We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real People, Perfect Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Real People, Perfect Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very happy at the Bristol. We looked initially into the Horolge but it felt very cramped and the uniformly woodchip bedroom walls of standard and very similar superior rooms made it a no-no. So glad we ended in the Bristol which is at the other end of the main street.
Bristol standard room at 92 euros off-season very spacious, equivalent of a large Superior room elswhere. Minimalist decor but fresh and attractive. In the platane tree tops high above the main street, quiet behind double glazing.
Reception and staff characterful, real-world, proud of their hotel, friendly though professional.
Fridge but no tea-making. Dangerously well-stocked mini bar. Good location just inside city wall, near station and on the main street and therefore easy to get to on sat-nav without getting tangled up in the narrow streets of the old town which are much better walked.
A member of staff can take your car to private parking (12 euros) - though it gave everyone a good laugh when he got into the passenger seat of our right-hand drive car.
Half a mile walk up wide tree-lined main street to Place Horolge with reasonable choice of restaurants. Recommend Couscouserie up steep uninviting steps to a pleasant informal atmosphere - best two tables at window overlooking square if you're early enough to bag them. Have a huge and delicious couscous. Also choice of less huge and delicious tagines. Reasonably priced about 14 euros each.
Just past the Place is the Ducal Palace and beyond that the gardens with views over the Rhone and Pont d'Avignon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    151
    61
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
128
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to this hotel for a 3-night stay in Avignon last week. We were given Room 101 which I hoped was not a bad sign of things to come!!! Anyway, the room was large, clean and well maintained. The twin beds were comfortable and quite large.
We slept well and although we heard noises from a delivery van/rubbish lorry it didn't particularly disturb our sleep. We were pleased with our choice of hotel as the staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was conveniently located. The room was a bit chilly but Avignon was very cold last week, with a strong, biting wind so perhaps the heating was not strong enough in such conditions. The receptionist kindly brought a portable heater up to our room when we mentioned that the room was a bit cool.
The breakfast was satisfactory but at 12 euros seemed a bit over-priced.
Avignon itself is a pleasant enough place to stay for a couple of days, although the pavements were soiled by lots of doggie pooh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, within walls of old city. Walking distance to everywhere. Fantastic staff at reception and front of house who could not have been more helpful. Good sized room. Hint: book directly with hotel for best deal!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We staied in the hotel for two nights. We decided to book it only because of the review of other travellers, what a mistake!
The first room they gave us was closed to the elevator and we asked to change it, personel at the reception was nice and gave us another room. The room was big enough, the bathroom was very old. The room was cold, you can try to adjust the temperature but the fan makes a terrible noise and the temperature did not increase at all.
The hotel is noisy, the rumors comes from the hotel, you can hear your neighbour closing and opening his door like if it was yours.
The carpet in the common areas is very old and in the elevator there is a sign that you cannot eat or keep food in your room, never seen something like that!
The cost is like the one of other 4 stars hotels in Avignon, so it is not even convenient.
Only plus: they park the car for you for 12 euro a day.
I would definetely not come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location is very close to the shuttle bus station to TGV(3-mim walk) and local train station (5-min walk)where you can take TER for attractions outside Avignon.
The hotel staff speak good English, friendly and helpful.
The room is clean and comfortable, also with free WIFI.
The only con is that WIFI does not work for Skype.

May come back to this hotel if we revisit Avignon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. A quick walk from the central railway station is what presents as a budget hotel. I had a pleasant, comfortable room. The staff were friendly, helpful and encouraging of my efforts with the French language. The substantial continental breakfast was more than expected, except for the coffee, which is mediocre everywhere. This is a great place to explore this charming city and toy venture further afield as I did. I would use it again as a base.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the building. If your intention is to be in Avignon during the peak seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Bristol Hotel is almost directly across the street from the main train station and it's right around the corner from the Avignon Poste bus stop (shuttles from the Avignon TGV station stop there).
The Bristol is a professionally run hotel, with helpful professional staff, an elevator, good sized rooms, and plenty of storage within the room. The room is equipped with a safe and a minibar.
The bathroom was a bit odd. There was a tub and shower. The water-saving showerhead resulted in showers that were little more than a trickle. And the shower curtain trailed far into the tub because it was too long. The hair dryer was one of those wall-attached types with a hose. No power and all the heat is lost in the hose. If you have long, thick hair, you may want to consider other arrangements.
We were on the 3rd floor facing the street. At off-times it was quiet, but during busy times we could hear a fair amount of traffic and street noise.
We passed on the breakfast offered by the hotel because we found it too expensive. There is a small cafe next door and we were able to grab a roll and coffee there for a very reasonable price. There is also a bakery and another cafe directly across from the hotel.
The staff were helpful and provided us with a city map and an orientation to the city when we asked at checkin.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and see if you can get something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 44 Cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the city walls, in the very heart of historic Avignon on the city's most beautiful street of the city, the Hotel Bristol is an establishment with a tradition. The establishment emphasises its personalised welcome.Less than 10 minutes on foot from the Papal Palace, we do our very best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You can park in front of the hotel when you are checking in. If you have reserved a place in our garage, our valet service will look after your vehicle. Otherwise, we can also show you where the nearby public car parks are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.