50 years now and it's the first time we have to endure such a defamatory remark.
I must confess that we are scandalized by your method!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    161
    63
    15
    3
See reviews for
50
137
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Bristol Hotel is located in good location near the main train station if you do not drive and visiting nearby cities by train. Their reception staff are helpful to assist you to travel around. The rooms are clean and big but some of the rooms do not have Wi-Fi which is rather inconvenient. You have to use Wi-Fi at their hotel lobby. Also, if travel tours stayed in your hotel on lower floors and you stayed on upper floors like me, there is little or no hot water running in your bathroom during spring/winter time which is annoying. I have reflected my opinion to their reception after staying at Bristol Hotel for a week. Make sure you check with hotel on facilities before you booked.

Room Tip: If you need Wi-Fi access inside your room, please check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Monans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for the nights of 30th August - 1st September 2013. The hotel is superbly located just inside the old city walls, and the staff will spirit your car away to the hotel car park whilst you are checking in, and similarly bring it back whilst you are checking out. Staff were attentive and caring, and when we had advised them on booking that one of us had coeliac's disease, had taken the trouble to provide gluten free bread for breakfast; the other one simply enjoyed the excellent breakfast provided! The hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from the Palais des Papes along the main road, and is a very convenient starting point for a stroll around the old city, beginning just on the opposite side of the road. A plethora of restaurants nearby; our choice was the first-class Cour d'Honneur in Rue Joseph Vernier. If like us you are on a lengthy trip, there is a laverie (laundromat) two minutes' walk away, with the mandatory bar opposite whilst you are waiting for your washing! Altogether very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Perfectly fine stay, room was a little small and bathroom not that great. Rooms are air conditioned; we didn't have breakfast, but it looked fine but pricey. So perhaps other reviewers saw more than I did in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Hotel Bristol, our base for a group tour of Provence. The hotel was very good for a 3*: our room was large with comfortable beds and very quiet with effective air conditioning. All staff were friendly and the continental breakfast buffet provided a good start to the day. The location, on the main street was perfect, with many sights nearby, adjacent restaurants and cafes and the tourist office within about 50 metres. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: An inner room, away from the street, provided a quiet night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Hotel Bristol before collecting a car and exploring Provence. It is a short step from the local station and a short taxi ride from the TGV. It is located within the city walls on the main street near Tourist Information. The foyer and reception area is uninviting, but the staff were helpful and efficient. Our first floor room had no outlook but was quiet. The bedroom has been refurbished in a modern style relatively recently but the bathroom is looking tired. The continental breakfast was pretty standard and unremarkable. Large and rambling, Hotel Bristol seems to suited to tour groups. We have stayed in more charming places in Avignon before, but this one was fine for a short stay, and very convenient for us.

Room Tip: As always, try to look at the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our two nights. Very well placed for the sights and restaurants. An easy walk to the railway station but a taxi ride to the TGV but that is out of town on its own anyway. Also nearly opposite a little electric car service that for 50cents takes you on a circuit around the old town. I am a coeliac and they provided bread for me at breakfast, after a request at the time of booking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 44 Cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the city walls, in the very heart of historic Avignon on the city's most beautiful street of the city, the Hotel Bristol is an establishment with a tradition. The establishment emphasises its personalised welcome.Less than 10 minutes on foot from the Papal Palace, we do our very best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You can park in front of the hotel when you are checking in. If you have reserved a place in our garage, our valet service will look after your vehicle. Otherwise, we can also show you where the nearby public car parks are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.