We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes)

Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes)
6, rue Pente Rapide, 84000 Avignon, France
049027500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes) like an insider
Top Rated
$430*
and up
Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV...
Ranked #1 of 61 things to do in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The residence of the soveriegn pontiffs in the 14th century is the largest Gothic Palace in the world. 25 areas to visit : ceremonila halls, chapels, cloister, the Pope's provate apartments with their priceless frescos, as well as a scenographic area, the Musée de l'Oeuvre, wich presents the development and history of the building since it was build. Ranked as UNESCO world heritage.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The palace is simply amazing. Especially accompanied with an audio guide, gives a lot of interesting and funny information with additional pictures and music. It's very interesting place and it's definitely worth visiting not only for history lovers.
Have visited it during the off season, so it was quite cold even inside, not talking about the wind outside.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    790
    252
    67
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not the Vatican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Disappointing in that all the information/descriptions were in French. My high school French was bad even 50 years ago.
Definitely a "do not miss" part of history but get a guide book first. Beautiful location and surrounds and only minutes from the "point D'Avignon, another "must see".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Innocents Abroad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Found the Palace interesting, although a bit rundown. Hard to imagine how it would have been heated, although I suppose heavy wall hangings and fires in every room would have made it bearable. Lots of steps and stairs, and hard on the feet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pope's palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I just love this place. You can feel the past all around you. I know a fair bit about this period in history as I wrote about the Avignon popes in my Finals...but that isn't necessary as the information provided is very good.
You get a huge buzz if you walk up from the car park into the square and there is this huge slightly grim palace looming above you.
It's great on New Years Eve too with well behaved revellers filling the square.
Fantastic.
We see the outside every time we go shopping in Avignon and send all our visitors there. No one has ever been disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We traveled to Avignon specifically to see the Pope's Palace while we were visiting the Provence area. Although we are not Catholic, we did find the history associated with the Palace very interesting, and enjoyed both the architecture and learning about the art and artifacts displayed within the Palace. Touring the Palace took us over 2 hours and I think we didn't really see all of it. I suspect a real history buff could spend 4+ hours there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes) also viewed

 

Been to Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.